We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Mar, Langkawi to your Saves list
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What do you want in a holiday, for me it's fantastic customer service in a small friendly hotel

Casa del mar does it for me plus many other things too

From the moment we checked in when mizzi took us into the air conditioned library with a drink and cold towel to the last night having a meal on the beach. All was excellent

Breakfast was great excellent mix of Asian, western, breads fruits cereals..... Couldn't ask for anything more to be honest

Right on the beach with the rooms centred around the pool and the bar
Pre dinner drinks are a must at the bar, spin the wheel for happy hour if you wish, drinks are cheap anyway so all good
Special mention to Mood, Murphy, Halim and Ian all who made nights fun and looked after us at the bar and restaurant

We used the spa, it was very nice and relaxing after travelling from uk

Managers evening was a nice touch also, got the guests together for drinks and a chat

Restaurants in town are all good, we tried yellow cafe, champra champra, orchid ria, brasserie, fat Cupid all were good, prices varied a little but never had a bad meal
The cliff is a nice place for a drink, restaurant looked good but didn't try it. To be honest you won't get better than the hotel restaurant though

We rented a scooter across the road for RM 30 per day and toured the island. Cable car is worth a look beach near the 4 seasons was amazing if you like beaches, the marina past the Sheraton also worth a look too for nice bars n restaurants

We were here for 10 days, seemed
Like most people were just here for 3-5 days typically
We stayed in the Bambu room above the bar area. Nice touches of turn down service every day with scented book mark and weather forecast, biscuits tea coffee all free

Overall, We have stayed in many hotels around the world and for attentiveness, homely feel, quality of food and service this place does beat them all

Patrick and your team keep doing what your doing you all made this holiday memorable. We will be back some day:)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Ballsoutintop,

From the crews at Casa del Mar Langkawi, a heartfelt thank you for sharing your great reviews and experiences during your recent with us. We are truly glad that you enjoyed our rendered hospitality and we are heartened to receive your compliments mentioning great works by our crews, in which I'm proudly share with them.

Once again, thank you for this fantastic write-up, and best wishes in return from all of us ,

With our warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    171
    32
    13
    11
See reviews for
119
1,192
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We recently spent 10 days at Casa Del Mar, a beautiful hotel in a amazing location, from arriving at the Hotel where we were greeted with welcoming drinks, we were taken to our suite, what a location, we were about 6 steps of the beach.
All of the reception staff were great at all times, the room service was also spot on, a nice touch when we received water and fruit, while we were on the Beach or beside the pool,this was really a great service.
The only downfalls of Casa Del Mar was we thought the breakfast was all about the eggs, to many variations of egg dishes, the buffet was nice the bread was great, but after about 4 days we were over the breakfasts.
The main downfall is the restaurant they think that its fine dining, but really it is some way off it,
We only Dined 3 nights in the resort, and on 2 occasions my wife sent her food back, first off all on the first night it was pretty decent , on the second occasion her Salmon was way over cooked, and to be honest when she received the second one it was only marginally better.
The final night we thought we will give it one more try, once again my wife asked for Steak medium, when it arrived it was really rare, and once again had to go back, mine was cooked pretty well, just rare as i like it.
But then it was tough which for that cut of meat it should not be, the restaurant is in a beautiful location, but more attention should be paid to the food than the location, the pool bar is also ok but they do not do enough to get guests to drink there, the bar staff are very reluctant to spin the wheel, and with the price of Alcohol on the Island Drinks are really expensive, so i would suggest get rid of the wheel put some background music on and lower the price of drinks, on the other hand as i stated the Hotel is good and we do hope to return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear James F,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for recent patronage and reviews of our lil' home by the sea. Your compliments and highest recommendation of our Resort is much appreciated, and I'm proudly share with our crews here.

Further to that, we assures you that we have taken note of your valid comments in regards to the foods and 'lucky hour' at our Pool bar. I'll have discussion with our team and make necessary adjustment for betterment.

