We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Del Mar Langkawi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Casa del Mar, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Casa Del Mar Langkawi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wonderful holiday, beautiful resort and staff. The manager had said to us if there's a problem with anything to let them know because if we don't tell them they can't fix it. Sure enough the problem was taken on board. They cant do enough for you here and we felt it was like a home away from home, so comfortable. Nothing was a problem. We met many people there who had returned many times and the whole atmosphere was one of friendliness. My husband and I are already talking about our return next year.

Room Tip: They all have a sea view and we found Cermin (the name of the room) was perfect in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,235
    145
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
98
1053
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Been back for first time in Three years still an amazing hotel,staff lovely food good.Tom the manager very nice too.oNLY WISH i was one the lucky people who can afford to stay for 3 weeks at atime one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you back…and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit! Trust this will be shared with the team.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
I hope that we will welcome you again at Casa del Mar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our third visit to CDM and were not disappointed. From the minute you step foot inside the doors from the main road, you feel like you are in your own little world of CDM. All staff from front of house to cleaners will always speak and smile when ever you see them. Tom, Fauzi and Robert look after you very well as do, Bobby, Mood, Jack in the bar J-Lo, Azura and Shafik in the resturant. We had gone for a relaxing 13 days and got exactly what we wanted. There are lots of other resturants on the strip outside the hotel, take the time to walk up and down and visit as many as you can, you will not be disappointed. Visit TJ's, Putamayo, Beach Garden and enjoy. We will be back in 2 years to get our fish, hopefully as we love it so much. Thank you Tom and Fauzi and all your staff for making it such a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: The pool rooms are just as good as the sea view as you can still see the see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review. We enjoyed having you with us for the third time and what a satisfaction to read that your stay was as good as the two previous ones!

We are looking forward to having you with us in two years time...and stick your fish on the pilar!

Warm regards
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Based on all the review, we choose to stay at CASA DEL MAR and we stayed there for 4 days 3 nite.

No doubt the room and the environment is clean and nice and is a very good place for relaxing.
However, their service is terribly bad. We really do not expect this situation will happen in CASA DEL MAR Hotel.

When we having our breakfast, we are siting outside breakfast hall due to there is no availability of table in the hall. At first we are ok with it, however when it comes to a bit late, the place is getting hot and we get direct sunlight. So we informed one of the waiter, we would like to change place to inside the hall since there is availability of table inside the breakfast hall.

The waiter just nodded the head and said ok and walked off. Then we waited, but no one seems to care about it. We have to carry our drinks and food by ourselves to move into the hall. We walked from table to table many times just to move the food and drinks and none of the waiter/ waitress came over to help us to shift the table. But for foreigners, they treat them nicely. And for us, Malaysian, they treat us totally different.

For my experience, even a hawker stall, they also won't give us this lousy service. However, top hotel in tripadvisor and Langkawi and cost us about RM1000+ per nite and provide racist service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Bear Bryan,

Thank you for taking the time to relate your concern about your experience at Casa del Mar during that morning breakfast.
I am truly sorry you have taken what was obviously a glitch during a busy service time to an act of racism and understand what were your legitimate expectations.
My team is composed of malaysian only, for most they have been taking care of our guests for the last 10 years with the same warmth and passion.
We welcome guests from all over the world, as far as USA, Brasil through Africa, Europe, Middle East, Russia, China, Malaysia, Singapore to Australia and New Zealand to name just a few.
We take pride of serving all our guests with the same enthusiasm regardless their nationality, culture, religion or skin color. It is this amazing melting pot that makes our everyday different.

I am again sorry you had an overall perception of our service you qualified as "racist".
I would assist personally to make up for the shortfall experienced if you decide to come back to Casa del Mar in the future. You can contact me directly and I will be happy to personally make the arrangements for you.

