We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well deserved status” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well deserved status”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

By now you will have read all of the wonderful reviews posted by almost every guest that must have stayed at this fantastic jewel of a hotel, very hard to fault anything so I won't things I would mention are the few things I couldn't give 5/5 to Location is in itself very good however the peace is unfortunately disturbed by powered watersports from other parts of the beach so don’t expect to hear the birds singing in the trees all day (the management have tried to address this issue but you need to be aware if your expecting tranquil surroundings) Also the rooms are lovely and well kept however the room we stayed in "Azul" had damage to the bath enamel that has corroded so must have been there for some time, I would have expected this to have been addressed once it had been identified. Otherwise Perfect A very big thank you to all the staff and management who made this a holiday to remember (For all the right reasons)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guests

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback I have well noted indeed.
A Jet skis regulation and enforcement would certainly have my vote although using them as a vehicle to visit the nearby islands is a great experience. Unfortunately they are something that visitors to the beach seem to want and my influence is limited. We do have buoys marking an area within which the jet skis stay away from.
I hope that we will be able to look after you again some time soon when you come back to visit us!

Warmest personal regards,
Tom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,237
    145
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
98
1055
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

When we did our initial research on hotels in Langkawi, we were quite shocked at the high prices of good hotels in Langkawi! They are definitely high end pricing. So after the initial shock, we were recommended Casa Del Mar by a friend who frequents Langkawi.

It was definitely the best choice amongst the hotels in similar price range. It is a lovely boutique hotel with great service. We got upgraded to the Cendana Suite which was fantastic. Loved the luxurious bath and pool/beach towels. Fantastic beach frontage - Pantai Cenang is great with beautiful sunsets. Dinner by the beach is a must with the setting sun!

Very convenient location - lots of shops & restaurants nearby. I would definitely recommend Casa Del Mar!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor have more privacy and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your impressions on our page, we are delighted to read you had a great time with us. I will make sure this is shared with the team.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again one day to Langkawi.

Warm regards from all of us

Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have spent another 6 amazing nights at CDM, the staff are still as friendly and can't make you feel any more at home.
The only problem with this hotel is having to come home, we will definitely be back next year.

Food is excellent and the fruit sticks by the pool along with chilled minty towels to keep you refreshed are just some of the nice touches that make you want to return.

Tom and your team keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Have always stayed in a Seaview Junior suite but after seeing the Beachfront rooms we will definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for staying with us and it was lovely to read that you had such memorable experience at Casa.
Trust i will share your comments with the rest of the team.
I hope that we will be able to look after you again some time soon in the future.

Warm regards from all of us.
Tom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had wondered how Spanish by the sea in Malaysia would work and whether the reviews could all be right. Well you needn't worry. This is a fantastic boutique hotel right on a white sand beach. It only has 33 rooms, so the atmosphere is intimate, friendly and above all incredibly relaxing. Other reviews have said it before, but the service here is truly excellent, and above all personal. You are made to feel part of the family for the time you are there, and when you leave you feel as if you are saying goodbye to friends. If you are the sort of person who wants über 5 star luxury with polished marble everywhere, then casa may not be for you. But if, like us, you respond to warmth, interest and attention to detail, then you will love it. There were many highlights during our stay, but dining on the beach each night with feet in the sand and stars above rates pretty high. We are well travelled in SE Asia but this stay provided us with some of the best experiences we have had. We like many of their other guests, look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Julie and Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had when staying with us. You have very well summarized what Casa del Mar is.
As any other review I will share yours with the team.
Enjoy the rest of the winter in UK (hopefully it is the end of it) and we look forward to welcome you again at "your home by the sea".

Warm regards
Tom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now and it continues to be one of our favourite in South East Asia. We stayed over Christmas and had a magical time. Christmas Day was made very special with an amazing dinner on the beach. The rooms are always clean and each time we come it is pleasing to see how the hotel continues to make improvements....we especially liked the new, more private patio areas the rooms now have. We have always been able to get a lounger by the pool/on the beach and always enjoy the excellent service provided by the staff with the extra touches of water, cold towels, fresh fruit. The atmosphere around the bar is always friendly and enjoyable - I don't think I have ever had a mojito anywhere that is as good as Casa Del Mars. The restaurant provides a dining experience second to none on the island - fabulous food in an amazing setting.

I can't wait to return to this fabulous place.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Katy & David,

It has been a pleasure to have you with us again for the 4th time! I believe we will soon celebrate your fish club membership!
Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions on TripAdvisor. We will certainly try our best to surprise you again during your next visit.

Warm regards from the rest of the team
Tom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed here three times in recent years (next time will be our turn for a fish! - ask at the bar..!). All the previous reviews say all that needs to be said; great quality foo, service and experience. The most fantastic and friendly customer service I have ever seen; the staff cannot do enough to make you feel like VIPs. The best cocktails, great sundowner location at the bar.

We have stayed twice in the main suite upstairs and once in the normal room in front of the pool. The normal rooms are fine, but the suite has that bit of extra luxury - rustic sytle but good quality, plenty of room, the lounge has soft furnishings so you almost don't want to go downstairs....

Great food in the restaurant. Smaller menu than might be seen at large hotels, but quality top notch.

Spa is small but welcoming.

Langkawi is a quieter holiday destination and this is reflected in CDM - it is a small boutique and thus quiet hotel. They limit the number of kids that can stay at the hotel; since we have had our little one we haven't been back, but I hope they will still welcome the entire family!

There is a reaon why this place keeps earning its TripAdvisor awards - visit yourself and find out why.

Room Tip: If your wallet is up to it, go for the main suite - luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

You feel the magic as you stepped into the reception area. The layout and geomancy must be in perfect alignment to make you feel so at ease, tranquil and good. The Perfect Feng shui combined with the refreshing cool towel the aromatherapic fragrance soothed the tired muscles and the cluttered brain. Henceforth your flux fell into perfect alignment.

Step outside the reception and the vista awaits you... the distant outcrops, the sea, the sand, the open space , viewed from a private enclave in contrast to the maddening high street you just distanced yourself from.

My studio room came its own private open-air enclosure with a comfy laydown mattress. Langkawi in March can be humid and hot, but the morning sun was soothing.

Step inside the room, I found a well endowed and diligently maintained property. The linen, the towels, the pillows were first class, I really meant FIRST CLASS not your ordinary business class standards.

I had dinner by the beach while watching the sunset. I wished the food could be simpler, not as fanciful as I thought they were. Who needs fanciful stuff when simple natural good food was all you need to complement the magical ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests,


Thank you for your kind comments and long review I will share with the staff.
We are delighted at first reading you had a great time with us, and a second when noticing it is written from the hand of a Malaysian National.

Hope you had a safe return home and that we may welcome you again to Langkawi one day.

Warm regards from all of us.
Tom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Casa Del Mar Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pantai Cenang
#1 Family Hotel in Pantai Cenang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.