We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi to your Saves list
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have read some ridiculous reviews of this place, with one person saying the beach is unswimmable! People are soooooo fussy and pick on the slightest things. We are from Brisbane, Australia, which is close to the best beaches in the world, and, I can tell everyone, that the beach here is great. Swam in the sea today. It isn't a surf beach, but it is clean and sandy and the water is great. The hotel is fine...a big family friendly resort and close to the beach nightlife. The roms are spacious, the service is good and the staff are friendly. Thomas, the GM, is always out and about and very visible. So, don't listen to the whining about bugs, noisy fans and the other rubbish that people talk about. We have 4 more nights here and we are loving it.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms ... Second floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear mikulspikul
... we love you too!!! Thanks so much for your kind review und nice comments! Please come back when you are in Malaysia the next time.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    843
    279
    125
    79
See reviews for
678
993
48
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co Antrim Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights with my husband.
No welcome drink and cool towel at check in this time.

We upgraded to the Meritus Club and were very pleased that it was even better than last year.
There were no children this time , last year there were unsupervised children running about, playing on the computer and doing what children do, which is fine in the Kids Club, but not what you expect when you pay extra to upgrade to use the Meritus Club.

They have added an egg station at breakfast so you can have your eggs cooked to order.
Great selection of breakfast items and a coffee machine, evening drinks and snacks were excellent.

We had room 3308 which was a top floor room near the Cascade Pool, very well appointed and very quiet.
We were not aware, before arrival, that the Horizon Pool was being renovated( last year the Cascade Pool was being renovated when we were there!), but there were always lots of beds and umbrellas.
Cascade Pool was very nice to swim in and had a swim up bar. They also serve snacks during the day.
Buggy drivers, especially Ismail were all friendly and if you were walking they would stop to see if you would like a lift.

Had a great massage at the Spa and it was reasonably priced.
Hope to go again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear sentosa54
Thanks for the kind words about our resort. I am glad both of you enjoyed our resort again and for being loyal guests. Sorry about the welcome drink and cold towel omission. I'll get that fixed!
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Good resort with good beach ,the stuff and room service was pretty good with excellent sea food menu ,the beach was fairly good with many activities and entartainments and relaxing atmosphere to ones who seek relax and laying thier backs beside sea water

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear yasso83
thanks for your positive review of our resort. Its good to learn that you enjoyed Pelangi and Langkawi in general.
Cheers!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We've just returned from eight nights at the Pelangi Beach and although the food, staff (mostly) and location are excellent, it just doesn't quite make the grade when compared to other hotels. The bathrooms had just been refurbished and these were very nice, but why not do the rest of the room while you were at it? Furniture and bedroom looked 'tired'. Air conditioning unit was leaking, and had been for a while so the plasterwork was damaged, it all looked a bit scruffy. No information from receptionist when we arrived, no plan of complex, times and locations of bars and restaurants, how to get beach/pool towels, nothing. Then there was a mistake when taking credit card details resulting refusal of credit at cascade bar. When returnig to sort it out, no mention of an appology, more like it was our fault! There were a couple of conventions being held while we were there and they seemed to take over bars and restaurants exclusively, but no warning or notices to the fact. We were right behind the beach bar and it only opened, regularly for the last two days of our time there (we did manage on one other occasion to find it open, but only for a couple of hours). Management need to sort out lack of information an pick up on small things like worn out bedlinen and towels.

Room Tip: We had beach view chalet, it was excellent, but expect wildlife!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Coddy58
I appreciate your comments and have discussed the incidents you described with those concerned for improvement. I agree with you that we DO need to provide better information and in some areas improvement in service delivery.
Thanks!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had a great time at the Pelangi with friends. Right on the beautiful beach with 2 pools, 2 restaurants, a spa and a swim-up cocktail bar, you never have to leave! Food and drinks are much cheaper if you wander outside the resort, but still good value here compared to what you'd pay at home. I'd definitely recommend this resort and hope to come back soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thanks, emmainauckland for your review. I am glad to learn that you had a good time staying here and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 fantastic days at the Meritus Resort. We had such a good time that we didn't even bother leaving the resort - other than walking by the beach. Rooms are excellent, probably the best breakfast buffet - so many options, look for the tropical fruits. Drinks and food are reasonably priced. Location is great, just 10 min from the airport. We will come back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Denis W
I am glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Thanks for your kind review!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just returned from a 14 day holiday to Malaysia, staying at the Meritus Pelangi for 5 nights. When checking in we were upgraded to a pool room which was good. However, before arriving at the hotel we were not advised that the main pool was being renovated. This was not a problem, only that at times the pool did get busy and noisy.

The room was very nice with a large bathroom and kingsize bed, safe, tea/coffee making facilities and was cleaned every day to a good standard. The one thing that was missing was somewhere to dry your wet clothing.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and there was a good choice with something for everyone.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and courteous, especially the concierge desk and the golf buggy drivers.

The beach was lovely and there always somewhere to lay. Some of the sunbeds and cushions however had seen better days.

We chose this hotel over others on the island due to its location and made the right choice. Just 300 yard from the hotel was a choice of restaurants, shops etc.

Regarding trips - we went to the Oriental Village and up on the cable car - a wonderful experience with great views over the island. Shame that the sky bridge was not open. We also went on a ecotour to the mangrove swamps - we saw kites, eagles, dolphins, a kingfisher, monitor lizard and bats. A very enjoyable tour.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Julie C
I appreciate your kind review!
Thanks for sharing your impressions of Langkawi and we hope to see you back!
Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.