We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to spend an evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sal at Casa Del Mar

La Sal at Casa Del Mar
Casa del Mar | Mukim Kedawang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+60 4-955 2388
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: As expected on holiday, dining is a relaxed, quality experience at your Home by the Sea. Available Dining locations begin at the wine room adjacent the piano and library and continue through a covered patio out to our beach-side coconut grove. La Sal dining offers the best in Modern Asian and Western Cuisine with a focus on high quality fresh produce and is served by attentive and friendly staff. The bar offers a wide variety of wine from the old and new worlds. The cocktail list is exciting and innovative with themed cocktails around our magical sunset, pool side relaxation and post dinner period.
USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend an evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Located on the beach front, try to go at sunset for a breathtaking view. All the food is really excellent from the bread they provide to the tea/coffee.
Portions are very large so come hungry and all dishes are very well designed a d taste exceptional. The 3 course meal for 120 MYR is good value when compared to the 5* hotels on the island.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    361
    103
    34
    21
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A magic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a magic dinner with my wife in La Sal few days ago.

I do not remember exactly the names of the dishes but for first course we had the famous specialty with the fried prawns and the avocado-mango salsa. Then for main course we had fish (my wife) and the mixed plate for my self (which includes chicken, beef, prawns and shrimps with 2 different sauces and 2 salads if i remember well). Finally for dessert we had the two most famous , the chocolate tart and the chocolate filled brownie. We also had coconut juice (real coconut cleaned and server cold). Everything was really tasty and good but the first course is the best we ever had in any restaurant around the world. We already miss it!

From the very first moment the personnel was really nice friendly and helpful. They explained everything to us and they helped us choose our food. Btw there is a good offer , for 120 RM you can have any 1st course, any main course and any dessert.

Especially 2 guys, one with glasses ( I am really really sorry that I do not remember your name) and Pat they are amazing. It is a privilege for any hotel to have employees like them. I am sure that their manager will give them all the praise they deserve.

The restaurant is very clean, the atmosphere is magic, the music, the lights everything is wonderful. You can sit by the beach under the coconut trees admiring the sunset but there is always some backup in case of bad weather.

With my wife we decided that we will stay in Casa del Mar next time that we will visit Langkawi.

Thank you for the magic dinner Casa del Mar!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Beautiful setting, menu options and value. So many menu options - hard to choose but ask the staff for a recommendation - you can't go wrong. We dined one night and had to return the next night it was so good and such great value for a hotel (we were also staying at the Hotel). The tasing platter is a MUST! and the prawn entree!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great views and top service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I saw the good reviews on trip advosor and a couple we met also recommended it.

We were not disappointed. It is a bit more expensive than some of the local restaurants, but with very good reason. The food is a league above the others we have tried. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough england
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“not as good as we thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

we had high hopes for this place but the food was only average and the service was slow to the point we had to shout to get noticed at times

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sal at Casa Del Mar also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Kuala Teriang, Langkawi
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to La Sal at Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sal at Casa Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.