We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kampung-Feel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Ton Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bon Ton Resort to your Saves list
Bon Ton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Kampung-Feel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bon Ton Resort Langkawi is one of the island's most stylish, unique, sexy and intimate resorts, with eight individually styled antique Malay villas, the perfect small boutique hotel with a view of paddy fields. Nam Restaurant at Bon Ton is regarded as one of the best on the island.

Location is quite near to Cenang Beach and nect to Casa del Mar Hotel.

Stayed twice in two different villas (Yellow Orchid Villa and Blue Ginger Villa).

Although the swimming pool is not that big but suffient. Great for couple and family with kids.

The only thing is, lots of mosquitos and insects especially in the evening.

Room Tip: All villas are completed with living room, outdoor shower, bathroom. Each villa is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    69
    18
    16
    11
See reviews for
85
238
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Horrible place! never again. so many cats around..apparently is an animal shelter but does not mention that on the website. pool is dirty. cats around the kitchen. insects everywhere inside and outside. bathrooms old and rusty. no phone. dirty pond next to what's called " Villas" which is a source of many strange insects. I hated it so much. I would give it 2/10 and that's stretching it. only good thing is location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in the yellow orchid villa during March. Initially a bit sceptic as it is called a resort but the experience is very personal as there are not many villas. The staff is extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They even arranged for me to watch a game of rugby next door at temple tree in the private tv room!Their recommended activities and restaurants were spot on and they helped booking all of these and taxis within minutes. Complimentary cocktails with sunset is a great way to relax or mix with other guests while enjoying the view.
It is about a 15min walk to cenang beach, but taxis are cheap enough not to walk in the heat.
Only downside was the planes doing their training runs before the air show and if you don't like cats as there are quite a few around but did not bother us. They do a good job with the cat and dog sanctuary next door as well.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of my favorite getaways in the world I have stayed here many times

For beautiful surroundings nice people and out of the ordinary very comfortable lodging this is the place. Gorgeous each one with its individual character and style old malay houses surround a infinity pool and cosy restaurant with great food and even better staff

Do stay here if;
-You like very comfortable but different types of stays and are not looking for a cream and white box like five star hotel

-You love animals (remember this is an animal sanctuary and thanks to the hotel sponsored refuge not far from the grounds they take care of spaying and caring for lots of wonderful cats which you can either participate in our not)

-You enjoy quality but relaxed surroundings and cool things like outdoor showers, gorgeous views and quiet

-You are indeed looking for a different type of getaway and enjoy having the luxury of hand picked gorgeous old houses lovingly decorated and each one so very different

A great place for a quiet getaway, with children or to put on your socially responsible shoes and go take a dog for a walk (or not)

I love it here and am so happy to see that quality and beauty can also be shared with social responsibility caring and good things

Room Tip: If you are not fond of cats this is not a good option for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

5 mins drive from the airport, car rental is a good idea in Langkawi, in fact a must. In Langkawi, people drive really slow as majority are tourists trying to decide either to turn left or right. Bon Ton is easy to locate during the day time and located in Pantai Cenang area where most of the restaurants and backpackers hostel are located in the same stretch of road.

There are parking spaces right in front of the village resort but will have a few bird droppings on the car. It is a village resort. The staffs are friendly. It is a hut style that my grandmother used to stay in so I know what to expect and to do. My partner who never stay or see those hut style village resort is fascinated at the concept. I wrote an email to them saying that I am afraid of cockroaches and they promptly acknowledges that they will place in more lemongrass leaves around the hut.

I stayed in Yellow Orchid Villa for one night. Nice cold mocktail welcome drink was served. It is a wooden hut facing a swamp (no crocodiles for sure). Please spray the insect repellant immediately once you sat down for the drink as the whole area is very green and in tropical countries like that, mosquitoes are inevitable. The room is to our expectation. They have this Guerilla War basket which contained insect repellant, mosquitoes disc, insect spray etc. Please familiarise with all this stuff as it is useful. In fact, they are a few things in the room that is quite fascinating and thoughtful for this village resort concept that my grandparents always have in the wooden house. Everything is clean and nothing disgusting at all. There is this cat who always wait outside our house and tried to jump in when we open the door but the cat never scratch or makes any noise at all.

The bathroom is amazing...which place in the world that you can bath in the wooden tub and look at the stars. The bathroom amenity is top class, natural made soap, Thann (more exclusive than Crabtree and Evelyn brand) body lotion, local Gamat oil which is really good for such an environment and there is a note for you to take the oil with you, the towels is clean.

The breakfast jams is from Bonne Maman (5 star hotel frequent brand), high quality bread, full set of coffee and tea set (even a choice for tea bags or tea leafs ! ) etc. One thing that I would recommend here is that the plates and cutleries and glasses have to be covered in old style net too to prevent the geckos having droppings in it. The old village style used to place all their chinaware is a wooden net closet and this is one missed point for this village resort concept.

TV is not working and we didnt ask for help as it is for one night stay only. The lightings concept in the room is organized too. Bed is too soft and as my partner have back pain, it is not that good for his back. Another recommendation is that the closet have to be in the net compartment too as geckos will find their way in it. To remember to zip the luggage as insects tend to crawl into dark spaces. To close the net around the bed as early as 4pm and check the bed like my grandmother always did before going to sleep, you dont want any surprises.

Do try the restaurant there as it served both Asian and Western style food and it taste so good. He wanted to come back here if he dont have any back pain the next time. We stayed in another 5 star resort the next day and he didnt enjoy it a bit but ironically, he got bitten by mosquitoes there and not in the Bon Ton. Bon Ton is not crowded at all and provide a romantic setting if you dont mind all the troubles of ensuring the geckos are out of the way, and seeing a few tropical insects such as lizards and spiders. They are afraid of humans as much as we are afraid of them. The food is so good in Bon Ton that my partner keep talking about it even though we were having a champagne breakfast facing the Andaman Sea in the five star resort. It is that personal touch in Bon Ton that will makes us going back there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denarau Island, Fiji
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful hotel with excellent staff and very welcoming atmosphere. All the houses were beautifully decorated and very well equipped. Overall our stay at this hotel was a fantastic experience and for sure we will back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa in February for a couple of night. The welcome by staff is exceptional - free drink on arrival and we chose the beer. Small resort near airport but this is not heathrow or JFK so minimum impact of jets landing and taking off.

The villa was spacious and well kitted out. Be prepared for insects and bugs to see extent - we also had a frog in our room one night. There are numerous cats as other reviews have shown but in our view this added to the charm and character of the location.

Sleeping at first can be a little strange - nets are put around the beds and you need to make sure the room is well sprayed for mossies. Once you get used to it though it is extremely relaxing and enjoyable.

Each night breakfast is placed in the room. We found this to be more than adequate.

Location is good near the bras and restaurants but not too close. We eat in the hotel one night and the food was great so it makes sense to eat in at least once.

Only down side for us was that the pool was not great - too small for the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acg1960, Owner at Bon Ton Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments. Regarding the pool, i suppose we feel that as we offer three pools between Bon Ton and Temple Tree, that this generally offers a good choice of sunbathing and swimming options for our guests.............

We are glad in general you enjoyed your stay with us

Regards'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Ton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.