We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AB Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AB Motel
Save
You added AB Motel to your Saves list
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Vaxjo, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Small room with a porch right next to the beach which is nice, Shower and toilet both in the same squaremeter is interesting but you get what you pay for. Nice budget option. Reggea bar with friendly people only a stonethrow away on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    119
    79
    28
    19
See reviews for
69
98
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I never saw such Bad hotel in my Life. Dirty and stinking.

Everything was Bad, someone whose working there stole us some of ours clothes.

When I told to the réception they didnt care.
we booked 5 days and checked out after one night I did not see anything as bad. The bedding smelled bad, the toilets were not cleaned, the shower stunk. The room was always

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I stay in the room at the roadside. Rm100/nite. overall the room was good. I have no problem throughout mh 2 nites stay there. However as the room is just side by side n during the nite,if the neighbour were outside chatting with their friends it was somehow cause disturbance. However in regards to hotel service n d room i dont hv any issue.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose AB motel after having seen the Sandy Beach Resort, Best Star and Malibest (both situated basically next to AB motel). The price-quality relation convinced us to stay in AB motel.

We stayed in room A13, which is the first one next to the beach, it's actually a side-sea view room (bungalow), but it's located on the beach - you're sitting on your terrace facing the sea. The view is fantastic and it's worth the price (120 RM in low season, 150 in high season). The room itself is pretty basic, but as you spend most of the time outside it's really enough. It's quite big though, so you have enough space to store your stuff. The aircon was ok as well as small fridge. The shower has hot water. Unfortunately as you're basically living on the beach, ants can be a small problem. We asked at the reception if they have any insect repellent and they helped us out.
It's a basic, very well located motel motel with wi-fi at the reception area and a quite expensive restaurant. It has some common area on the main patio, next to the beach which can get a bit loud specially during weekends as it's open for the general public.
I would recommend this place for budget travellers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

To me, it was a very good room and value.
Of course it's simple, but the room is big with plenty of room for your things, big mirror, hangers ...
The water was not very hot, but who needs it, and the balcony was pretty nice, I could watch the sun rise every morning from it.
It is very clean, the room is tiled, which has no charm, but at least it is clean.
They come and clean the room evey 2 days, and change the towels.
I stayed in the rooms accross the street, and that was perfect.

Free wi fi in the lobby only. Don't forget to try the massage chair !

No charm, no luxury, but super clean and big. I enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

nice chalet...front desk ppl are ok..the boat keeper's at the beach are very friendly and helpful.value for money as i went there during the fasting month..our chalet was facing the beach...clean bathroom & room.overall its a worth stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

you get what you pay.. its cheap.. air conditioning is up to 20 degree celsius only so we have to wait for the room to get cold. well there's no cable tv. beach is few minutes walk from the unit. when we were there, we experienced having no electricity twice. there's no backup generator for the motel. well i should not expect more for a cheap price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AB Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AB Motel

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ab Hotel Pantai Cenang
Ab Hotel Langkawi
AB Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AB Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.