We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience, beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Ton Resort

Save Saved
You added Bon Ton Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bon Ton Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Return Guests Benefit
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique experience, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in the yellow orchid villa during March. Initially a bit sceptic as it is called a resort but the experience is very personal as there are not many villas. The staff is extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They even arranged for me to watch a game of rugby next door at temple tree in the private tv room!Their recommended activities and restaurants were spot on and they helped booking all of these and taxis within minutes. Complimentary cocktails with sunset is a great way to relax or mix with other guests while enjoying the view.
It is about a 15min walk to cenang beach, but taxis are cheap enough not to walk in the heat.
Only downside was the planes doing their training runs before the air show and if you don't like cats as there are quite a few around but did not bother us. They do a good job with the cat and dog sanctuary next door as well.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    64
    15
    16
    10
See reviews for
80
227
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of my favorite getaways in the world I have stayed here many times

For beautiful surroundings nice people and out of the ordinary very comfortable lodging this is the place. Gorgeous each one with its individual character and style old malay houses surround a infinity pool and cosy restaurant with great food and even better staff

Do stay here if;
-You like very comfortable but different types of stays and are not looking for a cream and white box like five star hotel

-You love animals (remember this is an animal sanctuary and thanks to the hotel sponsored refuge not far from the grounds they take care of spaying and caring for lots of wonderful cats which you can either participate in our not)

-You enjoy quality but relaxed surroundings and cool things like outdoor showers, gorgeous views and quiet

-You are indeed looking for a different type of getaway and enjoy having the luxury of hand picked gorgeous old houses lovingly decorated and each one so very different

A great place for a quiet getaway, with children or to put on your socially responsible shoes and go take a dog for a walk (or not)

I love it here and am so happy to see that quality and beauty can also be shared with social responsibility caring and good things

Room Tip: If you are not fond of cats this is not a good option for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

5 mins drive from the airport, car rental is a good idea in Langkawi, in fact a must. In Langkawi, people drive really slow as majority are tourists trying to decide either to turn left or right. Bon Ton is easy to locate during the day time and located in Pantai Cenang area where most of the restaurants and backpackers hostel are located in the same stretch of road.

There are parking spaces right in front of the village resort but will have a few bird droppings on the car. It is a village resort. The staffs are friendly. It is a hut style that my grandmother used to stay in so I know what to expect and to do. My partner who never stay or see those hut style village resort is fascinated at the concept. I wrote an email to them saying that I am afraid of cockroaches and they promptly acknowledges that they will place in more lemongrass leaves around the hut.

I stayed in Yellow Orchid Villa for one night. Nice cold mocktail welcome drink was served. It is a wooden hut facing a swamp (no crocodiles for sure). Please spray the insect repellant immediately once you sat down for the drink as the whole area is very green and in tropical countries like that, mosquitoes are inevitable. The room is to our expectation. They have this Guerilla War basket which contained insect repellant, mosquitoes disc, insect spray etc. Please familiarise with all this stuff as it is useful. In fact, they are a few things in the room that is quite fascinating and thoughtful for this village resort concept that my grandparents always have in the wooden house. Everything is clean and nothing disgusting at all. There is this cat who always wait outside our house and tried to jump in when we open the door but the cat never scratch or makes any noise at all.

The bathroom is amazing...which place in the world that you can bath in the wooden tub and look at the stars. The bathroom amenity is top class, natural made soap, Thann (more exclusive than Crabtree and Evelyn brand) body lotion, local Gamat oil which is really good for such an environment and there is a note for you to take the oil with you, the towels is clean.

The breakfast jams is from Bonne Maman (5 star hotel frequent brand), high quality bread, full set of coffee and tea set (even a choice for tea bags or tea leafs ! ) etc. One thing that I would recommend here is that the plates and cutleries and glasses have to be covered in old style net too to prevent the geckos having droppings in it. The old village style used to place all their chinaware is a wooden net closet and this is one missed point for this village resort concept.

TV is not working and we didnt ask for help as it is for one night stay only. The lightings concept in the room is organized too. Bed is too soft and as my partner have back pain, it is not that good for his back. Another recommendation is that the closet have to be in the net compartment too as geckos will find their way in it. To remember to zip the luggage as insects tend to crawl into dark spaces. To close the net around the bed as early as 4pm and check the bed like my grandmother always did before going to sleep, you dont want any surprises.

