We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort for a Weekend Getaway.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi to your Saves list
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good resort for a Weekend Getaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a company retreat in this hotel lately over a weekend.
Why chosen this hotel? Basically it is because the sales person did a great job. ^.^
Having said that, she didnt disappoint us.
This is a good resort which you can run company event here.
Location is good, near to airport and near to the city.
The beach is nice, and we had fun at the Water Sports.
Room is clean, and staffs are friendly,
Will defintely come back to this hotel one day. ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful note which, without doubt, is greatly appreciated by all of us here at the Pelangi.

Indeed, it has been a pleasure for us to cater for your company retreat and I hope every one of you had a great time here.

We look forward to hopefully be given the chance to work again with you in the near future and
remain at your full disposal for any assistance or feedback you may require on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    843
    280
    126
    79
See reviews for
679
994
48
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We decided to stay in Pelangi Meritus in Langkawi during our recent visit last week. Boy, was that a wonderful decision or what! The place is really amazing, and so is the entire staff. Even more so is the location, just 500 mts from the most happening place in LGK and has a private beach to itself.

Even the breakfast spread is too good. The only thing we didn't like during this entire trip was the Sun. So much of heat, we got totally tanned and are getting to terms with it :o)

I would definitely recommend taking up the whole-day-snacks for the family

Room Tip: Take the RM 150 per family eat all you can for the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words, which made everyone of us extremely happy to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

We will gladly share it with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized.

We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Booked in advance and got a great rate..

This is the best location on the best beach in Langkawi (Cenang Beach). Close proximity to shopping, beach activities and eating joints..

Got an early check-in, had just casually mentioned that I was there for my 7th anniversary and there was a cake waiting for us when we came back from the beach in the evening, awesome experience and thanks to the hotel for the best anniversary ever….

Thanks to Sykiara and Zaidi for their help and hospitality..

Will definitely stay here and advise EVERYONE to come here when they come to Langkawi…None of the other places even come close... and we are Finicky travellers.... this place is just the best.....

P.S. Island Hopping trip is a waste, just stay in the resort, maximum take a car rental and go around exploring the other beaches and the city.

Room Tip: Try 4,6 or 8 Chalets as they are very close to Beach and Breakfast....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciative words and we are indeed very glad to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates singled out for special mention, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Greatly appreciate your kind gesture to recommend us and we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I just checked in today. Check-in was extremely slow. Booked 2 rooms through Agoda. Arrived at the hotel at 3.00pm. The receptionist did not even greet me, instead just asked to give my IC and hotel voucher without making any eye contact. Was made to wait at the lobby for a 'personalized' check in. After 20 mins, another lady came to give me some check in forms to sign. I asked for connecting rooms, as per note in the Agoda booking voucher. She went to check at the counter, which took another 15 mins., and came back telling me that connecting rooms were available for another 10 mins. However after waiting another 15 minutes, another guy was sent to inform us that the connecting rooms were only available the next day. However the irritating thing was, even thnormal rooms were not yet ready despite it being 3.40pm already. Waspromised that the rooms would be ready by 4.00pm, and offered to wait in the Meritus Club room for snacks and drinks. Went into the Meritus Club, not much food left, only scraps of leftover kuih. Only 1 room was ready at 4.15pm, the other room was only ready at 5.15. Room is nice, but bathroom was wet, slimy and gross. Overally check in time was 2 hours for both rooms. Meritus Pelangi management please take note. I've been to 2 star hotels with faster check ins!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated for improvement.

I deeply regret the distressing experience with long wait for room and certainly apologize without any hesitation for not meeting your expectations.

Please be rest assured that this is not a true and intended reflection of our normal standards.

We welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at Pelangi during the Christmas holidays. They were fully booked - granted , there is scope for small goof ups . However , the staff needs to be better trained to handle guests and their requirements. They messed up our bookings big time.
*Gave us kingsize beds instead of twins
*Gave two different tariffs for same room type upgrades.
* Made us wait for 2 hours before finally alloting a room.
* When we reached our room - the key wouldn't work.
* They promised to send us a basket of fruits as an apology
* They didn't send it.
* We finally got our room after a wait of 4 hours.
My brother who was travelling with me is a stroke survivor and we had requested that some special care be taken of him.
Having wheel chair access is not being differently abled friendly.
All in all , not repeating my stay .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and I do sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience with the issues highlighted during your stay.

Rest assured that all points highlighted will be reviewed for improvement and that will include re-training, where necessary to ensure such experience will not recur in future.

Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and would like to reassure you that the shortcomings are not a reflection of our usual tandards.

We welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Meritus. It's in the busy stretch of beach at Pentai Cenang, but it feels like a private resort since the property is so big! We were upgraded to an ocean view suite, which was very nice. The room was spacious and the bathroom was brand new with a great waterfall shower. There was a large amount of construction on one side of the resort, but it took us until day 3 to even find that, so it didn't bother us at all.

The breakfast buffet is included and was amazing! The variety of western and local foods was incredible. We also took the offer for the free happy hour drinks (5-7pm), which included access to an air conditioned lounge with snacks all day. So between those two all-inclusive deals, we didn't need to pay for much! The restaurants were good, but the room service was a little disappointing.

The facilities were great - there are 2 pools. The older one that is harder to find, but has a swim up bar! The gym had new equipment and large windows looking over the ocean, which made squeezing in a workout easy!

Room Tip: Asking to be on the side of the resort with the gym should keep you away from the construction noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, your stay experience had been positive.

I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with Room Service and would greatly appreciate more detail for our improvement.

Guest feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet their expectation and create a memorable stay for them.

We shall look forward very much to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I wanted to holiday somewhere where it was not crowded with tourists, friendly and hospitable people, unusually authentic food...not always available in 5 star resorts...and soft white sand...and we got it all! The Malay food was delicious and the staff were so happy to cater to whatever we fancied. The rooms with balcony overlooking the ponds...containing a surprise for us...water lizards!!...were so spacious, comfortable and clean. We enjoyed walking all over the grounds that contained not only the rooms on stilts, but little tranquil spas and relaxing pavilions, old Malay houses, exotic plants, and recreational activities, including pools placed all over the resort with waterfalls and their own little bar and terrace cafes.
What a lovely week we had!! I especially want to thank the staff for their unfailing smiles, willingness and kindness.

Room Tip: All the rooms had the same tranquility, even the ones facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are indeed very glad to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

Together with the team, we shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back with our signature service of Asian Grace, Warmth and Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.