We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent value for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We knew before we arrived that this was not going to be a luxury hotel but it certainly has a lot going for it. Firstly it is on the nicest part of the beach, and I mean ON the beach, it is a short walk on an attractive pathway and you're there. The staff on arrival were friendly and tucked Frangipani flowers in our hair. The rooms were basic but clean and the bed quite comfy. There was even good aircon which I wasn't expecting. Breakfast was great, fresh fruit, cereals, toast and you could have eggs cooked to order. Sitting in the breakfast room was like being right on the beach... we lingered over breakfast each day. There was free wi-fi near the front desk. It is an easy walk into the town and the duty free shopping. The beach in town was no-where near as nice(clean) as ours. I recommend the Cliff restaurant for sunset drinks and dinner, fabulous.
So were there any downsides... our room was very tired looking and a bit motel like. Maybe we should have paid for the more expensive rooms but as I didn't see inside them I can't comment. The sunset has no swimming pool and there were jellyfish in the sea, so that was a negative. I wouldn't want to spend a week here as it is pretty small and has no bar, although the one next door was pretty good. If money is the main issue then you will be very happy with your choice. If money isn't a problem maybe try Casa Del Mar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    230
    72
    22
    17
See reviews for
95
246
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a small and friendly resort with lovely chalets on either side of a palm lined pathway, which leads to the beach. The staff are very friendly, rooms are lovely, we were in sunset II with an extra bed. The beach is fab, a small stretch at the very quiet end. Breakfast is great, small selection of fruits, breads. You can request omelettes, scrambled egg etc... There is a small beach bar next door which is great to watch the sunsets from. Go you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Sunset Beach Resort rocks! I would like to touch on some stuff about this hotel.

1. Time saving
- It is time saving for you to walk to the beach. It only takes a straight path inside the hotel to go to the beach.

2. Staff
- The staff are very kind, helpful and also genourous.
- They welcomed us warmly with flowers.

3. Place
- It was soothing to look at. Mostly flowers all around,

4. Quality for money
- "Yes, It's good, worth the bucks I spent,

My overall experience here was great! I really enjoyed this hotel very much! By the way this is my 3rd or 4th time I had came to this hotel. Now you know this looks like a great holiday place. But still, I recommend you : If you want this hotel for long vacation days, I recommend you some other place because the hotel is small, for someone who wants 3 days and 2 nights, maybe thats okay. I have checked the website, all of their rooms are small not that spacious. But still, it's comfy and great to stay here.

Room Tip: If you want bigger rooms, don't take the Sunset III room. It is smaller than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spend 4D/3N at Sunset Beach Resort last week and stayed in the Sunset 2 rooms with three people (extra bed). The room was huge and spotless. The facility itself is maintained very well and they clearly put a lot of effort into the gardens on the grounds. The staff at the front desk are really what make the hotel, though. They provided great help with taxis, destinations, and any other questions we had throughout the trip. They even brought us breakfast the night prior to our departure, since we left before breakfast.

The only negative was that the beach wasn't very clean, but that's more of a Langkawi issue vs. the hotel. Lots of washed-up water bottles and other items.

Overall, great value and worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here in a Sunset 1 room, which was very nice. The layout of the resort was really lovely to walk through, all the rooms are along a central path which is lined with plants and interesting statues and ponds. The beach, while small, was right next to the resort and there was a fantastic beachfront restaurant next door which we ate at every night. The staff were helpful and the location was great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the sunset 3 room but were upgraded to the sunset 2 room for 3 of our 4 nights. Both rooms the same except more space in 2 ( probably i would book 2 next time). Lady at the front was very friendly and helpful, breakfast basic but good. Best thing was the almost private feeling of the beach area out the front. You don't need a pool the beach is right there with free deck chairs - what more do you need?! Great value for money. Located at end of the strip but within walking distance to everything. Would definitely stay here again. Check out Babylon for chillaxing at night, great spa at the end of the other end of the street and fantastic seafood restaurant way down the other end near the tailor ( takes 3-4 days if our looking together something made).

Room Tip: For a bit extra sunset 2 is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ended here by luck after our prebooked hotel (Beach Garden Resort Cenang) was closed down and we were offered horrible rooms at Lanai Beach Resort at Pantai Tengah.

Our room (Sunset 2 in the middle of the garden) was very basic, but spacious and clean. We had everything we needed - Aircon, fridge, 2 free bottles of water, kettle, coffee & tea.
The bathroom was actually really good, very new, much better than expected.
The breakfast is pretty simple, but again everything we needed: juice, water, coffee and tea, toast, butter, jam and eggs, cereals and fruits.
I loved the well groomed balinese garden, the friendly atmosphere and the perfect location.
The Lady at the reception seemed to be very strict on arrival, but she really took good care of us during our stay and gave us a big smile and some flowers as farewell :-D

This is not a luxurious Resort! But if you a traveling on a budget - you get really what you pay for. I will come back!

Room Tip: Sunset 2 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.