We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Resort in Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Saver
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resort in Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013.

Pros
Very close to the airport, so is a very quick trip by taxi. Rooms are in keeping with the tropical / environmental setting. Staff are very friendly and attend quickly to any issues. Best location on the beach at Cenang. Nice beach with relaxed feel and limited outsiders. Hotel has it's own jet ski hire so limited risks with dodgy operators. Breakfast has a great range and goes until 11am. Taxi rank is straight across from the hotel. Not hotel specific, but taxi fares are regated well on Langkawi so tourists don't get ripped off. Dinner from the hotel restaurant was included in the pricefor one night and was awesome, must try the banana and coconut desert!!


Cons
Drink prices, for example a 500ml water costs $7 from the beach bar which leaves a bad impression of trying to rip off the guests. No sellers with pineapple, mango, coconut, etc on this stretch of beach.

Generally, was very impressed with this resort and would definitely stay here again. Also, Cenang is fairly quiet so good for those who want a relaxed beach holiday without the Phuket dush dush dush party scene.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate all our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

We have further noted your point on the pricing and would like to reassure you that this is in line with other 5-star hotels in the island.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    958
    765
    243
    121
    76
See reviews for
592
909
41
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel and the place has improved massively since our last stay in 2011. We all had a fantastic time and cant wait to return. The new water playground was a massive hit with our elder two children and the wonderful jacuzzi pools with canopy coverings perfect for our one year old. Also loved the super comfy new pool furniture! Was surprised the swim up bar had gone but actually the new beachfront facility proved perfect (and although I didnt catch his name I would like to highly commend the lovely waiter who was ferrying everyone's drinks and food to the pool all day!). All of the new landscaping is great around the main pool and I am looking forward to seeing what will be done with the other pool which was closed for refurb the next time we come back.

The rooms are also massively improved from our last stay. The dingy bathrooms have gone and been replaced with modern large bathrooms. The room was much brighter and welcoming. Nice and clean too.

We also very much enjoyed the Club Lounge which was part of our package. The beachfront massage service was a bit hit n miss. The first time I used it was with a woman and it was the full hour I paid for and wonderful. The second time it was a man who spent 50 mins literally concentrating on my feet and poking my face as he seemed reluctant to do the full body I had asked for. I was done out of ten mins but I had had enough by then anyway. Strangest full body I've ever had!

Our main quibble was the endless bad service in the main restaurant in the evenings. The morning service for breakfast was hectic but great, but this only made it more puzzling that in the evening with no where near the amount of people to be seen to the service was so bad. We received general apathy at best and total rudeness at worst. We had to wait 50 mins for a dinner one evening despite there only being 3 tables occupied and when it did arrive it was cold and burnt (club sandwiches so nothing fancy or difficult!). We sent it all back to much huffing and puffing from the waiter. It was slammed back down in front of us another 20 mins later. It was such a shame as having three children we did prefer to not go too far for evening meals but the service in there did deter us from eating there after two failed services on consecutive nights.

I dont want to end on the negative though as I honestly couldnt recommend this as a family get away more. The beach is lovely and clean, the hotel packed with great facilities and the rooms comfortable. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your continuous support and providing us with your valued feedback.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any unpleasant experience during your return visit and the points thoughtfully highlighted, are certainly appreciated for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We deeply regret not meeting your expectations in some areas this time but nevertheless, look forward to continue having you as our loyal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

me and my wife was staying in this hotel when spending our vacation in langkawi, the hotel was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly. my wife was love the beach and i like the watersport activities. our vacation wasvery perfect and it was perfect....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are gratified to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked this resort at the last minute after discovering that the Beach Garden had been closed down. It was more than we wanted to spend, even with the 48hr sale promotion, but we are very pleased that we did it. It was worth every cent. We booked a lake view room but when we arrived the room wasn't ready so they upgraded us to a beachfront room. Fantastic! The resort is set in spacious grounds with beautiful gardens and there is a sense of it being uncrowded and quite private. The pool area is gorgeous and a nice respite from the beach. There are plenty of deck chairs along the beach and around the pool. There is a wide variety of breakfast options and the staff were very attentive. The rooms were spotlessly maintained. We did not use the restaurant facilities as we preferred to take the short walk to sample the available restaurants along the Main Street. The resort is at the end of the beach strip but everything is a short walk away. Overall our experience at Pelangi Beach resort was memorable and we would stay here again if we returned to Langkawi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciative words and it makes us extremely happy and needless to say, most proud to receive compliments from satisfied customer as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations.

Naturally, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and two kids for 4 nights. The hotel property is on the Cenang beach very close to the Airport. I loved the location because the beach is beautiful and the hotel is a 10 minute walk to many of the Bars and restaurants. Cenang beach also has water sports activities for the Kids.
This sprawling resort type hotel is quite large and has all the facilities that you can ask for including an awesome pool, squash and tennis facilities and a nice gym facing the beach. we stayed in lanai style room close to the pool. The lobby and the reception areas are quite impressive. What I liked most about this hotel was the SERVICE. The Staff especially the ones at the Breakfast area were friendly and ever smiling. The sheer variety of dishes provided at the breakfast is one of the best I have seen. The drinks especially the single malt whiskeys and Vodkas at the Cba and the lounge bar were real value at around 20 MYR.
One thing I did not fancy at the hotel was the design of the rooms. My rooms (renovated one) had a carpet flooring. I being an architect just cannot understand why the designers opted for a carpet. Langkawi is hot and humid and the hotel is on a beach. I cannot imagine the amount of muck that is under that carpet. Tiled flooring would have been a better choice.
Baring this I will rate my stay as excellent just for the smiling and friendly staff and the great location.

Room Tip: If you have young kids ask for rooms closer to pool/lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

Not all our rooms are carpeted, so as to provide guests with an option. Only upstairs rooms are carpeted mainly for reason of reducing noise and muffle sound that can be heard from below.

Any suggestion for improvement is always welcome and will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and it was wonderful. We travelled together with our friends (3 couples) based on my father´s memories 15 years ago when he visited this resort only as a tourist, not for staying there. Our whole staying run very fast, unfortunately. All services were perfect. As my boy friend is a diabetic we asked only for no sugar drinks (cola light + water) for our fridge and it was fulfilled every day automatically. All rooms/chalets were nice, large and comfortable. Breakfast was also excellent. Lots of Beach was clean and nice, everywhere we could used sunbeds and towels. We could spend whole day only at that Resort, we didn´t want to go anywhere, everything was there. Every night we walked around the Resort, it was so romantic. Just go there and feel as we!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciative words, which make all of us extremely happy to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized.

We naturally look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked a beach bungalow room 1011 which was very large, nicely appointed and clean. The room was facing the large, fine sanded beach which was virtually empty at this time of the year. No bugs, ants, lizards in the room which is difficult in a tropical place like Malaysia.

They have a great pool for kids! With slides, water guns and so forth... Separated from the other large nice pools.

Overall the hotel facilities, rooms and services are very good and I would return for holiday but...

the only draw back was the the beach bar next to our room which was playing live music until midnight full blast. You can hear every tune in your room. The funny thing is that they even play the music super loud if there is only one customer sitting in the bar. I was in the bar a few times and the music is so loud that you can barely talk. This is probably the reason why the bar was empty most of the time.... I would expect the manager of such a hotel to at least put out some guidelines to the staff on how loud the music can be played.
After calling 2 time they usually turned the music down. Still very annoying if you have to call every evening.

Room Tip: Far away from the beach bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive except for the music from the beach bar.

We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and will certainly look into the point highlighted for bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.