We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duty Free shopping, location is the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of My Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added My Hotel to your Saves list
My Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 557 & 559, Bandar Kuah, Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Kuah
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Duty Free shopping, location is the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The first impression of the hotel is Location. It located inside the Kuah Town, duty free shops, Malay food stalls, shop lots are all within 5 mins walking distance, very convenient. For those who like to do duty free shopping, this hotel is the ideal choice.

Room condition: Acceptable. Bed is clean, air condition works fine. The wall paint is a bit old. The TV channel selection is very limited.

Food: The breakfast selection is super limited, only provide fried rice, fried mee, fried egg, nuggets, cereals, plain bread...need to be improve. I saw not many hotel guest at the cafe, since the cafe is small and air ventilation is poor.

Hotel environment: The lobby has no enough air condition, once you stepped in, feel hot and uncomfortable. The lift waiting area has the same problem too. When I was there, only one lift was working, the other one was under repaired, cause the hotel guests need to wait for long time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went there for a vacation with my family last December. There were six of us. Initially we thought of booking two rooms. However the staff at the counter went through all the rooms available and proposed the family suite. It was impressive as there were six single beds and I was so delighted that we all can be in one room. It cost only RM350 including the sue charge during the peak season and breakfast for six. it was a pleasant stay. The room had one bathroom and was clean. It was quite spacious as well. I would really suggest this place if you are traveling with your family. The breakfast was alright, they had toast, spagetti, nasi lemak, nuggets and coffee/ tea. It is located in town area. There is a night market everyday near the hotel. Beside that they also have a lot of duty free shop around the area together with seafood restaurant. Everything is at walking distance. Have fun

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuantan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only 1 night. If you're looking for a place to sleep, this hotel suites you, but if you want more...please look for other hotel in Langkawi. The service is poor , nobody will ever help you out with your luggage ,you can't extent checkout till 1 pm, breakfast was horrible -few to choose from & the taste was awful.The coffee house only till 10 am , although earlier when we checked in the reception staff told us we can still order for in room dining till 10 pm.However when we call to order at night , there is nothing for us to order.Just imagine after a day of exploring Langkawi, we're all exhausted & still have to go outside to look for dinner!
I & my family will never again stay in this hotel, just like I mentioned earlier , if you're looking for a place to sleep, this hotel may do, but if you're expecting more, just go to other hotel that I reviewed earlier.Have a nice trip to Langkawi, get your self a better place so that your trip to Langkawi will be a memorable trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel has big room & lovely balcony which have a great view. Looking at the rear side of the hotel it just look like unfinish hotel (scaffolding still there). The floor dont have a carpet so its quite cold & not suitable for family which have kids.

The bathroom has unstable hot water. So we end up need to boiler the water for our infant to bath. The breakfast was dissapointing. The chicken curry was not cooked properly & was still rare. Other dish is just normal. Slow to replenish. Need to get up early to get a proper meal.

The location of the hotel was superb. Walking distance to shopping places & night market. If you wish to come to langkawi just for a short trip (shopping trip) this might be an ideal place..

Cons : Water heater problem.

Pros : A walking distance from nearby market at night & duty free shops. Great view!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the sea / kuah town view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

With it's brightly painted exterior and the hotel next door painted to resemble the Malaysiabn flag it would be difficult to lose this hotel after a heavy night...

The hotel is clean and basic, it has huge rooms, with not much in them. Massive, comfortable beds (seriously, these beds are big enough to sleep about 5 people - but this is Malaysia and that is unlikely to happen in a fun way,...). The bathrooms are clean, but in the five days I stayed there, I didn't have one single shower that wasn't freezing. There are fridges in the rooms, but these are for storage, (as oppose to being a minibar). The staff are extremely friendly, but the language barrier lead to some misunderstandings (laundry disappeared for 3 days, several taxis turning up at once etc)

Eating at My hotel... What can I say? Breakfast is an interesting experience - get up early as they tend to stop bringing out food at around 9.30. They is an omlette bar, but normally has a big queue. I think it might have been the time of year and the guests that were also in the hotel, but it was a little like the first day of sales at Harrods - I swear someone would have stabbed me if I got in the way of their toast. That said, the food quality was ok, nothing special, and a far cry from the treats to be had in Penang.

There is internet access in the lobby - Wifi and the world's slowest computer - free to use for guests. There is a small market across the road from the hotel for eating at night, but if you want a beer with your dinner you will need to either bring your own, or eat somewhere else - can get a little smelly with the heat and the bins...

My Hotel is about 5 minutes drive from the port, but as it is so close you will probably need to queue for a cab as the drivers are more interested in the larger fares.

This hotel is about 3 minutes' walk from the heart of Kuar, although, unless you are looking for some duty-free "bargains" there isn't a huge amount to do in the day or the night, it lacks the nightlife that you get in other places on the island.

All in all, would I stay there again? Well, probably not, but this is not reflective of the hotel, but the town. My advice is to head to the Cenang Beach - which is about 30 minutes by car - this has more to offer tourists, more restaurants - an actual beach - bars and generally is more laid back.

Room Tip: Go to Cenang Beach unless you have a real need for duty free booze and cigarettes (and suit cases)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Inspite some of the negative comments, I stayed at this hotel recently on a friend's recommendation and very surprised to find that the hotel was pretty good. The check in staff especially a young lady by the name of Farah was extremely helpful while the rest were very polite. Excellent location, duty free shops and restaurants just 5 minutes away. The only set back is the morning breakfast need improvements badly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I am on business meeting and pick this Hotel on recommendation, I am satisfied at the service, the room well kept, staff is polite and resourceful plus its very strategic as Hj Ismail Group is across the street for shopping . Good Hotel overall,Keep it up.

Room Tip: choose the one overlooking the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to My Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Hotel

Address: Lot 557 & 559, Bandar Kuah, Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Kuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Kuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — My Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your My Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Hotel Langkawi/Kuah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.