We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, and a fun place for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi to your Saves list
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great experience, and a fun place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 16-Dec late morning. The initial impression - around the entrance - was not great for some reason – felt vaguely tacky. The lobby was impressive – wood everywhere, spacious, vaulted ceilings… We were ushered to a comfortable seating area, and installed with a drink. The fella left with our passports, and we were left in peace. The check-in was over in about 15 mins. We had 2 rooms. Since we had small children with us, the management went the extra mile to give us rooms close to each other. The whole check-in process was nicely done.

Rooms:
The Langkawi Suite is part of a single story chalet – right on the beach with a large living room/dining area, a bedroom, 2 balconies and a large beautifully done bath. One of the balconies will not have any adjacent rooms, and will give you better privacy and peace in case of noisy neighbors. We had 1301. This is the closest to the pool, the club and the main lobby area. Access to the hotel facilities is best, and consequently privacy is compromised to a small extent. The room worked very well for us.

Beach:
One of the best parts of the hotel, and the main reason why we chose the hotel, is the white sandy beach – and acres of it. There were no locals or outside tourists, and so lots of room. Sunsets are spectacular.
One thing to note is that there are shells in the sea floor, and water

Food:
Overall impression was good. Breakfast spread was quite large, and of good quality. In room service was timely. The restaurant on beach is great at night.

Pool and other activities:
The adults and children’s pools are great, and there are several of them. The children’s pool has a water based play area, right next to it. The kids loved it. It’s actually fun for adults as well.
There is a pool towards the right of the hotel, which had fewer folks, and convenient bar within the pool area. You can order and have your drinks within the pool.

Some other possible activities are jet skis, parasailing, cycling,…. There is also a decent gym (facing the beach)

There is a live band every night at the lobby (from 9:30pm I think). They are great, and I highly recommend spending a late evening or 2 listening to them

Tip:
• Ask for a renovated room.
- The older rooms could have small unwelcome visitors
• Well located and is about 10 mins walk from the Cenang area which has many restaurants and shops.
• If you are on holiday with kids, IMHO this is the best place for stay in Langkawi

If you are interested, I have a written a few more reviews from our vacation in Langkawi and KL.

Room Tip: • Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we are indeed very glad to have delivered your expectations and delighted your stay experience.

Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    842
    278
    124
    79
See reviews for
676
993
48
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We came here for our honeymoon and regretted it. The walls of the rooms are very thin privacy is impossible, we could here the neighbors talk and even snore at night.. The breakfast option is very expensive compared with other hotels/resorts with lower quality. The resort is clean and well maintained, the staff is generally helpful and nice (with exceptions). Overall, the thinness of the walls, the low value for money (our opinion), and some bad service resulted in an overall negative experience. We stayed at 2 other places in Malaysia and they were both much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction during your recent stay.

We are aware of the sound proofing issue with the old rooms and have rectified this concern for all new rooms. It has also proven to be effective as we have not received any similar comments from guests staying in these rooms.

Your point on the breakfast pricing had been duly noted.

We welcome another opportunity to serve you again with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here 2nd week of December with my husband and we loved it, the hotel and all amenities are fantastic.
We had a nice welcome on arrival and was taken to our room, we were given an old room near the cascade pool but my husband really wanted a newly renovated room, reception called our room to check all was OK, when we said we would have preferred a renovated room we were moved to one, block 6 room 601 this was near the main building and the new pool, it was lovely the only problem was it was very close to the main road and was very noisy and did disturb our sleep.
We paid extra to use the club room, this included breakfast, light snacks and drinks 5 to 7.30pm this was excellent value and I would highly recommend to anyone, we loved it and the young lady who served us most days was so sweet.
You have a choice of two fantastic pools, we preferred the cascade pool with the swim up bar, it was the best pool we have ever used, great size and lots of sunbeds and plenty of shade if wanted, the pool staff were also very nice.
The evening entertainment was excellent in the main lounge/bar, we enjoyed listening to the four piece band very much each evening but for a fantastic sunset pop over to the new beach bar it was just gorgeous very romantic.
We ate in the main restaurant several times and the choice of food was very good and generally the service was excellent we just had one bad experience, for some reason we had really bad service one night, we waited almost half and hour for our bottle of wine then ages for our food then after our plates from our main course was cleared nothing, we were just ignored completely and it wasn't because they were busy as it was quite late so the restaurant was nearly empty and there were lots of staff chatting and sorting the restaurant out, in the end we got up and went to the desk to sign our bill, we complained to the lady on the desk and a man/manager? that was also there when we told him what had happened he didn't say a word just turned and walked away, we were so shocked by this we went to reception and complained we were told to come back to reception the next morning at 9am for meeting with the duty manager but when we arrived the next morning they knew nothing about it so had to go through the whole thing again but nothing was done about it at all, the manager said to leave it with him and he would get back to us but never did, we chose to then eat out of the hotel as there is so many other restaurants within walking distance to choose from so the only thing I would say to the hotel management is to improve customer service in the restaurant if they want hotel guests to stay on site to spend money otherwise guest will go elsewhere as we noticed lots already did.
Apart from this we did really enjoy our holiday at Meritus Pelangi and we are already planning our holiday next year, I would recommend this hotel and can't wait to return next year.
I have scored the service as average only because of the very bad/poor service we experienced in the restaurant one evening and the sleep quality as poor because of the VERY noisy road our room was next to, and as the rooms are timber with no soundproofing or double glazing we had very little sleep.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room near the main road as it is VERY noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback and I do sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction with service or discomfort during your stay.

