We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and my idea of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Ton Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bon Ton Resort to your Saves list
Bon Ton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique and my idea of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

So disappointed to see so many negative reviews about Bon Ton- my husband and I loved it! We are so sick of staying in obvious 4/5 star hotels that all offer the same predictable facilities etc as each other and were looking for something more rustic/unique and special ...Bon Ton is just that! It was a privilege to stay in a 100 year old Malay Villa (best place I've ever stayed in!!) and the best food we've tasted so far on our trip to Malaysia. The staff go above and beyond to help you and what's more, it's so relaxed and not full of screaming kids or fussy tourists, just people who want to de-stress and really enjoy this lovely Malay Island. The icing on the cake for us was also that proceeds from Bon Tree go to the fantastic dog/cat rescue centre on the grounds. As an animal lover and someone who cares very much about local people wanting to preserve local buildings/heritage and animals...this place couldn't have suited us more! We'd chose Bon Ton over a concrete hotel with no personality any day!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    69
    18
    16
    11
See reviews for
85
238
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I hope this is OK- I'm writing about the restaurant ANd the hotel:I'm living and travelling in SE Asia (for 12 years so fa), but I've only written three reviews, and those were to warn people about appalling places, so it's nice to write a rave review where there are 97% great/ excellent experiences and just two tiny moans- not bad for a grumpy old git like me!!
1: the restaurant- not far from Pantai (beach) Cinang or the airport and on the way to the cable car/ wonderful telaga harbour- taxis are cheap and you can hire a small car for rm70 per day- NOTHING! The food is as good as a michelin restaurant (for me anyway)- and I had a sort of "racial prejudice" that The Malay chef would overcook my steak (only cos Malays seem to prefer their meat and fish cooked longer than Europeans). I had "medium rare (I've eaten this about 6 times here, and other local dishes) and everything was PERFECT in the food department and the menu is a DREAM- I challenge the fussiest of people to be unable to find something they don't like.

The manager and staff are very chatty and friendly- you sit close to the pool and although not next to the sea, there's a river and lake, and the view's great, and it's semi-open-air. My only moan was that they asked me too many times about more wine, but they've probably stopped that now. So 97 out of 100 for the restaurant.

The other small moan is it's also a sort of animal sanctuary and the cats, which i don't mind, may use the grass near you as a "convenience". But I think it's good to look after the cats like that.

2- The old ORIGINAL Malay houses on stilts by the pool are very atmospheric; you don't need aircon- they're cool and there were no mosquitos; the bed and everything in the room were pERFECT. Is it allowable to give 100%? They've got some more local-style houses now but I haven't seen them; the ones I stayed in had been transported and reassembled; it was quiet, stunningly beautiful- OK I can add another TINY moan- the pool's rather small. But forget my tiny whinges- you'll have to look at MANY places before you find one like THIS.

Room Tip: Just look around- they don't mind! They're all well away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Sleeping in a beautiful 120 year old kampung villa; waking to the gentle noises of the local birdlife; the most superb food; sunset views and cocktails; fantastic friendly and helpful staff.

Staying at the Bon Ton was an unforgettable experience. Four nights of blissful relaxation.

The Bon Ton is not some isolated 5 star Langkawi resort; it's much closer to the nature and community of the island - and infinitely better for it.
I can't not mention the cats: sleepy, friendly and in no way intrusive - they just added to the experience.

Set your expectations and you'll soon succumb to the magic of the Bon Ton Resort.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Palm Villa. A beautiful traditional stilted villa, sensitively modernised - and the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had only 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday at the Bon Ton, had we known it was so lovely we would of booked longer. This place is the true meaning of 'relaxation'. Food is great. We are cat lovers and very nearly felt we could not leave Skippy behind. What a wonderful experience. Thank you all the staff who were all very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My goodness!

It almost looks to good to be true.

The 8 individual Bon Ton villas are set in a green park-like environment with great views of the reclaimed marshland and the mountains of Langkawi. The settings are just beautiful. Just beautiful!

We had the Laguna villa for a week. It has the best location of the 8. Set in the corner directly facing the open marshlands. Wonderful sunset views from the porch. The villas are 60-90 years old original wooden houses. As all the others - the Laguna Villa is built on stilts. The wooden floors and walls seem very quirky, but it really works out very, very well. And the feeling of living in an original antique Malay house on stilts does not come any better..... Nice, nice, nice!

The main room is the bedroom. Very spacy and well equipped with all modern amenities. The bathroom is......fantastic! Wooden bathtub with direct views of the marshland through the open window. The shower area is a genius installation. When showering directly on the wooden floor, the water will find its way down through the cracks between the planks.

The restaurant is upmarket and very good. The breakfast which they bring to your house the night before is absolutely adequate. Wifi works farely well in our house. The pool is not big, but does its job.

Cats all over the place! Very polite and extremely lazy pregnant ones. :)

Downsides?

A: The aircon unit in Laguna Villa have seen better days. It's difficult cooling the house down during daytime. At night when the outside temperature drops a bit, it works ok though. And that's important! Ceiling fans and open windows is the solution during daytime.

B: I don't personally get the concept of putting in new flat screen TV's - when there's absolutely no TV reception. It would be easy to install a satellite dish....? The Bon Ton is not a place where your first choice would be watching TV....but hey...a bit of news now and then!? And the flat screens are there.....!

BUT........We spent seven wonderful days here. The Bon Ton was for us the highlight of our Langkawi vacation. The place is truely a magic and very, very special place to stay!

Room Tip: A) Book the Laguna villa for the best views and privacy. B) Like cats! C) Love your wife!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you wanted a place to relax with a sense of history, architecture and beauty, then this is the place for you.

Nothing is better than starting each day with a dip in the pool, then a light breakfast, and then, maybe think about what else you would like to do, or maybe perhaps just lounge around the pool all day.

Price? What price do you place on being able to "live" in an old kampung house (with mod cons) in paradise?

The food was outstanding. We did not feel the need to go anywhere else. Service was exceptional. Appreciated the complimentary cocktails with nibbles at sunset.

And, the cats, love them!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Black Orchid (which was a bit dark). Our friends were in White Frangipani which was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in White Frangipani. 3 nights in early August. The chalets are rustic - unique. We loved the experience. Food and service - outstanding. House wine - excellent value for money. The cats - awwww - they were lovely and so well mannered - they even queued up at the feeding stations for good. No squawling fights at midnight either. I do have a severe allergy to cats but took the meds and had no problems at all. We really enjoyed the breakfast in our rooms - taking the cake out of the fridge of a little while to come to room temperature was the best thing to do although you do have to watch out for the Minor birds - cheeky things will come into your room and help themselves if they think you aren't looking! This is the most relaxed my husband has ever been on a trip away. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Ton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.