Do try the restaurant there as it served both Asian and Western style food and it taste so good. He wanted to come back here if he dont have any back pain the next time. We stayed in another 5 star resort the next day and he didnt enjoy it a bit but ironically, he got bitten by mosquitoes there and not in the Bon Ton. Bon Ton is not crowded at all and provide a romantic setting if you dont mind all the troubles of ensuring the geckos are out of the way, and seeing a few tropical insects such as lizards and spiders. They are afraid of humans as much as we are afraid of them. The food is so good in Bon Ton that my partner keep talking about it even though we were having a champagne breakfast facing the Andaman Sea in the five star resort. It is that personal touch in Bon Ton that will makes us going back there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denarau Island, Fiji
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful hotel with excellent staff and very welcoming atmosphere. All the houses were beautifully decorated and very well equipped. Overall our stay at this hotel was a fantastic experience and for sure we will back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa in February for a couple of night. The welcome by staff is exceptional - free drink on arrival and we chose the beer. Small resort near airport but this is not heathrow or JFK so minimum impact of jets landing and taking off.

The villa was spacious and well kitted out. Be prepared for insects and bugs to see extent - we also had a frog in our room one night. There are numerous cats as other reviews have shown but in our view this added to the charm and character of the location.

Sleeping at first can be a little strange - nets are put around the beds and you need to make sure the room is well sprayed for mossies. Once you get used to it though it is extremely relaxing and enjoyable.

Each night breakfast is placed in the room. We found this to be more than adequate.

Location is good near the bras and restaurants but not too close. We eat in the hotel one night and the food was great so it makes sense to eat in at least once.

Only down side for us was that the pool was not great - too small for the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acg1960, Owner at Bon Ton Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments. Regarding the pool, i suppose we feel that as we offer three pools between Bon Ton and Temple Tree, that this generally offers a good choice of sunbathing and swimming options for our guests.............

We are glad in general you enjoyed your stay with us

Regards'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent lots of time researching our trip to Langkawi as we normally stay at 5 star boutique establishments on our many holidays and shy away from 200 room concrete jungles. For this part of our trip we were looking for a small, boutique, luxurious hotel and from the many reviews on Trip Advisor, the many articles and also the appearance in Mr and Mrs Smith we felt that Bon Ton looked right up our street. We were looking for an authentic Malaysian experience and even felt the fact this place is run to support cats and dogs a real worthy one ( we are both big animal lovers). Unfortunately, we made a rather big mistake........before I start this review in earnest, given the warmth of the staff and the kindness of the owner, I must highlight that i have thought about how to position this review for over 2 weeks. Initially I thought I wouldn't bother with a review, however the more I think about how one sided the reviews are on Bon Ton and how hard one must work to earn funds to travel these days, I have decided this review is needed.......as I said we researched this place before booking. I have to say that the overall concept is a fabulous one. However the reality of staying in original wooden shacks is very different than the experience displayed on the website. We booked the Yellow Orchid room for 10 nights. On arriving, we were greeted with the lovely complimentary pineapple and mint drink and by Shah, who is an absolute star! We were also told immediately by the owner that the room booked was very small and she would try and find us a bigger room as we were staying for such a long time. Wow, we thought, very welcoming, very generous - we are going to like it here! This, may I add, was before we had been shown to our room. The fact them rooms are original Malaysian houses means that they are " rustic". The floorboards do not meet, the wooden walls do not meet, the thatched roof has no protection - all of this led to. Visits from the most enormous roaches we have ever seen ( we have spent years in Africa and Asia and are not unaccustomed to nature just not so close up!). What is not shown on the website is the fact that the loo and shower are both outside. At 4am when you cannot sleep due to the tip tap of roaches, the scratching of insects in the roof, the constant flow of cars and bikes over the gravel behind the room, you need to visit the loo. When exiting the rickety door to take a pee alfresco one is then faced by spiders and geckos........the first night was the worst nights sleep ever! The next day we were kindly offered the Chinese House at the sister hotel Temple Tree, just next door. We wandered over, took a look, it was certainly bigger than the Yellow Orchid, much bigger and had a hard top roof with neighbours above us. Must be much better we thought so accepted the kind offer. Regardless of size and location an antique wooden house is an antique wooden house with gaps in the floors and the walls. The following night we were visited by many bats which freaked even my husband out (a big chap who doesn't scare easily!). We reported the incident the next day and mesh was put up around the top of our bedroom. But this is the point and in hindsight my biggest issues with both establishments - there is little attention to detail, things are done so they are done, but with little thought and finesse. The mesh was just nailed to the ceiling, looked terrible and didn't solve the problem that bats could get in through any other room. After two sleepless nights, barking dogs, very sad looking cats wandering in and out, passing tourists just wandering into our house without invite - observed from the pool right in front (old sun beds, mattresses scratched by the cats.......), we had enough, hired a car and went exploring for new options. Unfortunately it was Chinese New Year and all hotels were overflowing. We sat out four days and really made an effort to try and love the concept and the rustic vibe of the accommodation. Also the location at Pantai Cenang is terrible (think Blackpool with sun....). We just weren't sleeping and we becoming more and more miserable! What did compensate was the amazing food, service and staff at both venues. The staff cannot be praised highly enough for their great service, big smiles and the best food ever! Feeling very guilty because of this fact, we broke the news regarding our intention to cut our trip short and left after 5 days. I am sure this rustic feel, outdoor living, breakfast left over night in an old fridge works well for the majority of reviewers, however it turns out we love 5 star boutique with plenty of frills. So sorry Bon Ton and Temple Tree, we really wanted to love you, but wish you the very, very best as your cause is truly amazing, just not a place for us!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acg1960, Owner at Bon Ton Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thankyou for your review- and we are truly sorry you felt that neither resort was for you. i think in fairness that as we dont market ourselves as a typical, normal corporate style property, and that we offer accommodation in what is a living museum, we are indeed lucky that many people that come to stay with us realise that the houses are wooden, very authentic and may well creak or are not perfectly finished as would be a concrete style building. this for many is the reall attraction of the resorts, coupled with good food and wonderful staff, we offer a very relaxing experience. We do also attract many people who stay with us time and time again, and these type of people also then go to stay on a beach for a few nights afterwards. The perfect combination.