The points highlighted which are certainly appreciated, will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Naturally, we look forward to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked in at very short notice and were wonderfully surprised at how well-located and how friendly the hotel was. Our chalet was 30m from the beach and the rooms were generously appointed and very clean. Two staff members in particular made our stay especially pleasant. Fendi, one of the management team, checked us in and gave us great advice. Citi, the hostess in the Meritus Club lounge, looked after us with gentle attention to detail and always showed great recall of our requests from previous days. We would recommend the Meritus Pelangi without hesitation and cannot speak highly enough of it's location and the service of its staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we are delighted to learn of your positive stay experience.

Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations.

We appreciate very much your kind gesture to recommend us and naturally, look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Arrived after short flight from Penang, to be greeted at hotel by charming receptionist with cool drink and relaxed check-in. We were then taken to chalet 207 which we thought was fabulous.
The location was excellent with the beach less than 50yards away.The chalet was well appointed, even an umbrella for those sudden tropical downpours.The complementary drinks from the mini bar were most welcome. All the staff we encountered were polite and very helpful and obliging.
There was always plenty of sun beds available on the beach using the welcome shade of the palms. The pool and childrens areas were less shady but as a couple we did not frequent these areas.
There was always a very wide selection of dishes at breakfast to cater for European and Asian tastes. We ate in the village in the evenings, as our chalet was at the extreme left hand end of the beach looking out to sea, we were 5 minutes from the village.
As the fitness centre was next to us ,we did experience some heavy bass music from there a couple of times at around 7.30 am, but after a casual mention to a staff member we were not bothered with it again.
Our last stay in Langkawi was at the Sheraton beach Resort but we found the beach and location more suited to us here and we hope to visit again sometime.

Room Tip: We would stay in 207 again,renovated and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, your stay experience had been positive.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

On your comments regarding shade around the pool and children play area, we are in fact getting new pool umbrellas and these will be installed once they arrive.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stay there with my family from 16th - 19th Dec12 and it was a wonderful place. The staff were great and very helpful. Just a point for improvement :- The breakfast should be more variety since Malaysia rich with plenty of food & the space for breakfast should be more spacious. I unable to use the safe box in-room coz of the previous passwd is still encrypted. Tried call for help about 3 times + self meet the receptionist and it still no-show.
Overall, still best place for my kids to play especially at child pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory service from our Reception staff and this had been duly noted for improvement.

I will also share your point on the breakfast with the Executive Chef for improvement.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our honeymoon at the Pelangi for 10 days in December and it was one of the best hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in. We were upgraded to beachfront chalet in block 7 which was fantastic and less than 20 metres from the beautiful beach.

We also had access to the Meritus Lounge which is a highlight with comp cocktails each afternoon. Our room was very clean with an amazing bathroom with large tub overlooking the beach. A nice extra was free soft drinks in the room which were topped up daily.

The beach is absolutely beautiful and very quiet and tranquil, and there are 2 lovely pools, one with a swim-up bar and the main renovated Horizon pool which will be perfect soon as the umbrellas arrive. There is free wi-fi across the complex and a lovely spa which we enjoyed an amazing massage. The service is really great and the staff are amazingly friendly especially in the Meritus Lounge.

The hotel is very well located, not far from the airport and very close to Pantai Cenang, which is great if you want to eat outside the hotel, which itself does great food. Hiring a scooter is also a must to access this beautiful island. The hotel have a great little beach bar where we sat overlooking the sea, sipping cocktails and watching the sunset. There was some building work going on but it didn't bother us at all, it is happening at the back section of the hotel and they were very discreet. Not far from finishing though.

I can't fault this hotel, everything was wonderful and I would highly recommend it if coming to this amazing island. Thanks again to Marco and his wonderful staff we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco B, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we really appreciate the great feedback on your recent stay.

We will gladly share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations.

Thank you very much for your kind gesture to recommend us and we naturally look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Wishing you a fantastic 2013 ahead!

Warmest regards

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.