We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, service, service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar, Langkawi to your Saves list
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Service, service, service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Other hotels could learn a thing or 2 about service in this hotel. It has about 30 odd rooms so it's nice and intimate and you get to know the staff and vice versa after a while. Rooms are sizeable & it's nice to look out from your room to the pool & beach.

It's the small touches, they constantly give you small water bottles for the room, jugs of water and fruit by the pool, and the bits of fruit while you lay pool side. We never had any issues with getting a sun lounger.

Breakfast is freshly made to order (bar the breads, cereal and yogurt) not the buffet type breakfast.

The hotel is located close to the restaurants, stalls and everything you need. If it gets too hot and you take a taxi back from the other end of Cenang it only cost 6 ringgits and taxis are everywhere, so it's never an issue to get around. If you feel up to it, they have 5 bikes which you can borrow to go exploring, I dont believe there is a cost to do this.

The only negative is that you can sometimes hear people staying in th room above.

Well done CDM, while the beach isnt as nice as Redang, you have made our holiday to Langkawi.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    167
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
112
1,166
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
468 reviews 468 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had planned a trip to Sabah, Malaysia for March 2013. But one week before our departure date we got information about unpleasantness with intruders from The Phillipines and the combat with the Malaysian army. Furthermore, the Dutch government issued a negative advice for precisely the area we planned to stay. So, at this short notice, which alternative pops into your mind ? Of course, Casa del Mar Langkawi. But wait, Casa del Mar is so small and exclusive, it is always fully booked. However, through E-mails and telephone conversations with the front desk I discovered, that by twice room hopping I could secure an eight days stay. Through this room hopping I can review and compare the different rooms in Casa del Mar. We stayed in the "Beachfront Studio Suite" for two days, the "Seaview Studio Suite" for five days and the "Seaview Deluxe Suite" for one day. The "Beachfront Suite" and the "Seaview Suite" are both on the ground floor, the difference is, that the "Beachfront Suite" steps right onto the beach, while with the "Seaview Suite" you have to cross the pool area to reach the beach. The accommodation itself is almost comparable, if you realize that all ground floor accommodations have small differences in dimensions and layout. With the "Seaview Deluxe Suite" you buy space. It is a small apartment in its own right without a kitchen of course. The suite consists of a spacious living room, bedroom and bathroom. A flat screen television screen is available in the living room as well as in the bedroom. However, it is impossible to watch television from the left hand side of the for poster bed, because the fixed draperies are blocking the view. This suite is on the first floor with two balconies overlooking the beach. The downside of the layout is, that the entrance of the suite is at the street side, reached by steps. If you want to go to the beach you have to go down to the street and have to cross the hotel lobby. Continuing about television sets, every room (suite) has a modern high quality Panasonic flat screen television, accepting also mass storage devices through USB and SD-card slot. So you can insert the SD-card from your camera to watch your pictures on the big screen. (Works like a dream) Also you can bring your own movies on external hard disk or USB stick to play on the television. I don't know the maximum storage size that is accepted on USB. A 1000 GB hard disk was not recognized, but a 16 GB USB stick worked OK. The media player accepts at least .avi and .mp4 files, tested and worked OK. Furthermore, besides the sheer luxury of the stay at Casa del Mar, the sunset dinner on the front row on the beach is for the happy few in this world, who have stayed actually at Casa del Mar. The manager Tom, with Fauzi and Robert and the staff have made Casa del Mar into a small section of paradise on earth. Because I value Casa del Mar highly, I am always curious about reviews on TripAdvisor less than four points. One review drew my attention, because the reviewer preferred the Danna to Casa del Mar. I can't disagree more for the following reason: Some time ago we went to Telaga Harbor to dine at Privilege restaurant. We were a bit early, so we decided to stroll to the Danna Resort next to Telaga Harbor to look the resort over. When we arrived at the beach, loud irritating music was coming from the beach bar, presumably for the entertainment of the staff. I think what disqualifies a beach resort, is the use of electronic amplified sounds on the beach. On the beach you want to listen to the surf and the birds and relax. If someone on the beach wants to listen to music then now in 2013 every smart phone, e-reader or tablet contains mp3 player software and ear phones are also no problem. So there is no need for irritating music in the beach bar. Casa del Mar will always be my first choice because of the complete detachment to the hectic "outside world".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had two nights here, in a first floor beach front villa, which was way too short but was a much welcome break over the weekend. It was mere minutes away from the airport. The villa was gorgeous and the place was very cosy with good service throughout. Breakfast was simple and charming and we spent most of our time relaxing in front of the beach, which was beautiful. Left less frazzled and refreshed for a brand new week ahead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Casa del Mar as it was voted the best in Langkawi, Malaysia.

Management was kind and upgraded us to a beach front villa. While the room was spacious, the furniture and fittings were a bit tired and I sneezed non stop the minute I stepped into the room till breakfast the next morning. We found a dead rat in the garden right in front of our unit on our way to breakfast. Management was very apologetic and quickly upgraded us to a first floor suite in the new(er) wing.

We liked the second room very much. It was cleaner and my sinus stopped giving me problems. The balcony came with a hammock which I found useful. The furniture, bed, mattresses, towels etc seem much cleaner and newer somehow compared to our first room. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc are available in ample supply.

