We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mix of western & malay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi to your Saves list
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Saver
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely mix of western & malay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After a rocky start with the booking, our stay here was wonderful.

The highlights were:
- The pool was beautiful with plenty of shade clothes covering it. The kids pool and dinosaur area was fantastic fun
- The grounds are immaculate
- The food was really top class
- We had a beach front room which was really clean and lovely, stunning views
- the sunsets here are to die for
- brand new gym, huge glass windows looking out to the sea whilst you run

The only things for improvement (and there weren't many)
- the water in the beach had a lot of rubbish in it, not the fault of the hotel as it seems to come in with the tide but the hotel next door had large nets around there swimming area which meant there wasn't rubbish there. Would be good if the Meritus did the same
- the printer for guests in the Leisure centre was ancient and really needs replacing
- there were signs up saying that seasonally there is jellyfish in the water but they didn't tell you what the season was which would have been helpful

** For those travelling soon, they are currently doing renovations. This didn't' effect our stay at all as our room was a long way from the renovations however I would request a room away from it. Also the spa has been relocated to the leisure centre whilst the renovations are on, they have made a makeshift spa in the leisure centre which really isn't up to par. I had a massage and could hear quite a lot of noise, the prices are still the same. I would recommend that you book next door at the Casa Del Mar's spa which was fabulous. I'm sure the Meritus Spa would be great when it is back in its normal place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your recommendations for improvement are most certainly appreciated and will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    840
    276
    124
    79
See reviews for
672
991
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Welcoming cocktail, room upgrade and lots of smiles, great start. The staff were so friendly and willing to help at any chance. Resort is in a peaceful location with lush grounds. We explored the island, did a island hoping tour but pretty much lazed by the pools or pool bar

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
All of us are extremely happy indeed to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from our guests as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Meritus was way above my expectation! I love the hotel's beach side its clean, private & just beautiful. The swimming pools is just pure fun! They have mini pool spa, jacuzzi style, huge pool for adult & kids, the 'theme park' style water park for children are you kidding me?! I end up playing there its just fun! The room was great too. Its spacious, clean, modern & lots of channel on tv. The only thing I wish for - bath tub & of course, all tv channels are free! The staff are well trained to provide good customer service. They always smile & say 'hi' something very nice about their attitude. The welcome drink is very yummy, I order it again on the 2nd day of my stay from frontdesk & within 5 minutes they bring it to me with a warm smile! Overall, I really enjoy my stay here & definitely will come back & recommend it to others :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are indeed gratified to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will most certainly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We do have available rooms with bath-tub at a slightly higher rate which you can request when making your room reservation.

Your kind gesture to recommend us is very much appreciated and we shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After so many visits to Langkawi, this was the first time we had the opportunity to stay in this resort. Location was one of the main reasons as Chenang Beach is so convenient with a lot of eateries around and the white sandy beaches is always a welcome. However, it seems that through the years, there seemed more and more development happening along this stretch, and we do sincerely hope the authorities are controlling it to avoid 'over development'

Meritus Pelangi - my first impression - warm welcome with genuine smiles indeed set the mood for a brief 3 day 2 nights stay with the family. Ilyas, our ever so jolly Bellman/Buggy driver was so friendly and ever ready to help. Indeed an asset to the resort.

We stayed in a Lake View block where our balcony overlooked a serene man-made lake, not too far away from the main lobby and also the pool. Room was so spacious and tastefully designed. The beds (we had to big beds!) were very comfortable!

The Pool area was our kids’ favorite area of the hotel. In fact, they preferred the pool more than the sea and refused to follow the parents who were so longing for a stroll along the beach! The pool had a kids area with enough slides to even keep the adults entertained!

We rented a car during our stay and the hotel had ample parking space for hotel guests. As mentioned, the hotel is strategically located along the Chenang stretch, only 10 minutes away from the airport, and walking distance to all the many food outlets available nearby. If you were to drive, 5 minutes away there is also a Mall (!) with Starbucks and KFC in case you miss that part of your city life.

The only time we ate in was on our last day where we enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast spread the resort’s coffee house. From the host, waiters right up to the chefs manning the buffet line was all so warm and friendly. I also liked the fact that the minibar items were free for guest usage. A well thought gesture!

The grounds of the resort were also well maintained with a spectacular view of the beach - so serene! All in all we had a wonderful stay – kudos to the friendly team at Pelangi. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are very glad indeed to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate all our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

Naturally, we shall look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great location, walking distance to the main shopping strip. This location was too big for our liking, wasn't relaxing. Food very ordinary, no flavour. Staff didn't know how to make cocktails, better off going next door Casa Del Mar - great meal, happy hour for cocktails and entertaining bar/yummy cocktails. Staff lazy, prefer watching TV than serving customers. When asked for the TV to be on mute so we could hear the music (music was competing loud with TV), this wasn't done as staff wanted to watch movies (staff!!! not the guests). This hotel has a lot of potential, but has a long way to go.
Chalets were lovely, spacious and clean, but only luke warm water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated.

We do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with service as well as other points highlighted, which will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

If your travel ever brings you back to Langkawi, we welcome another opportunity to serve you again with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at chalet that facing swimming pool. The pool is a great hit for my daughter as she always want to put on her swim gear every time. Had rent bicyle for a beach ride too. The breakfast was lacked of variety anyway. What i like about this hotel is near to pantai cenang and airport as well. You dont have reason to miss your flight then..

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your comments on the breakfast had been communicated to the Executive Chef for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

At first we were supposed to stay for 4 night only, but findding That the Meritius Pelangi was the best hotel in Langkawi we extended our stay for an other week. The Staff is very polite, and friendly. And to be honest for us the Pelangi Meritius hotel has the best location in Langkawi (pantai Cenang). If you wanna go out, you dont Even need a taxi, only 5 to 10 min walk from the stops, bars and restaurant. We stayed with our 10 month Baby, and the hotel provided for us à Baby cot in the room. Excellent pool Area for kids, and sandy beach.

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose, there are all excellent and Well located, but as the hotel is under refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciative words and it makes all of us extremely happy and needless to say, most proud to receive compliments from satisfied customer as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations.

Naturally, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.