We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing the small things that would have made the place great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Saver
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Missing the small things that would have made the place great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights 18-20 March. Arrived at around lunch time and were hoping to get the paperwork/check in done so we could have lunch. Unfortunately, the wait was very long (about half an hour) although there weren't many people checking in. When they finally came back to me, they said they could not trace my reservation. I find this incredible, I had booked and paid in full on Agoda. The lobby staff did not serve us a welcome drink although we waited so long, but asked us if we wanted to order any drinks. We declined and she served us the drinks eventually after directed by the reception staff to do so.

The room was excellent. Facing the beach, and obviously recently refurbished. Very comfortable and large.

We ordered room service and although very expensive by Malaysian standards, we found the food to be delicious. The cocktails can be improved on though.

The service was found to be lacking even after our long wait to check in. The package I booked was supposed to come with a complementary fruit basket on arrival. There was none. I called twice to ask for it but it never arrived. The children should have been served complementary ice cream at the lobby, this also never happened. And as far as I observed, no child was ever served any ice cream at the lobby.

When I requested for a roll-away bed, they first asked me who it was for. When I said it was for my helper, they wanted to charge me RM150 when in my package it was supposed to be RM50. The lady claimed it was only RM50 if a child slept on it. Really, if there were 2 adults and 2 children in the room, would you really know how the sleeping arrangement is???

We went for the BBQ dinner which was part of the package on the last night. I wanted to order congee for my daughter and stood waiting for a female staff as she was busy typing something into the computer and she curtly asked me 'you are having the buffet right?' which I thought was quite rude. The grill was quite good, sadly the experience was marred by the service.

All in all, this place could have been exceptional, if the service is improved on. We did enjoy the beach and the view, the food was good, the swimming pools were good. The resort is a mere 10 mins drive fr the airport which proved to be convenient. Hopefully the management can look into the feedback and allow the resort to fulfill its potential.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated.

We deeply regret the distressing experience at the start of your stay and certainly apologize for not able to meet your expectations. Rest assured this is not a true and intended reflection of our normal service standards.

Your comments had been communicated to the respective department heads for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We welcome another opportunity to provide you with a more positive stay experience and restore your confidence in the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    970
    770
    244
    121
    77
See reviews for
599
916
41
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Loved the setting and the rooms were huge. Had a lovely view down to the beach but the sea was a disappointment , think it is rather polluted so we stuck to the pool which was great. As mentioned by others I think this property is overpriced and the prices in the restaurant are much higher than we expect to pay in asia. The food was great though and we had dinner and the BBQ one night. Breakfast was a big problem. If you were not there super early then the whole place was dirty. There was obviously not enough staff on to clean and reset the tables and trying to get a cup of coffee, what a mission. Not how I want to start my day while I am on holiday. Having said all those negatives we enjoyed our stay and managed to relax. Though we did go to play mini golf one day and it is desperate need of refurbishment. More staff and better maintenance and it would be great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with the breakfast service and had since taken the necessary corrective measures to address the problem.

We had now a dedicated grounds & garden team, who will complement the existing manning, in maintaining the mini golf area.

We look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

- Good breakfast buffet, lovely coconut jam!
- Ok cleaning, the cleaners don't use mops, do not have hoovers and they don't dust! They only use a brush for the floor and rug.
- Good complimentary drinks
- A downside to this hotel is the amount of insects in the room and the wild cats that hang around the resort, especially around the restaurant
- Good buggy service

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction during your stay.

We have an ongoing exercise to catch the cats and have also recently engaged a new pest control vendor to assist us with the task.

We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is under renovation,we stayed in an old room which wasn't that great. We had lunch in the hotel restaurant the first day (we didn't make that mistake again later) the waiter was rather rude, though there was only a few people in the restaurant he clearly stated that he wasn't happy to serve us.Food was ok but unreasonably expensive. "fresh juice" was not fresh, had a can taste....
Breakfast was not good, you expect better quality food in a hotel like this... every morning there was a problem, there was not enough waiters to serve the drinks, clean the tables, etc. so it was a chaos...and obviously those few waiters were stressed and it had a big impact on the quality of service. Some of the stuff were kind and friendly but most of them were not at all.Not even a smile. It was strange, this is not what I've experienced in Asia.
We'ha tried coctails once, it was expensive and not good at all. We found it strange that you cannot buy fresh coconut in the hotel, everbody was bringing it from outside.
Our overall feeling -during our stay- was that they are trying to save on every penny which obviously had an effect on the quality if service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and I do sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience in particularly with service during your stay.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with the breakfast service and had since taken the necessary corrective measures to address the problem.

All other points highlighted will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved the setting of the Meritus Pelangi, gave one a real feeling of being in old Malaya, very natural feel, lovely. The complex was lovely and clean and the staff very friendly. We found eating in the restaurants on the complex quite expensive so decided to go out for Dinner most days. The sea was also a big let down because it had a slight whiff to it and we didn't fancy getting any of that into our mouths but the complex Horizon pool made up for that. Really enjoyed our hoiday and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we really appreciate the positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent three days there in February.
It is a nice resort, especially when you compare to other 'hotels' on the same strip. Beautiful beach and family friendly.
We were disappointed with the food - the burgers we ordered by the beach restaurant were really not very good. We also dined in the main restaurant one night and the lamb curry was absolutely terrible, the meat was like a rock. Thankfully when we complained they took it away and we didn't have to pay for it. They weren't overly sorry though and service was extremely slow.
I would definitely recommend eating in town, at the Orkid sea food restaurant nearby for example where everything is fresh.
The rooms were nice but we could hear the neighbours' television in the middle of the night as well as people coming home late.
Overall, ok but don't expect good food or amazing service.

Room Tip: I think rooms by the beach are the best as less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points which are certainly appreciated.

I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and will certainly communicate your comments to the respective team members for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Our sincere apologies for the shortcomings and we look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in July 2009. And we loved it. It was a phenomenal stay. We stayed in these cottage like rooms and it was quite an experience. The resort is beautiful and complete. The beach was clean and white.
The only thing was the lack of water sports. We could only do jet skiing. We wanted to do parasailing but it wasn't available. Othr than that it was a great stay and we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth P, Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are delighted to learn of your positive stay experience.

Your point on the water sports, had been noted for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Naturally, we shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.