The breakfast was quite yummy, served with iLLY coffee. The dinner was ok but not warm enough, the serving portions, generous.

Overall, the place is not bad and the service is pretty good. The employees are rather helpful and friendly and management was most understanding and apologetic after the pest incident. In fact the top manager took pains to explain to us that a nearby facility had shut without cleaning and clearing out properly, hence the incidence of pests. He was most reasonable, patient and thoughtful I must say. I think the service more than made up for the unexpected first day experience.

The property is smallish but charming. The location is great for it is just a few minutes walk to the restaurants and shops along the road. Oh, the spa is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Casa del Mar, which was far too short a time in our opinion! As so many have already said, this hotel has something wonderful about it. From the moment of arrival you are made to feel like a valued guest; we were offered some delicious drinks and given a brief tour of the hotel, and then escorted to our room. Upon arrival in the room we noticed that there was a technical problem with the air conditioning. Maintenance was up within 5 minutes, and the problem was fixed in 10.

The rooms: we spent our first two nights in one of the standard rooms, which is on the first floor. The decoration is much, much nicer in reality than in the photos. The room's balcony was very large, and offered a stunning view of the beach and ocean, really lovely to sit out for a bit in the evenings before dinner and soak in the surroundings. The room and bathroom were clean and pleasantly furnished; I particularly loved the massive rain shower and the amenities which I believe are made in the spa? Our last night was spent in one of the pool side rooms; WOW! This room was larger than the other but furnished in the same manner. If you can afford the extra for a pool side room, please do go for it; the feeling of walking out of your door in the morning and jumping straight into a lovely swimming pool is fantastic.

Everyone has mentioned the many little touches, such as freshly baked cookies to go with your coffee. We also loved the little bottle of essential oil cooling spray left with our beach towels. The DVD rental library is a nice idea; given that the town is pretty quiet compared to other places, it was nice to be able to relax with a movie after dinner for a night or two. It's unusual touches like these which really make this hotel stand out from the rest.

Breakfast is very good, with a small selection of basic buffet items and an a la carte menu for fresh hot meals. The eggs florentine were fabulous, everything was delicious and freshly prepared. The lunch menu is very nice too, with a good choice of light meals and sandwiches. There was an afternoon tea option available which we didn't try, but it looked to be excellent value. Food and drink prices in general are very reasonable (comparable to a cheaper hotel we stayed at on our last trip, which is outstanding really considering you get such lovely meals and drinks), and of course you always have the town outside the front door should you wish to wander out for lunch. The cocktail menu at CDM was great too, definitely several unusual drinks to try!

We dined in the beach restaurant for two nights, and were very happy having done so. The menu is quite compact but there is something for everyone, and the food is (as you may have guessed by now!) excellent. It's clear that the hotel has an excellent chef on board who takes produce sourcing seriously. Hotel food can so often be bland and dreary, but this restaurant really holds its own.

Service: out of this world, seriously. We live in a city with many, many 5* hotels, and I always thought the service at home was the best you could get until we went to CDM. The staff are of course professional to the nth degree, but they are also friendly and genuinely warm. Everyone was happy and smiling (a good reflection on management and how they treat their employees), and always ready to help. The gentleman who brought around iced peppermint towels and ice water on the beach; the bar staff (so chatty and friendly!); the waiters, all were just lovely.

We had one slight issue one morning at breakfast due to a mis-communication, and the gentleman who was serving us approached me personally later that day to speak with me about it. He was truly considerate, and I was extremely impressed by this. That evening the F&B manager also sought us out to check that we were not unhappy with anything. This level of care and attention to individual guests was really fantastic, and something that a 500 room 5* hotel can never, ever replicate.

The spa: I had a treatment in the spa which I loved (body wrap and massage). It is great value, and the massage was perfect with consistent pressure (the therapist checked various levels of pressure until she got the right one for me). The only feedback I have other than "amazing!" is that, due to the layout, and possibly the doors, the treatment room seemed to easily absorb noise from outside in the main spa reception. As it's quite a quiet place anyway it didn't really matter, but any talking outside was very audible in the treatment room. As it was I was almost fast asleep anyway due to being so utterly relaxed, so it didn't register with me too much.

We have now been to Langkawi twice, and before this trip had decided that this would be the last time, we need to explore new places. However, after staying at the CDM I think it's safe to say we both changed our minds. We would visit the island again just to stay here, as the experience left us feeling so relaxed. I would like to say a HUGE thank you to all of the staff who work so hard to make guests feel welcome.

Room Tip: Go for a pool side room if you can; the extra space and proximity to the pool and beach make for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Casa del Mar is one of the few places where I would come back, which I normally do not do. It is the whole experience together: nice little touches, great rooms with amenities, impeccable service, very personal. Not a cheap place but worth every dime you spend there, best value for money. Stay away from the mass hotels on the island and indulge yourself here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Langkawi is a great place to lay back and quietly ignore the woes of the world; the Casa del Mar is the resort hotel to do it in. Great location looking on to a beautiful, clean, white sand beach leading down to safe, clear, ocean swimming. Hotel staff can make or break a holiday and without exception, those at the Casa del Mar were friendly, attentive and a pleasure to deal with.
We thoroughly enjoyed the quality and attention to detail and a return trip is inevitable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.