We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent a week at this resort from 31st August 2013. We stayed in a Sunset II room and found it to be spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom huge. Was also great to have the air conditioning as every day was very hot and humid. We found it's location to be excellent and enjoyed our stay there. The massages on the beach at the resort were a highlight and the beach was magnificent. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The only drawback was not having a pool onsite. Though not a flash resort, the value for money and all of the above, make it a great little place to stay on your visit to Langkawi. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    218
    69
    20
    16
See reviews for
91
235
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very nice little place. We've been once before. nice gardens, nice rooms and a special atmosphere. The waves in July/August are a bit rough so not so great for swimming. Overall, I'd recommend to families and couples looking for somewhere a bit different at a low price

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location from airport (15minutes ) and located in the middle of Pantai Tengah. The sunset room III (the smallest room) is bigger than what we expected. The resort garden is great - Balinese style garden. All the worker have been very helpful. Great private beach with white sand that you can stay away from other unwanted tourist. You can also enjoy the massage by the beach. We would expect something great for the breakfast unfortunately just a very simple supply.

Room Tip: get the sunset room I.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Negative :-
1. Rooms although big but got a lot of mosquitoes..the floor is always sand matter how many time u sweep.

2. The mattress in my rooms is sinking in the middle..not worth paying for rm242..

3. One more things that I hate the most is you can hear people next to your room talking and having sex..

Positive:
1. Staff is very friendly
2. Near the beach..if u r lucky u can see foreigners topless..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pentai Tengah is exactly between the posh side of Langkawi and the backpackers part. This puts it in a unique position which was great for us. We like the backpack vibe for a drink, love the luxury dinners as well.
The resort is small what makes it feeling like "home" quite fast.
Don't expect a Shangri-La, just enjoy the vibe and use the euro's you save by not staying at a Shangri-La to do cool stuff. Like drink Tiger beer...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This resort is located right by a calm part of the beach - really lovely! Having breakfast while watching the ocean is quite a way to start the day! Our room (Sunset III) was very basic and lacked some features, like a bed light for example. It was overall perfectly fine though. Staff at the front desk were helpful and knowledgeable about services in the area. Rating borders on a four.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sunset Beach Resort is in a great location in Pentai Tengah, close to the beach, shops and good restaurants. Rooms were basic, but comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and also massage on the beach were great. Gardens were beautiful. We were lucky enough to have wifi in our room,being close to the reception area. The only negative was the noisy air conditioner. Can recommend Sunset Beach to friends, and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.