We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AB Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pantai Cenang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AB Motel
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

To me, it was a very good room and value.
Of course it's simple, but the room is big with plenty of room for your things, big mirror, hangers ...
The water was not very hot, but who needs it, and the balcony was pretty nice, I could watch the sun rise every morning from it.
It is very clean, the room is tiled, which has no charm, but at least it is clean.
They come and clean the room evey 2 days, and change the towels.
I stayed in the rooms accross the street, and that was perfect.

Free wi fi in the lobby only. Don't forget to try the massage chair !

No charm, no luxury, but super clean and big. I enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    112
    72
    22
    16
See reviews for
63
91
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

nice chalet...front desk ppl are ok..the boat keeper's at the beach are very friendly and helpful.value for money as i went there during the fasting month..our chalet was facing the beach...clean bathroom & room.overall its a worth stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

you get what you pay.. its cheap.. air conditioning is up to 20 degree celsius only so we have to wait for the room to get cold. well there's no cable tv. beach is few minutes walk from the unit. when we were there, we experienced having no electricity twice. there's no backup generator for the motel. well i should not expect more for a cheap price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

nice motel...
very budget accommodation in langkawi..
rooms are big and clean
breakfast does not provided...its not a problem because there are many restaurant nearby the motel. near the beach and taxi stand

overall nice stay in this motel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We looked in a lot of places and AB is definitely value for money in comparison to some of the over priced or horrible places we saw.

We payed 120RM per night for a room on the beach side. For this we got a large, light room with two double beds, fridge, wardrobe, shelving and mirror. The bathroom is large with a great shower and loads of hot water. There is a TV but only has local channels.
A bonus is the balcony with table, two chairs and a drying rack. We even had a slight view of the sea!

It is very clean. They clean the room and change the sheets and towels every other day. One negative is they don't replenish toilet paper so we had to keep going to reception to ask for it, but not a big issue.

Unfortunately there is only wifi in the reception area, but that seems to be the case in many hotels on Cenang beach.

The staff aren't the friendliest we've met, but were helpful when we needed it.

Best bit was having a nice room practically on the beach. It took us about one minute from room to sun lounger as there is a staircase at the back of the motel that leads directly onto the beach.
It is also close to many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a basic motel & is perfect if you only require a place to sleep & put your luggage. The room we were staying in had 2 double beds & a basic toilet without any toiletries or towels.

The advantage of this motel is it's right next to the beach & is very cheap compared to the others. We paid 120 RM/night for the double room.

Your sleep will suffer if you have noisy neighbours.

Room Tip: There are 2 AB motels & only one of them is next to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We paid 100 RM per night for a ac room. To be fair, we looked around quite a bit but most places were fully booked or quite a bit more expensive. I would likely stay here again, but I can't say the same for my girlfriend. The room was not super clean, the staff wasn't the most friendly and the bed was only average. Lots of rooms here though, which makes it a choice when you don't book in advance. Various different price points as well. The location is also pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 13 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Family-friendly...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 2 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
#16 of 98 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Budget, Free in...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Cenang Memories Motel
Cenang Memories Motel
#3 of 13 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#6 of 13 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AB Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AB Motel

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Also Known As:
Ab Hotel Pantai Cenang
Ab Hotel Langkawi
AB Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AB Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added AB Motel to your Saves list