We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a local!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Ton Resort

Save Saved
You added Bon Ton Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bon Ton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Return Guests Benefit
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Live like a local!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Really enjoyable few days here. First class service. Beautiful setting and sunset every evening made even better with the complimentary cocktail! There are cats everywhere but they behave themselves. Pool is warm and rustic. Rooms can get a bit hot especially if you're not lying under the air-con! Mosquitos take no prisoners either. This place is perfect if you want something slightly different and more of an adventure. Not so much if you don't like being at one with nature. Really enjoyed it though - thanks!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    64
    15
    16
    10
See reviews for
80
227
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After spending 4 weeks in KL on business, I was flagging a little so I decided to take a weekend break. Bon Ton was highly recommended on TA and rooms were half price during the low season. I loved Bon Ton. For so many different reasons.

When I first arrived, I was greeted with a lovely Margarita and warm welcome. The first thing that was lovely about Bon Ton was that it was very warm and laid back. Cats were everywhere and they were all so super friendly! Amir led me to the yellow orchid and left me to. I was blown away by how rustic and beautiful the house was. Very simple, with a 4 poster bed surrounded by comfortable furniture. The shower, bath and toilet were outside but for me, this just added to its charm (nobody could see you) and the lighting just made you feel very relaxed. I took a few moments to chill out on the veranda and it was so nice to be away from the city in this lovely place. More cats came and I felt very at home. The outdoor bath was fantastic and there was something very charming about bathing under the stars. Bon Ton give you lots of salts and local creams to help soothe insect bites. The shower was lovely too.

I knew that houses weren't perfect, and it took me a while to get used to all the noises occuring at night. I could imagine that for some people it would be a nightmare. I had a huge moth come in the first night which in the dark was frightening, but quite innocent in light! After a few hours I just accepted that noises were going to happen and I manned up! After that, perfect sleep.

Breakfast is placed in your fridge the night before and is quite simple. I had some lovely bread with some butter and marmalade (quite hard to find in malaysia!) with some brownies. They give you real french press coffee and loose tea leaves. It's quite nice actually, I could eat whenever I wanted :)

On other notes, the staff were perfect and looked after me well. The food in the restaurant was amazing and is definitely the best on the island. They even sorted me out with a rental car and let me use another house for the day after checkout!

You will need to watch out for the mozzies. Because of the lagoon infront of the hotel, mozzies are everywhere, especially at sundown. Bon Ton provide a really good guriella warfare kit and mozzie sprays on the outside tables. It wasn't so bad for me as I don't normally get bitten, but if you do ... then don't come here! You will be savaged!

Overall, I really loved this place. It's the most relaxing place i've ever been to and with the cats, the beautiful scenery and houses, the lovely staff - and free drinks in the evening(!) then it's a just a lovely getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have to be a serious lover of cats as there are loads of them. Personally I think a lovely place to stay for 3 nights max as the breakfasts become boring as always the same each day, just a different cake! Breakfast is delivered the night before and you eat in your room.
The staff were very friendly and the restaurant very good.
Think the villas could be updated and kept slightly cleaner. Far too much wild life in the rooms!!
Air con was rubbish and bed was not very comfortable, could only get into bed from one side....

Room Tip: Toilet and shower is outside in Blue Ginger villa.... Bath tub not cleaned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Even though the resort is not next to the beach and close to the airport it is a nice and quite place to stay. The Villas are nicley done and equiped with all you need without loosing their typical malayan character. Each Villa has a house cat and there are several more around. So you should like cats if you want to stay there. The food at the restaurant is very good and every evening a sun downer with a small appatizer is offered to house guests. A good oportunity to calm down, watch the sun set and get incontact with other guests if you like. We had an evening flight out and even though our Villa was booked again we were allowed to stay at another Villa for that day, so we could enjoy the day and have a shower before leaving in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This intimate resort consists of individually styled genuine Malay villas. Our villa was one of the smaller ones and the bathroom was at the back, under the stars which was fantastic.
We had our own villa cat, Skippy, who allowed us to stay for three glorious days.
As a bonus the food is excellent both at Bon Ton and the sister resort Temple Trees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is just beautiful and fits so well with the surrounding. The location is fabulous. The rooms were very well appointed with full amenities and great bathrooms. Comfortable beds ,great design made this hotel a place to visit instead of just a place to sleep in. Needless to say it was spotless and smelled great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bon Ton Resort Langkawi is one of the island's most stylish, unique, sexy and intimate resorts, with eight individually styled antique Malay villas, the perfect small boutique hotel with a view of paddy fields. Nam Restaurant at Bon Ton is regarded as one of the best on the island.

Location is quite near to Cenang Beach and nect to Casa del Mar Hotel.

Stayed twice in two different villas (Yellow Orchid Villa and Blue Ginger Villa).

Although the swimming pool is not that big but suffient. Great for couple and family with kids.

The only thing is, lots of mosquitos and insects especially in the evening.

Room Tip: All villas are completed with living room, outdoor shower, bathroom. Each villa is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Ton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.