We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short great get away.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“short great get away.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location from airport (15minutes ) and located in the middle of Pantai Tengah. The sunset room III (the smallest room) is bigger than what we expected. The resort garden is great - Balinese style garden. All the worker have been very helpful. Great private beach with white sand that you can stay away from other unwanted tourist. You can also enjoy the massage by the beach. We would expect something great for the breakfast unfortunately just a very simple supply.

Room Tip: get the sunset room I.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    230
    72
    22
    17
See reviews for
95
246
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Negative :-
1. Rooms although big but got a lot of mosquitoes..the floor is always sand matter how many time u sweep.

2. The mattress in my rooms is sinking in the middle..not worth paying for rm242..

3. One more things that I hate the most is you can hear people next to your room talking and having sex..

Positive:
1. Staff is very friendly
2. Near the beach..if u r lucky u can see foreigners topless..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pentai Tengah is exactly between the posh side of Langkawi and the backpackers part. This puts it in a unique position which was great for us. We like the backpack vibe for a drink, love the luxury dinners as well.
The resort is small what makes it feeling like "home" quite fast.
Don't expect a Shangri-La, just enjoy the vibe and use the euro's you save by not staying at a Shangri-La to do cool stuff. Like drink Tiger beer...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This resort is located right by a calm part of the beach - really lovely! Having breakfast while watching the ocean is quite a way to start the day! Our room (Sunset III) was very basic and lacked some features, like a bed light for example. It was overall perfectly fine though. Staff at the front desk were helpful and knowledgeable about services in the area. Rating borders on a four.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sunset Beach Resort is in a great location in Pentai Tengah, close to the beach, shops and good restaurants. Rooms were basic, but comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and also massage on the beach were great. Gardens were beautiful. We were lucky enough to have wifi in our room,being close to the reception area. The only negative was the noisy air conditioner. Can recommend Sunset Beach to friends, and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Beach Hotel in Jan 13 and really couldn't fault the hotel for the money.

Okay it's not exactly luxury and the rooms had a bit of an old caravan feel to them, but for what you pay you can't expect the Ritz on Langkawi.

AC worked great, gardens are pretty & well kept and the ladies at reception are very helpful & friendly... as was the resident cat Lucy too :-)

We only stayed for a couple of nights on our way to & from Koh Lipe, but it made a perfect stopover spot for us.

As others have said, the beach outside is very nice & although breakfast is nothing amazing it's good enough & beside there are plenty of other eating options in the area.

The beachside bar / restaurant next door was really good & the food top notch. Very nice place to spend the evening dining on the beach with a cold beer :)

Short walk to all the shops, restaurants & there is a moped hire place 5 mins walk down the road which was good value... £8 got us a moped for the day & £1 to fill it up, which took us all over the island. Would recommend doing over organised trips as not only is it cheaper, but It also gives more freedom and the roads are pretty quiet there so it's not a stressful experience.

All in all a very good hotel for your money, so long as you're not expecting luxury - we would definitely stay again that's for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 days, in this beautiful tropical garden resort, right on the beach, almost private. We only got sunset 3 rooms available while booking and were little skeptical about the room size but were pleased to see the actual size, its good enough for a couple even with a kid to stay comfortably. Only problem (which can be a concern for many) was that the resort being like a forest has lizards. We lived with one in our room for whole night and manged to shoo it off only in morning. They do not have much variety for breakfast but anyways we being eggiterians could not have expected much. Its convenient to rent a bike to explore the city, we took it from the store next to the resort from a sweet and helpful lady names Ina. We got it for RM 25 per day, didn't checked rate at any other place. Due to Ramadan we could not find any open fuel station in the evening and our fuel got over, she was helpful enough to get fuel for us in a container even after closing her shop. There is a beach side restaurant named Oasis next to the resort which serves decent food (though a little expensive). Beach is a bit rocky and can hurt so be little careful and find a smooth patch. Water sports available nearby. Cenang beach, underwater world and other shops are at walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.