We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Putumayo

Putumayo
lot 1584, Pantai Cenang Mukim Kedawang, 07000 Palau Lankawi, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
604 9552233
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 19 restaurants in Pantai Cenang
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
The Hague
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Try the chicken satay and lemon chicken, you won't regret
What they must change are the menucards, it does not smell nice

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    69
    74
    22
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty prawns!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great meal, much enjoyed, sizzling tiger prawns are awesome. Helpful staff and good for gluten free. I had calamari and they use rice flower out here, so amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is place is run by Malay Chinese and they cook some of the most authentic food in the area. The wine selection and food pairing was remarkable. Highly recommendable and please reserve your table.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Chine
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very upset”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We return to Putumayo for dinner, exactly 1 year after the last time... We really were upset this time. I don't know if the restaurant decrease quality or if we increase our food expectation after so many trips in Asia.

Food :
Small portion, poorly cooked... for quite big price (around 35 RM for 5 small prawn). Ugly vegetables in butter, satay absolutely not tasty...This kitchen looks now like a cheap restaurant you can find anywhere in China street or at hawker food place several meters away from Putumayo !

Service :
Nice waiter but without communication skills, a small smile but nothing that make you feel in a special place. Anyway service is (too) fast.

Decoration :
Same as last year. It's much better than average in Cenang. But the kitchen isn't at the level of the decoration...

Price :
For me too expensive for so simple kitchen.

Conclusion :
Due to holiday season, all restaurant look full in Cenang. It doesn't mean that they all worth to spend your money. Be careful !
Now we know better Penang (second stay) and Malaysia, i confirm there is much better place to dinner in Penang than Putumayo.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They are just kidding!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We ate there,and we left hungry.First the size of the plates is absolutely miserable,the quality is on the same level-I took a mushroom soup(served in bread)it wasn t evem good,but it was so small,that it didn't matters.The caesar salad is served with caesar sauce from bottle,a big joke.Good service,but not enough to come back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Putumayo also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to Putumayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Putumayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.