We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very valuable and perfectly located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Gothenburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very valuable and perfectly located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Have stayed twice at the Sunset Beach Resort hotel and just love this little hotel. It is very inexpensive, perfectly located by the beach and close to shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is as friendly as can be and helps you out with whatever you need and always with a smile.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    215
    68
    19
    16
See reviews for
89
231
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amslon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

well often you read reviews that say we would go back again, well we did in the same tour of asia as it suited our travel plans. without doubt both times were v.gd. the staff are v.friendly and happy to help(ask for Ella or sarah) who will deal with your booking by email or Telephone. Rooms vary but all are catered for except really families. This place is more couples of different ages. Rooms are clean and bathroom is functional. It could be said that the sunset could do with a new lick of paint and updating a little in key areas but also this lends itself to the unique character of this place. Room has TV but no room safe(you have leave any vaulables at reception in a safe) mini fridge not stocked maybe a bottle of water. if you are a keen gardener and love RHS gardens then definitely stay here as the garden here is gold and best in show all day long.(orchid lovers will be in heaven) beach is 20m away from your door and lovely it is and clean clear water but check seasons as jelly fish are present and will sting you. not harsh but ten mins of nettle like pain.
constant competition for sun loungers and many get up at 7am to claim there prize spot, 60 guests and 30 loungers, yes interesting and believe you me people will stay there all day and leave there towel when they disppear for hrs on end. great cafe/bar nxt door with both western and malay food available and gd value too.

breakfast was poor to be fair but hey toast and tea/coffee and fresh fruit is not that bad a start to a day. watch out for mosquitos in your room but not excessive at all, in fact you will have more geckos than mozzies and the gecks eat them which is great. plug in the coil you will be fine.
all in all the sunset beach is real joy and our stay was very happy one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Very disappointed with the resort, I will not stay again if I visit Langkawi again.

There is NO shampoo, shower gel or teeth brush, which did not mention at all when i book the hotel.

The bed and pillow is super hard, so difficult for me to felt asleep.

The worst thing is I left a netbook charger in the room, and staff claim that could not find anything from the room, I am sure someone take that... The house keeping guy?

Breakfast serve from 8.00A.M we could not take that before more tour pick up time is 8.00, so we missed...

Location is not very good, far from the main restaurant...

Very bad experience...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

The hotel is for nature lovers. If you love tree, flowers with sea in the background, you can't go wrong with this choice. We didn't get to spend much time at rooms, but enjoyed the whole setup very much. The wash rooms are different from other places, as it has natural daylight coming in with a beautiful setting. Everything was arranged as it should be for a leisure trip. There are numerous spas, bars, restaurants at walking distance and at night times it is perfectly safe to roam around and enjoy night life. We found one guy in night shift who was there to chat with or ask for any service.

They also have a parking lot, so overall a very good stay. We arrived almost 4 hours earlier than check in time, but they tried to arrange rooms for us as soon as they could. The staff were friendly and we hope they get only good and better reviews in future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed here at The Sunset Beach Resort in December 2009 as part of our honeymoon in Malaysia. We were very positively surprised with this resort. It was everything we wanted and more! The room was basic and very clean. There were no bugs in our room, which was a big deal for me as I am a bit neurotic about bugs… The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just what we needed: toast, eggs the way you want them done, juice, coffee/tea, fruit and some noodles (which I didn’t have). Some people here have criticized the breakfast for being too simple but for us that was perfect because that’s all we could eat in the morning anyway :) The view from breakfast table.. Paradise!

The setting of The Sunset Beach Resort is just beautiful! It’s right on the beach and the garden of the resort is beautiful. The only thing that needed to be improved was that the aircon was a bit loud and the toilet wasn’t flushing perfectly. I can recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a nice and clean place to sleep (there is no extra activity at the resort) with a beautiful setting! Great value for the money! Oh, I wanna go there again..!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We booked out this hotel for our wedding guests to stay at when we got married in Langkawi. The staff were very helpful with the whole organisation and even provided many extra beds for last minute guests.

The garden setting is very nice and so is the beach. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is because of the breakfast. Its a simple affair of bread, eggs and fruit. However the hotel staff did not mind at all when our guests bought food from the stalls nearby and supplemented the breakfast!

  • Liked — the garden setting
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

The hotel is overall good, we had a couple of very minor issues like a broken kettle which was replaced within minutes.

The hotel has very good staff and a beachfront location, it is however directly opposite the night market / mini funfair which gets very noisy at night with live music on until around midnight.
If you can cope with this then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list