We appreciate your comments and I will certainly to see where we can improve our services for our guests

Thankyou sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel, for 5 nights, from the 1st until the 6th of September 2012
The hotel is around 15 minutes away from to the airport. Upon arrival the hotel staff greeted us with their specialty welcome drink, the PMT (Pineapple, Mint, Tea) that my husband got addicted to very quickly…

Our stay was in the “Palm Villa” which had a lovely view of the pool and the lush greenery extending around the grounds, with magnificently tall coconut palm trees, it was quite picturesque and beautiful! The villa itself was quite roomy, with a high ceiling, and I simply loved the huge wooden bathtub. The decor was very pleasant and romantic, and I loved the natural soaps made locally from brown rice.

However, if you’re addicted to TV you might not like it much, although there was a TV in the villa, it only had a DVD player and there was no satellite receiver, but they had a good collection of DVD’s to borrow for free at the reception.

The villa had a few ceiling fans and one AC that was placed above the bed, which was a comforting thing on some humid nights, but the ceiling fans would have been enough, unless your partner hates them (which was what happened in my case)

The only things I didn’t like, was the fact that there were so many geckos and mosquitoes around, but seeing it was a tropical island I shouldn’t have been very surprised honestly.
But there was a mosquito net around the bed along with mosquito repellents and there was a nice little gift in the room, which was a locally made natural mosquito balm, which works as a repellent and a helpful after-bite soother.

At night it’s gets quite dark outside, but the hotel premises is secure with a night guard patrolling the area, and there is a flashlight provided in the villa.

The hotel is located close to a cat shelter, and if you're an animal lover you would really enjoy this, and since I am a huge cat lover, I was in heaven!

The staff were very friendly and helpful and they went to extra lengths to accommodate my food allergies.

Inside the villa is a small fridge, where the staff would restock daily with fresh orange juice, milk and a selection of bread and yoghurts.

Their restaurant is quite nice and I had some of the best meals of my entire trip there!

If you love animals and nature and don’t mind the geckos and Mosquitoes
I highly recommend this place and we would definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bon Ton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Ton Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bon Ton Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute drive from the airport and 5-minute drive from the main beach of Pantai Cenang, Bon Ton is convenient yet secluded. Built within the grounds of a 100-year-old coconut plantation, our eight villas are centered around a pool/jacuzzi and front onto a lotus lagoon. Exclusive and private, all villas are individually designed and equipped with air conditioning & ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bon Ton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi
Bon Ton Langkawi
Bon Ton Resort Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Ton Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.