We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay in an idyllic spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dirbach Plage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dirbach Plage Hotel to your Saves list
Dirbach Plage Hotel
Dirbach 9153, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dirbach B&B and Inns
Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay in an idyllic spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had a previous most enjoyable stay at this hotel so when we decided to break our drive from UK to Zurich overnight it was a natural choice to stay - in both directions. The rooms are clean and cozy and whilst the fairly small shower/washbasin/wc cubicles may not suit everyone there are rooms with bath available. The setting of the hotel beside a trout river in the hamlet of Dirbach in the forest is idyllic which, combined with an excellent restaurant made it a perfect place to relax. I have noticed some comments relating to breakfast being only ok but wonder if the writers are more used to an English breakfast. We found the continental breakfast we enjoyed more than adequate. And yes the views of the cliff from the rear bedrooms are not that exciting, but as we essentially only used the rooms for sleeping this really was not an issue. There is plenty of downstairs seating with views of the river both inside and outside so no one is confined to their bedroom. However rooms at the front do have a nicer view and for Luxembourg the hotel rates are extremely reasonable so perhaps the answer is to pay a little more for these. The proprietor and staff were most friendly and helpful and I certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A delightful hotel where all front rooms and the dining area have a view over a river fed lake formed by a small man made weir. The hotel is reached by walking the pedestrian access bridge across the lake. Cars are parked on the opposite side of the river to the hotel. A very convivial atmosphere was created by the hosts. From our dinner table at night we watched the fish rising to catch insects for their evening meal while we enjoyed the excellent restaurant cuisine, admirably supported by local and imported wines. Our attic room on the top floor was simply furnished, comfortable and warm. The view from our room of the river and valley was stunning. All we could hear was the water going over the weir and the birds. The bathroom was tiny just like on a boat, but fun. The tasty breakfast was lacking the choice often found in hotels but was adequate. The setting, the warm hosts and charm mean this is definitely a location for a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for the view. The back rooms face the cliff face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eyemouth scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Read the mixed reveiws of this hotel, staff where friendly and welcoming, rooms clean comfortable and large, only disappontment was the view of a cliff side, would stay there again. Location was good. Breakfast was ok,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The fact that we were booking a room that was on the backside of the hotel was mentioned several times during booking. When we arrived and entered our room, we noticed why...no view whatsoever, but solid rock within a meter of the window. That made the room a bit dark, even during daytime. No problem however, because we would spend only one night there.
Welcome in the hotel was ok. Room ityelf was ok. The size of the room was more then ok: a double bed, a single bed and a table and a couple of chairs and still enough room to walk around. But it had the smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. It is a miracle how they managed to get a shower, toilet and a washbasin in such a small space. It was clean though, and that is what counts for me.
If you sleep light, you might have problems with the noise that the wooden stairs, doors and floorboards make.
Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, but maybe we are a bit spoiled. A croissant per person, some french bread. Cheese, ham honey and other were availble , as was coffee and tea, but it lacked the choice we are accustomed in other hotels. And for the price we paid we might have expected more.
As mentioned, check in was fine, checkout also. We even got a bottle of wine as a present when we left..
Would I stay here again? Yes I would. The staff is very friendly, the surrroundings of the hotel are beautiful, the room spacious. And that balances with the mediocre breakfast and the small bathroom.

Room Tip: If you like a view, ask for a room at the front of the hotel. But: the rooms at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a cabin. Our cabin was new and very clean and comfortable for two adults and two kids. There is a gas oven but no electric kettle in the kitchenette.

The owners of the hotel are extremely friendly and are trying to help in any way they can. The restaurant is excellent and very moderately priced.

A few points to be aware of:

The name of the place is a bit deceptive: it is more a fishing place than a beach. The water in the river was 14 degrees centigrade.

The location is away from its all. If you are into sightseeing - it is easy to go to Vianden but Luxembourg City is too far. Dirbach is a tiny village of a few (mostly holiday) homes surrounded by woods.

Those who are staying in the cabins have to order breakfast or even fresh bread an evening before. You can not just change your mind and pop up for breakfast in the morning. The charge is 10 Eur per person.

Finally the toilet in our cabin was really small and I mean it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here over the Easter weekend. The place is overall quite nice, in a green setting and very quiet. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, and the bungalows are simple but have all that's needed. Our only complaint was that some of the fees were not disclosed on the website or once we made a reservation, i.e. heating and cleaning fees. When we were there, despite being April, it was still very cold so that heating the bungalow was not a question. In fact, as soon as we checked in, we were told that they had turn on the heat in our bungalow - we were not informed that there woud be an additional EUR 40 charge for that nor we were asked if we were ok with it. Similarly, at the moment of checking out and settling the bill, we found out that there would be a EUR 60 cleaning fee unless we wanted to clean it ourselves. Now, this is quite misleading. Price was definitely a consideration in choosing this place and we compared their fees with the ones from other hotels closeby. By hiding fees this way they look more competitive although in reality they are not. That's very honest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I spent one night with my family here.

The place is a treasure if you look for a tranquil outing. The hotel is situated in a valley to which the road drives through spectacular surroundings. It is alongside a walking path so if you fancy hiking, it is the right place.

We did not try out but you can buy/hire a fishing rod and fish for trout in the little river the hotel is build upon.

The room was spacious, we enjoyed a very good sleep. The only negative is the size of the bathroom which is more a bathcabine where the toilette is integrated into less than 1.5 sqm space.

Restaurant: it took quite a while to get our food but on the other side it was extremely abundant and very-very delicous. Comme il faut! We barely could eat all what we got - so for the size of the dish! ;) Give it a try, your palate will thank you :)

The owners are very friendly, they speak several languages - unfortunately this was not valid for the personell but we got along with some pantomim and mix of 3-4 languages ;)

While we were there in a sunny time, at indian summer, the morning was chilly and misty so prepare some warm cloths and water resistant boots: remember it is in a valley.

In a nutshell: we were happy to have selected this hotel for our weekend trip and can recommend it to anyone who loves calmness and the touch of nature.

PS: there are plenty of little villages around, worth to go/bike and visit them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dirbach Plage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dirbach Plage Hotel

Address: Dirbach 9153, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Dirbach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dirbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dirbach Plage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirbach Plage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.