We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melati Tanjung Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melati Tanjung Motel
Temonyong, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Melati Tanjung Motel. It was value for money and I will definitely come back to stay again. I will recommend it to people who wants to explore the Langkawi and Cenang Beach and looking for a comfortable bed rest at night. Location was superb. There was a nearby restaurant or cafe. However, the space is on a first come first serve basis. The room was clean, the facilities were sufficient. Overall, I enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by the lonely planet & it was a poor recommendation. The room was tiny, a double bed squeezed into it& the bed was not very comfortable. We booked one night to get our bearings & moved to a motel with a bigger room for less money. This motel is on the beach but I'd rather walk for 3-5 minutes and have a nicer room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a value for money motel. Right on the beach and in the middle of Pantai Cenang. Walkable distance to the large Duty Free shops and plenty of resturants and bars close by.
However there is one problem, you are very close to the "Babilon " bar. Loud music to the early hours of the morning and the party carries on the beach to whenever. If you are a party person, this is for you. The owners are very helpfull but for a long stay I would look elsewhere. Langkawi is becoming a young persons Island. Plenty of really cheap drink and loverly empty beaches to party all night.
Go now before this beautiful Island changes into something like Patong in Phuket.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best, 207,208, & 209. But beware the noise at night from the Babilon B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arni, Aargau
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very nice and helpful staff, great view on the long beach and if you do't mind some music from the nearby bar - it's your coice. Wonderful sunset from the Seaview rooms and tons of great restaurants within walking distance. But don't forget to rent a bike and explore the Island. Careful driving!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keremeos, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I thought I had made a great score when I got a beachfront room at Melati Tanjung during Chinese new year.What I didn't realize was that right next door is a popular beach bar that is very loud, making sleep almost impossible. Too bad, because the rooms are quite large and seemed to be clean, and the location on Pantai Cenang is very central. Nice people who own and work here as well. Some cons, other than the bar are the wifi in lobby area only, no breakfast, no english channels of the 3 available, and rooms are under lit. If the owner can ever get the bars license taken away, it will be much better.

Room Tip: Opt for a room as far away from the side that the beach bar is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Sport, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The noise from the Babylon Beach Bar, resonates throughout A & B Block from 4pm to 1am. Rooms B4xx's windows vibrated while Babylon operating. If you plan to stay I recommend a room without a view toward the front of the hotel in A Block. Recommend hotels along the beach toward Langkawi Fair.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Any trips, transfers, boat charters, in fact pretty much anything.LIO is the best on the island, great personality, great English, great relationship with all her customers and service providers.

We were stuck on the island trying to get to Singapore during Chinese NY, no one else could or would help us, she got us a great/luxury overnight bus to KL and then over night train to Singapore, it was a great experience and at a really good price.
The trips are great, fairly prices and anything you see is what you get.

Based across the road from the above mentioned hotel, Melati Tanjung Holidays beside Breakfast bar.

happy travels!!! Lio will help...!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melati Tanjung Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Tanjung Motel

Also Known As:
Melati Tanjung Hotel Pantai Cenang
Melati Tanjung Hotel
Melati Tanjung Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang
Address: Temonyong, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melati Tanjung Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Melati Tanjung Motel to your Saves list