We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunset Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the sunset 3 room but were upgraded to the sunset 2 room for 3 of our 4 nights. Both rooms the same except more space in 2 ( probably i would book 2 next time). Lady at the front was very friendly and helpful, breakfast basic but good. Best thing was the almost private feeling of the beach area out the front. You don't need a pool the beach is right there with free deck chairs - what more do you need?! Great value for money. Located at end of the strip but within walking distance to everything. Would definitely stay here again. Check out Babylon for chillaxing at night, great spa at the end of the other end of the street and fantastic seafood restaurant way down the other end near the tailor ( takes 3-4 days if our looking together something made).

Room Tip: For a bit extra sunset 2 is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    206
    61
    17
    12
See reviews for
88
215
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ended here by luck after our prebooked hotel (Beach Garden Resort Cenang) was closed down and we were offered horrible rooms at Lanai Beach Resort at Pantai Tengah.

Our room (Sunset 2 in the middle of the garden) was very basic, but spacious and clean. We had everything we needed - Aircon, fridge, 2 free bottles of water, kettle, coffee & tea.
The bathroom was actually really good, very new, much better than expected.
The breakfast is pretty simple, but again everything we needed: juice, water, coffee and tea, toast, butter, jam and eggs, cereals and fruits.
I loved the well groomed balinese garden, the friendly atmosphere and the perfect location.
The Lady at the reception seemed to be very strict on arrival, but she really took good care of us during our stay and gave us a big smile and some flowers as farewell :-D

This is not a luxurious Resort! But if you a traveling on a budget - you get really what you pay for. I will come back!

Room Tip: Sunset 2 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Sunset Beach Resort is situated at the Northern end of Pantai Tengah, which in my opinion is by far the better beach in this part of the island. Pantai Cenang is the more popular beach and as such is chock a block with jetskis, banana boats and tourists - horses for course though I suppose but we preferred the quiet, tranquil outlook from our resort and the mayhem of the main beach was only a 20 min walk away. The resort is quite literally on the beach and although the rooms aren't themselves beach front, the common, sun lounger area is and this is where we ended up spending most of our time. The beach itself is very quiet and the only beach bar is right next door to the resort, a 20 min walk to Cenang will get you to the rest of the bars and the backpackers.

The rooms are comfortable and although they are not 5 star, they have everything you need and are much bugger than they appear in the website. We stayed in one of the middle rooms and it was fine for us. All rooms are built in semi-detached huts surrounded by lush tropical gardens which are kept immaculate by the staff, who are all very helpful and nice.

All in all this was great value for money, given it's setting. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This place has the potential to be a little gem but a few minor things would have to improve first. However my grumbles were consistent with some other places I stayed in Malaysia so I suspect it's just the general standard that is provided in this type of accommodation. I liked the setting, the beach was nice: clean, soft sand, no rocks or nasties in the water (only saw one small jellyfish), nice and quiet but with water activities close by. Quite a narrow steeply sloping beach but it levelled out in the water. Plenty of loungers with palm trees to provide dappled shade. A very good cafe/bar next door and all the shops and restaurants of Pantai Cenang right on the road at the front.
It's a serene and beautiful place, the lobby area is very cool and the walkway between the rooms is just amazing, a lot of care goes into the garden. The reception staff were very nice, helpful and polite. Free wifi too.
We stayed in a Sunset II type room, which was comfortable but a little shabby. The fridge was rusty and noisy but it was nice to have one to chill our drinks. The bathroom was nice, large and light but housekeeping did nothing more than provide a bath mat on day 3 of our 4 night stay. It would have been nice to at least have the sink cleaned and some fresh towels. The bed was made daily and a cursory floor sweep removed excess sand. AC worked and an anti mosi burner thing provided. Also a kettle, coffee and tea.
The breakfast was ok but a little limited in choice, they cook an egg if requested but otherwise it's toast, cereal, noodles and fruit. The ladies that served breakfast and did the housekeeping seemed a bit grumpy, maybe overworked and underpaid or just intolerant to non-muslim/non-Malays??! That was my impression.
Would I go back? Yes definitely...if I couldn't afford something better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Sunset beach resort is a small budget hotel made up of beach houses divided into 2 or 3 units surrounded by lush gardens and right on the beach. What makes is a bit of a paradise is that its located right on Pantai Tengah (Middle Beach), which is regarded as one of the best beaches in Langkawi. Pantai Tengah is indeed paradise - a long white sandy beach with soft sand, emerald green water, gentle waves and a beautiful sunset. This beach is far ahead of Penang beaches and is reminiscent of Phuket and Koh Samui. During the 3 days I was here, I spent hours in the water and just did not want to leave.

Another thing great about the resort is that its just a few minutes walk to the main Pantai Cenang shopping street with its myriad shops, eateries, malls, bars, etc.

The price is right at just $220 ringgit for the Sunset 3 rooms. For this kind of price there is bound to be a downside. Here the rooms are small, simple and clean but don't offer the luxuries of the 5 star resorts. Nevertheless everything you need is in the room including cold air-conditioning and hot water. The one thing I didn't like about the room is that you can hear the neighbors if they're talking loudly or if their TV is on at high volume.

Breakfast, unfortunately, is a bit dire. There's toast, cereal, fruit, a lousy noodle dish and eggs to order. The breakfast needs to have a lot more variety and better quality stuff. The coffee, luckily, was quite good and you do get to eat right on the beach.

Also, reception will help you book tours and day trips at a very low cost.

Overall, its a cheap and basic resort but its location on Pantai Tengah and its proximity to the main shopping strip overwhelms all other shortcomings. Its for those who want to be in paradise on a tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Langkawi is not a great place to stay and Pantai Cenang Beach is so crowded that sometimes we think that we are in Kuala Lumpur or even Bangkok...
However the beach in front of Sunset Beach Resort is rather quieter, despite the constant Jet-skiing on sea and the parasails that sometimes fly even just over our heads.
Definitely we prefer a quieter place like Koh Lipe, Koh Lanta or some other Thai Islands.
The Sunset Beach Resort is not a bad place to stay but it could be much better...
The cheaper rooms (Sunset 3) are too small and the breakfast is quite poor, but you pay what you get...
Anyway I recommend this hotel if you are in a budget and if you a looking for a relatively calm and inexpensive place in Pantai Cenang Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

we were supposed to be there 23-25/3/13 but incorrectly made a booking for 22-25/3/13 instead and they sold our room away. luckily we were not charged for no-show. we still managed to get a family room near the beach for 24-25/3/13 though.

when we checked in on 24/3/13, we were given Room 108 near the beach, the room was wonderful and spacious, only thing is there were no toiletries provided. and also no pool in the resort. the adjoining beach was really nice and clean with the right amount of crowd, water sports available on the beach as well. i guess the reason why its called Sunset Beach Resort is because the sun shines right into the resort during sunset, a really pretty sight u wont want to miss as a guest there.

the staff were really helpful, suggested alternative place we can stay on our room-less 23-24/3/13 night. they also helped booked our snorkelling trip pickup from the resort's doorstep RM90/pax and also our 630am taxi to the airport. because our flight was way too early, the staff even offered to bring breakfast to our room the night before so that we can eat in the room before heading to the airport! even though breakfast was really simple but we were touched by their nice gesture, highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and AsiaRooms so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.