We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven by the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heaven by the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife during our honeymoon for two nights, I can't find words to prescribe how enjoyable it was. From the check in through to check out it is just magnificent and professional. Days that I'll never forget ever. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,325
    160
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
107
1134
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is beautiful resort, excellent service, friendly staff, very accommodating, they clean your room twice a day, and the way they set a romantic dinner, it was really great! We had a wonderful vacation here with my partner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Casa del Mar for four nights as part of our honeymoon trip in June 2013 and loved it! From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome which continued during our time there.

We booked a beach front studio suite which was about 3 meters away from the beautiful sandy beach. The room was nice, with a seating/lounge area and a large bathroom. There were also good amenities in the room too - snacks and drinks etc.

Breakfast was delicious, there is a buffet style selection and a menu to choose from too. The restaurant also serves lunch and dinner which was particularly good - get it delivered to your sunlounger with a cocktail - perfect!

The hotel sits on a great street that is full of excellent local places to eat, we had some delicious meals for about £3 pp and it's nice for a short stroll in the evenings too. During our stay we hired a scooter (from opposite the hotel entrance) and cruised around - definitely the best way to see the island.

All in all a wonderful stay - we really didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very friendly staff, very good restaurant/food available for room service and lovely rooms/overall grounds. Highly recommend a stay here if in Langkawi. Be sure to research into where you wish to visit whilst on the island as it's quite large in area. i.e. Potentially lengthy taxi rides if you don't research accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Casa del Mar is a real excellent place. I have been there twice. The room and bathroom are big and comfortable. The location is excellent (despite my review concerning Cenang Beach). The service is professional and food is good. But the very Best of CDM is the staff, very friendly and always helpful. SoI don't really understand a few negative comments I read about the staff. But OK everybody has a different perception of the meaning of friendly, which for me is a different than servile.

Room Tip: Beachfront Studio are perfect for couples, quite and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guests,


Thank you for spending the time to write this long review and sharing such wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. We are delighted you loved it!

We are even more thankful when considering you came to visit us all the way from Canada!!

We hope you had a safe trip back home and hope we will have the pleasure to see you again in the future!

Warm regards
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't going to write a review but then I just read supertooth's and felt compelled to. The reviewer says they are not a highly demanding westerner ? Ha! Poppycock! They clearly are. They clearly just like to moan about ridiculous small things that see so insignificant it's embarrassing they're a fellow westerner! So, let's be clear; this hotel is AMAZING. I too, just like longtooth, have travelled all over the world (including Thailand twice in some pretty nice resorts) and Casa Del Mar is probably the best hotel I have had the pleasure of staying in! I don't know what this reviewer is on - maybe they think they are royalty but I don't see how anything could be better. Rooms are gorgeous and clean - and big. You get a jar of cookies and nuts and flip flops and beach bags. You get water and aromatherapy spray for your face. The beds are huge and comfy and rooms kept very cool.
The staff are absolutely delightful! So happy and friendly and will do anything for you. The location is dreamy, the sunbeds beyond comfy and you are regularly served iced water, fruit, cold towels and lollipops!
The breakfast is INCREDIBLE. There is a wonderful fresh fruit station where you choose from an array of local fruit and it is cut up for you and brought to your table. The breakfast menu has some really well thought out and beautifully cooked dishes - egg white omlette, eggs florintine, waffles, cooked breakfasts - all beautifully cooked and very tasty. There is even a Bloody Mary station!
The gym is good enough for a bit of exercise and the pool is lovely and never busy. The towels are big and fluffy and the toiletries in the bedroom are gorgeous.
I was there for 3 days and never had a problem with wifi and managed to sit on the beach bed every day and do 'business' quite adequately. The evening restaurant food is amazing: melt in your mouth steak and the Malaysian platter so lovely. We are actually at the moment staying in the Bejaya in another part of the island and far prefer Casa Del Mar - we went back there for dinner last night and took our friends with us who had met us here for the weekend.

Location is fab. The beach is lovely. Such white powdery sand and a great selection of little bars and cafe's up the road (we loved Babylon and Raffis for absolute bargain food and drinks!)

I think the reviewer is way too fussy. I believe this place offers incredible value for money - I would expect to pay more.

So go. It rocks.

We'll be going back one day I hope.



  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this boutique hotel. It was nice to be treated like a valued customer. The hotel is intimate but private as well. Hand towels in the public bathroom instead of paper or dryers. That is the mark of a quality hotel. Food, beverage and service fantastic. Rooms are well appointed. You are in town do can walk to the local restaurants to savour the food as well. Will only be staying hear again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.