We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise by the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Paradise by the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just arrived home after spending 7 nights at Casa Del Mar in late June. We were picked up from the airport and driven to the hotel. Our first impressions of Casa Del Mar from the road did not inspire us with confidence however upon walking through the front door we were very pleasantly surprised. What sets CDM apart from its competitors (of which there are many) is their attention to detail and strong focus on customer service. We encountered a few hiccups due the changeover of staff (5 experienced staff departed and a number of new recruits commenced) however we are confident these issues will soon be addressed as these staff gain more confidence and experience. The attention to detail goes above and beyond that which is normally provided by a hotel and includes the delivery of a jug of iced water to your deck chair, fresh fruit skewers delivered at lunchtime, iced fruit pops, a complimentary bottle of wine delivered to your room and a 'can do' attitude by the staff. Meals are cooked to demand, including breakfast, and thankfully there was not a Bain-Marie in sight. Full marks to Tom and the CDM employees..........you certainly made our stay an extremely pleasant one and if we return to Langkawi sometime in the future you will most certainly be at the top of our list of places to stay!

Room Tip: Beach suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guests

I hope this finds you well and that you had a safe and relaxing trip back home.

I cannot start to thank you enough for the wonderful review you have just written.

I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your holidays on our beautiful island and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.
All your comments and words of encouragement will inspire us to continue our effort for service excellence.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Casa del Mar in the future.

Warm regards
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,311
    158
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
105
1125
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Everything about the resort was great but Langkawi for me was not a perfect honeymoon spot as it was dead at nights and the beach could have been more beautiful. I was expecting turcoise blue water and white sand, which was not the case. Have seen better beaches. But a good resort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your impressions on our page, we are delighted to read you had a great time with us. I will make sure this is shared with the team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again one day to Langkawi.

Warm regards from all of us

Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Casa Del Mar for 4 nights in June and loved every minute of it! Our choice to stay here was based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

We had pre-arranged our airport pick-up with the hotel but after our flight was about 2-3 hours delayed I was pleasantly surprised to find a hotel representative waiting for us. At the hotel we were welcomed by cold towels and a refreshing drink. Our room - Agung - was nicely appointed. I loved the little sitting area in our "front yard" and the vicinity to the beach. You could literally walk out the door and be on the beach in 5 steps and there were lots of beach chairs and umbrellas available. I loved coming back to the room every night to the fresh scent of mint - they would set up a small scented lamp during turndown service.

We had dinner on the beach on the first night and I would highly recommend it. Very romantic! We had the 3-course meal including the Malaysian tasting platter and it was a lot of food. The drink selection at the bar was great as well.

Breakfast had some good made to order options - the service was a bit inconsistent depending on who was on duty but nothing to worry about overall.

If you want to explore the island, I would recommend you ask the front desk staff to request a driver for you. They can set this up with one of the local taxi companies and they found us a great English speaking driver (Abdul). We told him that this was my first time in Asia and he made sure I saw everything Langkawi had to offer from picturesque rubber tree plantations to durian trees and monkeys.

Some tips:
- Don't hesitate to venture into the town for some dining options. The Almaz restaurant across the street offers some great options for lunch and the Ramli restaurant down the road allows you to blend in with the locals.
- For some reason the hot water tap in the hotel is freakishly hot and my husband accidentally burned his arm. So be careful, particularly if you're travelling with children.
- We continued our trip to Krabi and there is a little travel agency up the street that can arrange everything (ferry, bus etc) for you.

Room Tip: I recommend the Casa Beachfront Studio suites - literally steps from the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guests


Greetings from sunny Langkawi! I hope this finds you well and thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your recent stay with us!

I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful review you have just written.

I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your holidays on our beautiful island and surely hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back here sometime soon.

Warm regards from all of us
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 11 nights and we could have stayed longer! Right from the start the service was superb! By the 2nd day we felt like regulars because the staff called us by our names! The service was excellent and staff so polite and mannerly! By the time we were leaving you had made some friends (pat, jack sparrow)!
As a young couple we wanted somewhere obviously nice and romantic but also somewhere were there was a bit off life!this was ideal as a short walk down the beach we could chill in the local bars by the beach and even further on one night to sunbar(although) that nite was a bit hazy!
We met up with a few young couples who had stayed at a couple of other 5 star hotels on the island who said that the were very nice but they felt isolated away from it all! So it reall depends what you want but as a young couple we loved the casa del mar and are already planning a wedding anniversary sometime!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friend and I visited Casa Del Mar for 3 nights in June and enjoyed every minute of it! The resort staff suggested many wonderful tours, our favourites were the jet ski safari and the sunset cruise. The staff were friendly and the facilities were fantastic! We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Casa del Mar is a fantastic hotel!!
Great food and beautiful, friendly,caring staff, who were always keen on making you happy.
Nice little touches make this such a great boutique hotel, such as iced water, fresh fruit and cold face towels delivered to you as you laze by the pool or beach as well as fresh (& delicious) fruit provided in rooms daily.
We can't fault this hotel and would definately recommend a stay here if in Langkawi!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Casa del Mar for 5 nights in June, 2013. Everything about the stay was excellent, with the most impressive being the excellent food from the restaurant "La Sal" and the amazingly friendly service. We appreciated the relaxed but attentive staff members who were very approachable and happy for a chat.
We would definately recommend Casa del Mar for a stay in Langkawi!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.