Warm regards
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Reading the reviews on Tripadvisor creates an idea of THE perfect hotel. Perfection is one thing, Casa del Mar another thing. I must stress that we enjoyed the time in Langkawi, the nice atmosphere in your hotel and the good service that had been provided. However, there was a strange smell in our room coming from the sink. Actually, the sink stank. The hotel was informed but couldn't solve the issue. After our stay the General Manager of Casa del Mar got in touch with me, apologized for the inconvenience and explained that reason for the stinking sink had been detected after we left - previous guests obviously collected some sea shells and cleaned them in the sink. I appreciate this approach and the mere fact that the General Manager got in touch with us. After all It is however a cold comfort. At the end it's all about "meeting expectations". And frankly, we expected more - more effort to solve the problem with the stinking sink or at least to provide alternative solutions. There is room for improvement - despite (or because of) the hotel is top-rated on Tripadvisor.
Some facts: The overall setting of the hotel is good, the beach in front of the hotel is one of the nicest stretches on Langkawi. Arriving and departing airplanes as well as cars on the beach are however sometimes a bit annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBlachere, General Manager at Casa del Mar, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Elisabeth and Clemens


Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor.
I fully understand the discomfort you encountered as well as your expectations.
Again I convey my sincere apologies although it will not change the outcome. Of course we thought about proposing you to move of room unfortunately we were fully booked. The feedback has been shared and the concerned departments debriefed.

On a more positive note I am glad to read that you enjoyed Langkawi and the overall experience at Casa del Mar.
I do insist personally to make up for the shortfalls experienced if you decide to come back to Casa del Mar in the future. You can contact me directly and I will be happy to personally make the arrangements for you.

Warm regards
Tom Blachere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland and UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is difficult to add much more to the other positive comments made by the other guests. Yes, the food is great and the service friendly and attentive. We have stayed at two other resorts in Langkawi but the Casa ticks all the right boxes. Apart from all the other factors that have made our stay more enjoyable, the management have gone out of their way to help accommodate the food needs of my 89year old Mum. It is also good to see opportunity being given to young interns from local hotel schools. We haven't used the Spa yet but reviews from other guests suggest that it is excellent. Really a great option for a really relaxing and comfortable stay. As indicated, food is good but an evening meal on the beach is not to be missed.Pool is a good size and is never crowded. Staff bring cold water, cold towels, and fresh fruit etc regularly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you are going to Langkawi you HAVE to stay here. Right on the beach, the rooms are great, so clean and really nice, they even turn down your bed before you sleep and leave a note with the weather the next day! Little details like this make it really special. I went with 2 girl friends and my sister and we all had a great time. So relaxing and felt like we were in paradise, because we were! It was so relaxing, defiantly worth the money. Is great for a romantic holiday or girlie holiday. The pool is great. The staff are AMAZING and the food too. So fresh and soo much flavour. The salads are OMG, actually all the food is OMG. We ate here 90% of the time, breakfast, lunch and dinner. We loved their coffee so much we asked if we could buy some, and they just gave it to us. So nice! I can not speak highly enough of this place. It was fantastic and if I ever get the chance to go back to Langkawi i WILL be going back to Casa del Mar. Thank you for an amazing time Casa del Mar.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room and they are amazing, but I am assuming any room at this place will be amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Mar, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar, Langkawi

Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel
Casa Del Mar Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Casa Del Mar Hotel Langkawi
Casa Del Mar Langkawi
Langkawi Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar, Langkawi Pantai Cenang
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pantai Cenang
#1 Family Hotel in Pantai Cenang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mar, Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of Casa del Mar's (Spanish for ‘Home by the sea’) philosophy is to create unique experiences around individual guests, providing them with a tranquil hideaway. Offering sea view accommodation, innovative dining options and Spa facilities, the 34-room Casa del Mar is the perfect oasis for couples looking for a private and peaceful retreat. From its Mediterranean architecture to its cosy and aesthetically pleasing interior, Casa del Mar is a ‘highly individualised property’. At Casa del Mar, one can indulge in the personalised yet unobtrusive service designed specially to pamper the individual. Guests will be in for a real gastronomic experience with La Sal Restaurant where innovative & yet soul satisfying Mediterranean cuisine, seafood BBQ and Asian samplers will be served. Guests can choose to sit inside the restaurant, with interiors recreated to the splendour of a Californian winery or dine al fresco at the poolside or beachside. Casa del Mar offers one the tranquility of a private holiday home by day and subtle gaiety by night through entertainment and dining options. All traditional hospitality practices will be challenged such that every aspect of the property is in harmony with the objective of creating experiences around individuals. Please note that we specialise in couples and adults and do not offer cots or extra beds in guest rooms. Location: Located at the legendary island of Langkawi, northwest of Peninsula Malaysia, Casa del Mar sits along the island’s Pantai Cenang beach, which is a 10-minute ride from the Langkawi airport and within close proximity to Kuah town, the most popular entertainment area in Langkawi with a wide selection of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa del Mar, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Mar, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.