We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added White Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Jalan Pentai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a last minute booking done by my friend from Singapore as we had suddenly decided to go to Langkawi to meet up and of course see the island.

This hotel is a little tucked away and not really on the main beach road which might explain the relatively low price of the property. But it suited us just fine and fit in our budget as well.

They have a set of about 20 twin cottages circling a lush green garden and that I felt was really cool as it gives you your privacy and does not feel like a regular motel. We reached quite early, much before their check-in time (2 PM, which I feel is quite late). Unfortunately it also started to rain just as we reached. So we were stuck in their lobby for a good 1 hour or so. They let us charge our cell phones and gave us some touristy magazines to read. They have a drinking water dispenser right outside the lobby which was real useful.

The rooms were spacious (2 queen beds) and clean. Liked the bathrooms however there was no place to put your things and practically no toiletries. Had one soap dispenser that was to be used as hand as well as body soap. Running hot water is available. Rooms could be better lit.

While leaving also we asked them to just take out our luggage in case we do not make it back by their check-out time which was 12 noon. We finally got back around 2 PM and found our luggage in the lobby. We showered and changed in the restroom in their lobby area. Nice of them to let us do that. They also called for our taxi back to the ferry terminus. So overall nice experience. However I have a nagging doubt... you see I found a 100$ bill missing from my purse which was left in my baggage. I really wonder... But I have no concrete proof so please do not take my word for it. Its just a nagging doubt...

Room Tip: Take a room away from lobby to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    79
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
62
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

hotel location is near construction site, so don,t expect you will have a quiet moment during daytime, or fresh clean air, this construction project is big and will take few years to finished. night time or daytime mosquito is a lot, because of the surrounding environment (clogged drainage) and rubbish. room bed is old and not well maintain . pillow and beds sheet is dusty. the.only good thing you can get is solid wifi. for rm178 per night with this kind of room condition is really not worth. never again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Recommended for those seeking budget accomodation for family at pantai chenang.clean room, fast internet connection.near to shops,cafe.walk 5 to 10 minutes to beach across the
road.cons construction nearby which stops at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at White Lodge with 2 friends. Overall had a good stay here. We had a 'delux room' for three people. I was disappointed to see that the extra cot was just a thing foam mattress on the floor... But I asked for another and they gave one without any problem. The room was nice and big and cleaned daily. The beds are quite uncomfortable though and our air con did not work at all. Bt the ceiling fan worked great and kept us comfortable each night. This is really no frills but clean and quiet and the staff were fantastic, so perfect for us each night. Wi fi also worked great. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Check air con first before accepting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subang jaya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited on June, reached at the motel on Friday night got the key went to the room, it was cold with the air-cond on and the room has a good scent. Given room number 19 & 20 travelled with group of 8 people. The room is all the way to the end.
Pros: - Clean room
- Spacious room, if combined both the queen size bed can occupy 6 people.
- Own parking spot next to the room.
- Room service was good, requested to clean up the room came back it was as the first time we entered the room. There was once we did not request for cleaning but when we came back from a long outing our room was cleaned up. No valuables were lost.
- Basic accommodation: Room: with 2 chairs inside the room with a coffee table along with kettle and coffee sachet, dressing table with 2 drawers and a mirror, a cabinet with 3 drawer and a small refrigerator inside, a cupboard with few hangers and 2 drawer, a desk to keep luggage, air-cond, fan and television.
- The air-cond was super cold

Cons: - the shower is loose in room 19, it fell on my friends head while he was showering
- the bathroom locker is broken so could not lock in room 19
- both the rooms are spooky but we just ignored it and try not to think about the "it"
- lots of mosquito
- found a frog (room 20) & baby cockroach in the washroom, eventually the frog disappears

We never complain anything about the cons to the receptionist not a huge issue still can live with it.
Will stay here for the room but for spookiness got to think twice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 3 nights for thru Agoda. The price is considered cheaper as compared to other hotel around that area for family room. Very basic with air cond, hot shower, tv and 2 queen beds. If you have higher expection, maybe it is wrong choice. Very old bedsheet and thin blanket but clean. Walking distance to underwater world and cenang beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I went to Langkawi with a bunch of friends recently and stayed here for 2 nights.We reached in the afternoon and got ourselves accommodated in our rooms for a few hours before deciding to go out. When we came back to our room,there was frog near our bed and that already got us wondering on how clean and secure is this place but that did not get us really worried.We went out again and decided to come back around 8 pm to have a quick shower and continue with the rest of our plans.Then the worst part of our trip came and it was when we were walking back to our rooms, I got stung by a scorpion! There are no danger signs warning you regarding the presence of scorpions and other dangerous species roaming around.Thanks to my wonderful friends who immediately brought me to Hospital Langkawi to get treatment.Once we got back to the hotel,we went to the office and complaint regarding the incident.The receptionist was not being helpful and all that he could say was that he had to go back home as his "bini" (wife) is waiting.He told us to call his boss and talk to him and he had nothing to do with it. Later on, we tried calling the boss on his cellphone number but there was no response.I would consider it as poor management from the owners of this place. Customers safety and priority should always be given first priority. It was my day for a scorpion sting and probably it could be you next.I advise that if you ever go to this place,take precautions when walking around the grassy area in front of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Motel

Address: Jalan Pentai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — White Lodge Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your White Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Pantai Cenang
White Lodge Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;