We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi to your Saves list
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely hotel, fantastic grounds. Very big. Nice stretch of beach. Housekeeping could have been a little better - removing towels and not replacing them, not cleaning the bathroom properly. Small niggle though, and aside from this everything else was great. Nice touch with the free mini bar. Check in and out was smooth and easy. Breakfast a little hap hazard and quite busy, but good selection. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your points on Housekeeping service and breakfast had been communicated to the department heads concerned for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    842
    278
    124
    79
See reviews for
676
993
48
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 1 week in March with our 4 year old and 11 month old twins, so we were looking for somewhere which catered for our specific needs. The pluses have all been mentioned in previous threads but for anyone thinking of travelling here with young children, this is a fantastic choice. Location great. Pools superb. Shade could have been better provider at the main pool but we tended to use the cascade pool and head for the main children's pool later in the day. The staff were superb and went out of their way to provide top class service with a smile. Extra Special thanks go to the concierge / buggy guys who helped my wife when one of the twins needed to get to hospital, organising transport, relaying messages and even retrieving a pair of sunglasses left in a taxi. Staff in club lounge were extra helpful too especially with the children. Food was excellent too. We chose the family package which included club lounge access free children's meals and complimentary ice cream each day in the lobby which of course went down well. Reading some other postings I wonder whether some people have totally unrealistic expectations of the service they expect. We found if we needed anything all we had to do is ask politely and nothing was too much trouble. If you expect staff to be telepathic or are unprofessionally rude I'm sure you'd get an altogether different response.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are very glad indeed to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates including those given special mention, to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

Referring to your comments on shades for the main pool, the new pool umbrellas have just arrived and are now placed around the pool.

Together with the team, we shall look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a resort hotel with access to many local restaurants then this is a great place. The hotel is well run with great staff who will do anything for you. The rooms have all recently been refurbished and are very nice.
You have to try the local restaurants which are just a 3 minute walk from the hotel and dont miss the ones on the beach.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it then the beach front rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are delighted to learn of your positive stay experience.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We naturally look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 5 nights of our honeymoon here in March and enjoyed our time here. On arrival check in was very smooth and we even got a free upgrade which was fantastic as we were in one of the newly refurbished rooms. The beach is amazing and location just on the edge of Pantai Cenang means you can dip in and out of the busy main street as you wish. The restaurant/chamagne bar on the beach is a great place to watch the sunset and enjoy a glass of fizz. We did have a problem with the slow service here but when we spoke to the management about this they very kindly offered us a free meal at the restaurant.
The room was spacious and clean, the resort is really big and was fairly quiet when we were there so was very relaxing. There are 2 large pools but we didnt really use these as they were a little child orientated and we were there to relax.
Overall a really good resort in a great spot on Langkawi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive.

Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I’ve never been in such a hotel in my life. I choose to think of it as an adventure…
We visited Meritus last summer, 2 couples.
I don’t know where to begin with. The main pool didn’t exist, since it was under construction without any notice when we were booking. The whole place was under construction, so we didn’t have any chance on relaxation with all that noise. The rooms were not clean at all, the covers, the sheets, the bathroom. These rooms were above the lake, made of wood, so the smell was like mold. Of course during the night you couldn’t sit on the balcony because of the mosquitoes but those didn’t count since during the night the whole hotel was turning into batman’s nest. The whole hotel was full of bats. So, we asked for another room and they upgraded us.
The new rooms were sea view in front of the beach and they were really lovely and seemed to be renovated. But the fact is that bats lived INSIDE these first floor rooms, to those they upgraded us. At last they gave us another one downstairs with no bats and clean sheets.

The staff and breakfast were excellent. The people working there were really lovely and kind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for any unpleasant experience in the beginning of your stay.

We would like to reassure you that it has always been a practice to keep our business partners regularly updated on any refurbishments in the resort and that includes the main pool upgrading work and our phased room refurbishment (not all rooms are refurbished at the same time). We still had a second pool for guests to use which was opened during the closure of the main pool.

Your comments on the earlier two rooms assigned had been communicated to the Executive Housekeeper to take appropriate action for improvement.

The fruit trees in the Resort garden attract both birds and bats and occasionally, some managed to fly inside the room. Remedial action has been taken to address this concern.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Once again, we apologize for any dissatisfaction and welcome another opportunity to serve you with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrive from Melbourne, Australia in the late evening and were welcome in the lounge room with a welcome drink. While we enjoyed our drink, the reception staff carried out all the check in process for us. This is a fantastic process. After a long flight, we did not have to physically go through this process, all was taken care for us by the fantastic staff.

We stayed for 4 nights & 5 days in two rooms. Rooms size were big with sofa lounge chairs. Mini bar and wifi were free. The only problem was that one of the room wifi signal was not strong enough resulting in my family member unable to use wifi in their room and have to constantly come over to our room to use wifi or go to the reception area - a minor hiccup.

Staff at the resort were fantastic and very polite - always smiling and greeting quests. " Ismail" - you are a legend. Ismail the " Buggy driver" was the most polite, happy, cheerful and go luck person. On check out- Ismail informed us that the rooms that we were staying in is the royalty rooms - the Sultan of Kedah who is now the King of Malaysia and the Prime Minister stay in these rooms. Ismail - you are a true legend of Langkawi and Meritus Pelangi Resort. You are so dedicated you your job (23 years working for Meritus Pelangi Resort). You deserved a pay rise.

My daughter did not want to leave the resort. It is a truly excellent resort. We will certainly be coming back to the resort again.
Michael
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we re all very gratified to learn that you have had a most enjoyable stay with us.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates including Ismail who will be delighted to learn that they have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with family and friends for 8 days during the Easter holidays. The kids pool area is really good and safe. We stayed in a garden room, which was better than we expected after reading some reviews on here. We had no problem checking in earlier than they expected us (at 11am). We found the staff to be helpful. The rooms were big, comfortable and modern. We were nowhere near renovations so I can't comment on the effects of renovations, as we didn't actually see any. We loved our stay at the Meritus - the whole resort had a lovely spacious feel, set in a lovely location at the end of the beach and it felt more natural than the other "concrete" looking 5* resorts that we saw on the island. The breakfast buffet was fine with a good choice for families with children. In the evenings, we strolled a few minutes into town (Cenang) and ate in a variety of the local restaurants. Overall, a lovely holiday. :-)
*** Tip: we joined the Meritus club via the hotel website. We also booked directly through the hotel for a "family package", which enabled us to enjoy free soft drinks and snacks/canapés during the day in the Meritus club room (and later on wine/beer for sunset drinks). ***

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your valued feedback and we are extremely happy that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from satisfied customers as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations.

We certainly look forward to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.