Once again, we thank you and we hope you'll visit us again soon,

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Casa Del Mar for four nights at the beginning of July in a beachfront bungalow.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly and given a drink and I was kindly given a bouquet of flowers. Once we had checked in they gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us to our room along with showing us all the facilities in the bedroom.
There were fresh cookies and chocolates on the bed along with a welcome message from the spa which was very nice and the room was clean and nicely decorated with access to the beach a metre from the door.
We loved the pool at Casa and also the beach was nice although we had been spoilt by the Datai bay before our stay here. On other reviews it said the beach was noisy and there were a few cars and people etc but the beach was really wide so we hardly noticed it and I wouldn't let this put you off.
We were looking forward to the happy hour at the bar in the evenings but unfortunately the staff didn't encourage the 'spin the wheel' for a free drink and we actually had to ask for this and tell other guests so I think that maybe a better happy hour would just be cheaper drinks. Having said that the cocktails were very nice and there was a lot of choice for a reasonable price.
The food at lunchtime was really good quality and price and we enjoyed a meal on the beach at the restaurant one evening which was a lovely setting. Also breakfast was very nice, i especially enjoyed the fruit station.
Most evenings we ate out and you can get quite cheap meals at the local restaurants which we enjoyed.
Overall we did have a great stay at Casa but unfortunately a few things let it down during our stay; we only got the turndown service on our first night which was lovely but it didn't happen again, we found the ice water was served to the guests everywhere but when we used the sun beds at the beach we were forgotten about for fruit and ice lollies and overall I have to say I was expecting 5 star so maybe I had too high expectations.
On the plus side the staff were friendly, we enjoyed the managers drinks meet and greet, the hotel is clean, the spa was lovely and we had a nice stay and would recommend it to others but would just like the hotel to keep up the extra touches as this is what makes Casa so special and would have made our stay perfect if it was consistent.
(Also we would recommend the jet ski tour the hotel uses it was a great afternoon out)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Loopyrayray1987,

With first instance, thank you for chosen Casa del Mar Langkawi to spend your special occasion of honeymoon with us. We are delighted that both of you enjoyed your stay with us and again, thank you for sharing with us your experiences and recommendation of our lil' home as well.

Having said, please accept our apologies for the shortfalls as mentioned, in regards to the lucky hours and servicing at our Pool Bar as well as daily turn-down service for your room. I've had discussion with our crews on ensuring these consistency are met and our valued guests are informed further.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback, and we hope we will see both of you again on your anniversary celebration in near future.

With our warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent ten relaxing days at Casa del Mar and had a great time. The beach is beatiful and the restaurant at Casa del Mar serves delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel staff is very friendly and the location is perfect with walking distance to other restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Langkawi.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Anders B,

Thank you for your fantastic reviews of our lil' home, and we are truly glad that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. Your compliments and recommendation is much appreciated from all of us at Casa del Mar.

Once again, thank you and looking forward to welcome all of you to our lil' home by the sea again soon.

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Although this region is in it's infancy with the bigger hotels' the staff are friendly and really try hard. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the markets, restaurants and island tour boats. The hotel is designed as a big courtyard centred around the pool which unfortunately gives an echo effect to all surrounding rooms, so if there are noisy children and uncaring adults using the pol at 7:00am everybody knows! Also try to get a room close to the entrance away from the local village that the hotel backs onto as it can be a bit noisy, roosters etc.
It was my Birthday while we were there and they even surprised me with a cake.
One big problem eas that there were no fridges in the rooms but they did supply ice buckets one request.

Room Tip: One away from the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sharkies67,

We thank you for your recent patronage of our lil' home, and your feedback and reviews are much appreciated. Please accept our apologies as we do not provide fridges, however inroom minibar is available and complimentary ice cubes & bucket is upon request.

Once again, thank you and best wishes from all of us,

Patrick Ng
Rresort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We returned to this hotel after 4 years. We loved it the first time, and we loved it again. Lots has already been said about the beautiful beach, the delicious food, the glorious pool and the ideal location for local shopping and restaurants, with which we fully agree. The rooms are clean, comfortable and attention is paid to detail- turning down service, ice in ice bucket, after our first night request, and personal attention from staff. We particularly enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, and the bar staff were especially pleasant. Being a smaller hotel, it felt more intimate, and most of the guests chatted to each other. I hope we can return again in the next few years. Carry on doing what you are doing CDM !

Room Tip: "Aguilar" was our room- excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear SLP98,

Thank you for your great reviews and again, welcome back to your lil' home by the sea! We are truly glad that both of you had a memorable stay with us again.

Once again, a big thank you for being our loyal fans and we hope we'll see both of you again soon.

With warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Look no further as you have found THE right place to stay in Langkawi! We have just spent five amazing, relaxing and very special days at CDM. From picking us up at the airport to taking us back, every one of the CDM team did everything they could to make our stay such a memorable experience.
Rooms overlooking the pool and the beach, wonderful breakfast and dinner and a perfect location - what can be better than that? Well, staff that not only look after you - but are also so friendly - that's how!! Thank you to the whole team!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Dodgyrobins,

Thank you for your fantastic reviews and we are truly glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your kind words and recommendation is much appreciated.

Once again, a big thank you from all of us at Casa del Mar for your patronage and our best wishes to you and family,

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.