We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Benchmark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Hotel Website
and 5 more sites!
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Pantai Cenang
South of The River
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Benchmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited again, with great friends, great wine and great food.

What a wonderful place it truly has become the benchmark in hospitality by which all others should be measured. Absolutely first rate and we will be back again to what has become "our home by the sea"

Thankyou Casa.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Captain


Thank you for coming to stay at Casa del Mar again. It was our pleasure to welcome you back…and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit as much as the first one.

See you soon!

Warm regards from all of us.
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,240
    145
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
98
1058
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

the staff were so freindly and helpful, Complimentary water and fruit brought to you on the sun loungers, a 5* turndown service on the evening, good food and nothing seemed too much trouble , a great bar and restaurant, The rooms were of a really high standard and spotlessly clean. I felt so relaxed here and the location is perfect being right on the beach. Within walking distance along the beach are a good selection of sea front restaurants, souvenir and duty free shops.

I highly recommend this hotel to you

Room Tip: some rooms have a better sea view. ask when booking. The first floor rooms generally had a better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guests,


Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your very kind review. Trust it will be shared with the rest of the team.
I am so pleased that you had a wonderful time and that the service exceeded your expectations.

Warm regards from all of us!
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. There were certainly some good aspects to it including enjoyable (though expensive) evening meals on the beach with an attractive sunset view, a delightful senior member of staff called Robert who was extremely helpful and pleasant, and the daily provision of water and fruit to the room which we appreciated. However, in other aspects we were disappointed. The plastic bathroom toilet seat was broken and the toilet itself leaked badly, so much so that we lost an entire night's sleep on one occasion because of continuous water leakage requiring numerous towels to soak up the water. After complaining to the hotel staff they eventually arranged for it to be fixed but it soon started to leak again, and their subsequent response was rather slow and unsympathetic and it was still leaking when we left. This was not what we expected from a hotel with this reputation. Not all of the hotel staff were as charming as Robert, in particular the person who booked us in at reception was unwelcoming and very offhand to us when it transpired that there was a mistake made by the local travel agent in the number of nights to be spent there-something that was clearly not our fault (and we were correct). Less important issues were the noise and ineffectiveness of the bedroom ceiling fan and average standard breakfasts which did not compare well in either quality or variety with the other very good hotels where he had stayed in Malaysia. Overall, while recognising that this was quite a good hotel, we thought it was overrated. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear guests,


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Casa del Mar.
Feedback is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive to improve our services.

Rest assured I have taken note of all your challenges and comments and I am personally looking into them with the departments concerned and all efforts will be placed in rectifying our shortfalls.

I very much regret the inconvenience you experienced and sincerely hope that this rather isolated incident did not mar your overall opinion of the hotel.

Please do email me at tom.blachere@casadelmar-langkawi.com should you decide to give us another opportunity to make it up to you and I will definitely ensure that you will have a memorable and enchanting experience.

Best wishes and regards
Tom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Another perfect stay at Casa del Mar. We stayed at Casa del Mar two years ago and enjoyed first class standards. We returned at the end of April 2013 and were impressed that these standards are being maintained. A friendly efficient staff with excellent food and cleanliness being offered. I would highly recommend this Hotel and its facilities..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guests


Many thanks for your review. We are really delighted to read your second stay with us was as good as the first one! We hope to welcoming you again to Langkawi one day.

Warm regards from all of us!
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful accommodation.

If your heading to Cenang beach then Casa Del Mar is the place to stay if you can afford it.
Its a shame its not just a little bit cheaper but otherwise the service is impeccable!

PRO's
Quiet.. its so quiet!
Mountain bikes for hire
Walking distance to local eateries
Mall close buy
More sun loungers than hotel guests
Cozy type feel, compared to a big resort
Free water and fruit snacks distributed by the pool
The breakfast included is out of this world!
The beach is stunning.
Its honeymoon worthy

One major downer, the drink prices are ridiculous. Happy hour needs to be altered to offer more of an incentives for guests. If you are paying that much for accommodation it would be nice to not rack up huge bills if eating/drinking by the pool.

Its number one tripadvisor for a reason.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience which will be shared with the team. We are delighted you loved it! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Warm regards from all of us!
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What can I say! When our friends where coming here for there 30th wedding anniversary we decided to surprise them. Our second trip to Langkawi but first at the Casa Del Mar. It has been short but fantastic. Staff,location, service, hospitality, accomadation have all been first class. Will return 2 more time to get a fish by the bar. A holiday in heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed in beach front suite loved the easy access to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Karen,


Thank you for your kind comments and review it is shared with the rest of the team, we are delighted you had a wonderful time again!
Your friends departure was emotional and we just loved it.
I hope you had a safe trip back home to Melbourne. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon


Warm regards from all of us

Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What can you add to everything that has already been said by others from all around the world.
This is the most fantastic place where you have the feeling that you are returning home whenever you go back to stay. The reception that we received on our arrival with welcome back hugs and kisses from Elynn and Rashida (I hope I have spelt this correctly) was wonderful. The check in is seamless - it is just like a catch up over chilled drinks. Then to be taken to your room with all the special touches including the lovely flowers that we both received.
It was great to see the same staff members from previous visits and their lovely welcomes, Azura, Adila, Bobby, Wira, Muni, Halim and everyone else who we have missed but are special also, and of course the new faces Wan, Beatrice, Tanya etc. who are an assett to the hotel thanks to the training that is given by Tom and his management team, Fauzi and Robert etc. Keep up this great work as it is you who are the heart of CDM.
We stayed in Emas for the 10 nights and it was wonderful - straight out our private courtyard to the poolside where we spent many an hour on the very comfortable lounges, being treated to the ice cold drinks, fruit kebabs, mint scented chilled cloths to refresh you during the day - and all served with the fantastic smiles from the staff.
Breakfast each morning was a delight and Dinner on the beach at sunset is amazing. We dined in La Sal many evenings as the food is the best you will get - so why go elsewhere??
Sitting around the bar watching the guys working the cocktail shakers for the massive selection of cocktails on offer is a great sight not to mention the taste of the cocktails.
Meeting people from all over and enjoying the friendly atmosphere is what CDM is all about.
We will definitely be returning - got to get our fish.
Hope to see you again next year.
Andy and Marice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Marice and Andy


A massive thank you for sharing your impressions on our page, what a satisfaction to read you had a great time with us, this is our daily vitamins!
I will make sure this is shared with the team and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Casa del Mar.

Warm regards from all of us

Tom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Casa Del Mar Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Fastbooking, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.