We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic outlook” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Beijing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exotic outlook”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The bungalows are hidden in a nice garden-like alley, very nicely arranged. Unfortunately not a good maintenance of the rooms. No WiFi provided in the rooms for those who still want to stay in touch with home, although it might be a good way to stay hidden from the outside world together with the little geckoes on the walls :) The service is not worthy the rates per night, but the alley is worth seeing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    217
    69
    20
    16
See reviews for
89
231
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Pakistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The location of Sunset Beach Resort is just perfect, it is a couple of minutes walk from Underwater World, McDonalds, Duty Free Shopping Malls, Money Changers, Rent a cars and several restaurants. Not to mention the beach is just 30 seconds walk from your room, where you can also enjoy para sailing, boat ride to the nearby islands, etc. Location wise this is better than most other famous places. And it is very close to the airport as well.

The breakfast room is right at the beach so you can enjoy the sights and sounds of the beach, the cool breeze and warm sunlight while having your breakfast. The water melons were really delicious !

The staff was very friendly and understanding, the service was fair and the resort itself is beautiful. A lot of plants, which add to the beauty of this place, we felt just like home!

This place offers a very good value for money, it may not be as luxurious as some of the other 5 start resorts but the above mentioned qualities makes it totally worth while.

If we ever happen to go back to Langkawi, we would definitely choose this place to stay!

To read more about my trip, you can read sneakpeek2013.wordpress.com

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful family run small hotel in a tropical garden set just off the quiet beach of Pantai Tengah. We have been coming here for the month of January for many years. I have worked in the worldwide travel industry for 30 years. This place is a treasured find.....we keep coming back because after a couple of days you are already relaxed! Not pretentious, just a clean, comfortable place to stay with the friendliest staff ever.....they will make sure your holiday is perfect. Rooms are air conditioned and safe. The only meal served is breakfast in a lovely airy room overlooking the sea but there are plenty of places to eat locally for lunch and dinner. The beach is safe and beautiful. Sometimes there is parasailing and jet skis passing but mostly it is so quiet and the scenery is superb. Don't be put off by the drive along Pantai Cenang road which is now like the strip at Las Vegas! Once you walk through the hotel gardens....you will find all is peaceful and calm.
In the evening if you turn left on leaving the hotel there are plenty of places to shop and eat. Take my tip, turn right and follow the road along Pantai Tengah. Much quieter and fantastic places to eat like Sun Cafe and Maya's restaurant!
Enjoy your stay but book early!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Whenever my friends travel to Langkawi, regardless of which circle of friends, Sunset is always the first choice. We were lucky enough to get the last available room for the long weekend and now understand why it's so popular.

Rooms are clean. Staff are friendly but the main thing that makes this place so great is its location right on the beach and the lush greeny surrounding each chalet. Although located on busy Pantai Cenang, it has some what of a more private beach which is less busy but still right next to all the shops and restaurants etc.

Breakfast is included but not fantastic. (Fried noodles, bread/toast, cereal and they'll cook and egg for you ) but not enough to dampen then experience.

When booking a langkawi holiday, look for availability at this resort first! Its definately value for money and you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

- displeased: unfriendly, dirty beach, ageing, austere room und breakfast, no service, dangerous jellyfishes, mold bathroom, room cleaning poor, ignorance of staff, no pool
+ pleased: centrality, nice tropical garden

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights during New Years 2012 and it was a wonderful location!! We have an 8 month old son, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff were the best too since they didn't clean the room when they knew our son was napping. I could just ask them everyday for a different time to come and clean our room. It's a very intimate resort with not too many guests right on a beautiful strip of beach. There is a great restaurant Oasis next door which is really handy when you're feeling lazy and not wanting to walk anywhere to eat :) The rooms are perfect, clean, and comfortable for what you pay for. Breakfast is the same everyday, but totally fine. The beach area is perfect with all the sun loungers and palm trees-giving enough shade during those blazing hot days. We loved this resort and would definitely come back again. For young families such as us it was perfect for all of our needs!

Only tip for the resort would be to fix the lounge chairs that are broken-oh and you need to get out there pretty early to save your lounger as they go pretty fast if the hotel is fully booked. Any tours you want to go on can be booked at the reception for the a good price! Pretty much anything you need help with, the friendly staff are willing to serve you. We needed a Dr for our son and they arranged an appointment/taxi right away on New Year Day even!

Room Tip: Get the Sunset II room somewhere in the middle (they have been redone), more spacious and comfy. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is located on a lovely strip of the beach with beautiful views of some islands and incredible sunsets.
The street is a bit messy - not at all reflecting the 'upmarket' resort that we heard Langkawi was - but as soon as we crossed the entrance we found a quiet and intimate place perfect for relaxing. The gardens between the rooms are nicely kept and they had some nice touches like ponds with goldfish, sculptures and fresh flowers.
The reservation process was very easy and the ladies at reception were fantastic and good fun - they organised the boat to Penang for us, an excursion to nearby islands, recommended good restaurants, allowed ut to take towels and have showers after checking out and were generally helpful and good humoured.
The room itself (178, all rooms have an 8 as the chinese owners believe is of good luck) was basic but comfortable - although we might have liked a mosquito net as we think we got bitten during the night. The bathroom also was simple but functional and we had plenty of space outside to dry towels and swimming gear.
There were mainly european couples - a few with young kids - very quiet and relaxed so there was a nice atmosphere. There are plenty of sunbathing loungers under the shade on the palm trees and a nice little bar/restaurant next door that allowed us to take the beers to the loungers. There is also a little hut for massages.
The beach was quite quiet - only a few jet skis and the parasailing boats which were actually quite fun to observe, particularly when the rope broke and people landed in the water!

Overall, this is a simple hotel very nice for a short relaxing break in the sun and we'd be happy to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sunset Beach Langkawi
Sunset Beach Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.