We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel by the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value hotel by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sunset Beach Resort is in a great location in Pentai Tengah, close to the beach, shops and good restaurants. Rooms were basic, but comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and also massage on the beach were great. Gardens were beautiful. We were lucky enough to have wifi in our room,being close to the reception area. The only negative was the noisy air conditioner. Can recommend Sunset Beach to friends, and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    217
    69
    20
    16
See reviews for
90
231
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Beach Hotel in Jan 13 and really couldn't fault the hotel for the money.

Okay it's not exactly luxury and the rooms had a bit of an old caravan feel to them, but for what you pay you can't expect the Ritz on Langkawi.

AC worked great, gardens are pretty & well kept and the ladies at reception are very helpful & friendly... as was the resident cat Lucy too :-)

We only stayed for a couple of nights on our way to & from Koh Lipe, but it made a perfect stopover spot for us.

As others have said, the beach outside is very nice & although breakfast is nothing amazing it's good enough & beside there are plenty of other eating options in the area.

The beachside bar / restaurant next door was really good & the food top notch. Very nice place to spend the evening dining on the beach with a cold beer :)

Short walk to all the shops, restaurants & there is a moped hire place 5 mins walk down the road which was good value... £8 got us a moped for the day & £1 to fill it up, which took us all over the island. Would recommend doing over organised trips as not only is it cheaper, but It also gives more freedom and the roads are pretty quiet there so it's not a stressful experience.

All in all a very good hotel for your money, so long as you're not expecting luxury - we would definitely stay again that's for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 days, in this beautiful tropical garden resort, right on the beach, almost private. We only got sunset 3 rooms available while booking and were little skeptical about the room size but were pleased to see the actual size, its good enough for a couple even with a kid to stay comfortably. Only problem (which can be a concern for many) was that the resort being like a forest has lizards. We lived with one in our room for whole night and manged to shoo it off only in morning. They do not have much variety for breakfast but anyways we being eggiterians could not have expected much. Its convenient to rent a bike to explore the city, we took it from the store next to the resort from a sweet and helpful lady names Ina. We got it for RM 25 per day, didn't checked rate at any other place. Due to Ramadan we could not find any open fuel station in the evening and our fuel got over, she was helpful enough to get fuel for us in a container even after closing her shop. There is a beach side restaurant named Oasis next to the resort which serves decent food (though a little expensive). Beach is a bit rocky and can hurt so be little careful and find a smooth patch. Water sports available nearby. Cenang beach, underwater world and other shops are at walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The best place to have a rest. Value for money. Clean, kind and natural. Best view to sea, beach and sunset. Avarage guests are young couples of 30 - 35years with 1 or 2 childeren. I was worry about conditions and service after reservation, but now I realise that fond a good place to have a real relaxing rest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Husband and I stayed here in January and it was a real pleasure. Driving through the no-frills village I didn't know what to expect, but once we hit the relaxing and calming lobby I was set at ease. Our cabin room was well sized, bed was comfy and air con a plus. Bathroom simple and our shower pressure wasn't strong but they fixed it when asked. Rooms are kept clean and the staff are so, so lovely and friendly. Every interaction was great.
Hotel is right on the beach so perfect for a morning or all day swim. The best bit? The breakfast! Simple but so, so good - try the traditional noodle dish, its yum!
This place is a great alternative to an impersonal big hotel, and is within walking distance to some great food and places to visit. They also help arrange tours and day trips too. Well worth it!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - I do suggest getting up early to reserve a sunbed for the day though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sunset resort for a couple or nights. Although they looked a little dodgy from the outside, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.

The private beach at the resort was a bonus. It was very romantic and relaxing.

Breakfast was delicious!

I don't remember her name, but the lady who runs the resort as extremely friendly an efficient. She organised all of our transport, gave us great advice and tips for the local area, and was always quick on her feet.

Would highly recommend staying here for those on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This one is a no frills small budget hotel:
GOOD STUFF:
- You get a private beach which is at the back of the hotel
- Rooms are big and clean
- Silent and Calm
- Breakfast was Good
BAD STUFF:
- No Lunch or Dinner served (although you get it in adjoining resturant)
- They do not serve any water even if you want to buy it, you need to get from grocerry stores.
- If you need luxury this is not a hotel
- Washroom are clean but water taps are not good and water spills everywhere whenever you use it
Overall a nice budget hotel and with best part that you are getting a private beach at nearly 4000 INR.

Room Tip: Almost all roms are same in terms of view and facilities only difference is size, for a couple Sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.