We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, but just a resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Meritus Family Package
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice resort, but just a resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good resort, 10 mins from Langkawi airport.
Good location, down quieter end of main beach - but close enough to walk to beach bars etc.
Rooms nice, good air-con. I'd ask for beach view, our pool view room had screaming kids from dawn to dusk.. lake view is a brown swamp that Shrek could live in.. beach view is the way to go.
Restaurants are good, breakfasts chaotic but staff do really well to accommodate everyone.
Sat out on beach lounges at CBA bar and had dinner watching sunset - hard to beat that... plus they have Tiger* beer on tap everywhere so they get my vote!

Tiger beer (mini-bar) RM9
Tiger draught (hotel bars) RM14

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that generally, you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them.

We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    886
    716
    237
    116
    72
See reviews for
549
845
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Two things in this hotel really stand out to me- location and service (of which a particular individual named Hasril deserves special mention). This hotel is situated on the very happening and vibrant Cenang beach stretch and is walking distance to many good shops and eateries. It has two amazing pools and numerous playgrounds for kids can enjoy.

The duty manager Hasril really made a difference to our stay. Firstly, he took the effort to remember our names (we booked 3 rooms) and acceded to almost every single one of our requests. He is an excellent service staff and is exactly the kind of individual that can turn a hotel stay from OK to great.

We specially requested for the refurbished beachfront rooms and were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious, clean and functional. Only issue is that because we were staying in wooden chalets, the sound proofing isn't fantastic and I could hear my upstairs neighbour's footsteps.

The food at the resort was quite disappointing though...the tea and coffee selection at breakfast was pathetic and some of the a la carte dishes at the Spice Market were either too salty or too bland. Portions were generous, but quality was lacking. The nearby Orchid Ria restaurant was much better and is a must try for seafood lovers.

Meritus Pelangi is a great place to bring kids and I will return there the next time I visit Langkawi again!

Room Tip: To be honest, non beach front rooms aren't very far from the sea, so you can save by selecting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we will gladly share your gracious compliments with Hasril, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

I sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and had communicated the few points you made to my team who have already started to make the appropriate changes for improvement.

We shall look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

All in all, wouldnt mind coming back. If the resort could allocate more staff during check out/check in time to man the buggy, then i would have given them 5 stars. Had to wait for about an hour for the buggy before i decided to push my luggage to the lobby for check out. Was staying at 4603 and it was quite a work out pushing my 20kg luggage to the lobby. Got lost one night when we got back at 12 ish, we end up at the pool instead of our unit. Luckily the guy at the reception sent us to our unit with one of the buggy available, thanks to him. Cant remember his name. should have taken his name.

Apart from that, pool was good, the water was not as clear as i would like but my daughter had a blast. Food outside the resort was plenty. the breakfast buffet was good.

Room Tip: avoid getting rooms at the end of the resort. Checkout could be a problem unless u dont mind carryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your suggested recommendations towards enhancing our guests stay experience have been fully noted for improvement. My sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered.

We shall look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Attention to detail was second to none, lovely large rooms, good housekeeping service. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast first class, best position along the beach-front. Public areas and facilities top class!
Will definitely return one day!

Room Tip: Pick a garden terrace or sea-front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind feedback which made everyone of us extremely happy to learn of your positive stay experience.

We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived after a manic few weeks in Australia, so the thought of relaxing on a sandy beach and getting some quality sleep in a good room was hotly anticipated- we were not disappointed.
After a welcome cocktail, the booking in process set the scene- serene, efficient and seamless.

Our room was fabulous- a garden room with a lovely terrace and a view of the beach and sea.
The air conditioning was a must and kept us cool from the heat outside. The bathroom was great- a rainforest shower as well as a power one.
The bed was HUGE- and sooo confortable.
With breakfast being my main meal of the day, I like a variety and boy- was there variety. From spicy noodles to freshly made omelettes, fresh fruit, cereals, breads, cheeses, meats- what's not to love? Attentive staff who filled your coffee cup as endlessly as you required. One of my favourite parts of the day.
Cba, the bar/restaurant on the beach, offered the perfect setting for a sundowner before showering and walking into the village for dinner. On the days when we just wanted to realx, we ate in Cba and did not have a bad meal- all fresh and delicious.
What can I say about the band in Cba? Hmmm...... unusual? Quirky? Eclectic? All of those things - didn't dislike them but thought that 3 or 4 sets a night were a tad too many. Entertainment nevertheless!
The pool by reception was fine- there was renovation work being done on other areas but this did not distract from our holiday experience.
Had a massage in the spa- great value and extremely relaxing and very good value for money. do try it if you go.
Overall, the stay lived up to expectations and our needs- sun, sea, relaxation and sleep. Lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words, which made everyone of us extremely happy to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from our guests as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations

Naturally, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great resort, room was clean, perfect for families and young couples for a weekend getaway at a Malay house.

A few suggestions:

1.Should probably consider extending the opening hours for the main pool and the pool bar.
2. the band at CBA is awful, singers are out of tune. The guy who sings at the lobby was great but it ends too early.
3. Staff should familiarize themselves with the package inclusions. I wasn't impressed that I needed to confirm complimentary dinner and daily food and beverage voucher myself and the hotel staff didn't even highlight it upon check-in. Also, the daily F&B credit cannot carry forward, would have been great to have someone explains this to the customers in future.
4. Breakfast is a bit chaotic in the morning.
5. Kids are diving in the water, jumping from rocks to rocks, should consider having lifeguard for the two pools.

Oh, you have to try the omelette. The chefs cook it to perfection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that overall stay experience had been positive.

I have also shared the few points you made with my team and have already started to make the appropriate changes for improvement and bettering our guest experience. My sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed only one night after a flight change and needed an extra night in Langkawi. Booked the mystery hotel deal through Wotif, and as we thought it ended up being the Meritus Pelangi.
Lovely staff from the moment we arrived, welcome drinks while waiting to check in, and luckily for us, an upgrade to seaview chalet.
The room was gorgeous with a nice view, big bath, comfy bed and great pillows.
We enjoyed the swimming pools and had a couple of drinks at the swim up bar, the staff here were really great too. Any staff you passed in the resort had a big smile and greeting.
The included breaksast had a huge variety of foods along with the usual coffee tea and juices.
All in all a really nice stay and we would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The seaview chalet was lovely, but I think any room would be great. Such a big resort though that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_Mueller, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciative words and we are delighted to learn of your positive stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Pelangi Beach
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pantai Cenang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pantai Cenang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.