We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When do you renovate?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“When do you renovate?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I love the location of Mayang Sari and its beautiful and big chalets. Since I leave in Singapore and I am a cyclist, I often go there to train.
The staff is nice and we always spend a nice week end but every time it struck me how poorly the maintenance of the rooms is (and especially the bathroom). The shower is extremely corroded and greenish, the support of the shower is missing some pieces; the shower curtain is disgusting; the soap dispenser is inappropriate for a so-called 4 star hotel and the tub and toilet are veeery old and not functional.
The housekeeping must have a hard job in cleaning these old huts but again, for a so-called 4 star, geico excrements around the shower and stained pillow and sheets are not acceptable. Also, the beach towel should be changed once in a while (they seems to have at least 10 years of life and washing).
The food is ok in the main restaurants but nothing special. However, I strongly suggest the Thai and Japanese restaurant: delicious (The Japanese is very expensive though).

In conclusion, I can simply say that it’s a problem of pricing and category. If the hotel does some renovations (strongly advised due to the new development of Lagoi Bay and Tresure Bay) they could state to be a 4 * if not they should downgrade to a 3 stars not to disappoint the clients' expectations.

Room Tip: Mayang Sari rooms are bigger than Nirwana Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    160
    80
    17
    17
See reviews for
99
158
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The accommodation was 3 star, but the food was good. Able to get vegetarian fare. The chef was too good.
A lot of improvement needs to be done on the maintenance & upkeep of the independent row houses.
All was over written by the awesome location & pristine beach

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The accommodation is only three star but the beachfront position and the great staff make up for any shortcomings with the chalets. Our main gripe was the state of the bathroom and especially the one (and only) cold tap over the hand basin.
All beachfront chalets are only steps from one of the most beautiful beaches we have had the pleasure of staying at; garden chalets not far behind.
Also it was handy to have the two other resorts for added facilities and eateries, along with the off site fish and thai restaurants. Thought the fish restaurant overpriced and one of our steak meals at the Bistro Cafe at the hotel was so tough it was inedible. Apart from that Spice Restaurant at Mayang Sari excellent and pizza at the BeachClub very good also.
The staff, without exception, were fantastic. So friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. Special mention are Yayat, the restaurant manager, and the head chef, J Kunalan. Also our lovely man in the Spice Restaurant who was always waiting to seat us and attend to us. We had fun learning some Indonesian words from him as well. His name escapes us although I think someone else mentioned him in a review as well.
We would definitely recommend this place for anyone wanting an idyllic holiday at a beautiful location.

Room Tip: All chalets are well positioned, although the two blocks either side and closest to the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are looking for tranquility and beauty, this will be the right location for you. The beach huts are cozy and the beach is fantastic. Staff throughout the hotel is great- very helpful and friendly. Most of the other comments are true.. the place is a bit dated, our bathroom has not been updated since the 80s, there are ants and broken handle etc. but is functional, and looks like they are in process of updating their rooms, we just got an old ones, that's all. If you are looking for a luxury.. this ain't, but is rustic, coay and peaceful! We definitely preferred this hotel to her big sister Nirwana Resort Hotel, where the pool is. The food options is also quite limiting within the Nirwana garden resort, and pricey for what you get in general. We find the Spice restaurant in Mayang Sari provides quite good food, but the Pool side restaurant in Nirwana Resort Hotel serves awful food, stay away. Food court option in the Resort center is not bad. Thai restaurant is also good but also pricey, though restaurant view is fab there! Overall we have a fun and fantastic stay with a 4 years old and 7 months old, thanks to the staff, beautiful beach.. and the fun elephant ride!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The sea view is excellent and our room is just literally one step to the beach which is not overly crowded and has a exclusive feel.

Within walking distance from the main resort and the swimming pool.

Very good for couples and a quiet vacation.

Although price is higher than normal hotel rooms, it is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is located within Nirwana Garden, which is well maintained resort area operated by Nirwana group. This hotel is at right next to beach. Restaurant is in open air and quite nice atmosphere with good variety of food (Asian, Indian, Western, etc.). However, as we stayed 3 nights, the choice for dinner became limited. Breakfast buffet is excellent compared to its price. All the hotel staffs are very friendly and kind. Most of them recognized that we are Japanese and they explain in Japanese. Of course they speak excellent English as well. On the last night of our stay, we walked to Nirwana Resort Hotel, where there are many more choices of restaurants and food. I liked Mayang Sari Beach Resort better, because it is small scale, which means less clouded, and again the staffs there are very friendly. The beach is very clean, wide, and almost no people there. I learned that there are only 50 rooms in Mayang Sari Beach Resourt. That's why not many people. Inside the room looks authentic Indonesian style with minimum equipped. Space is plenty. We had king size bed with one extra bed (single). There was enough space to two more extra beds in fact. In the night, we didn't need air conditioner at all. In day time, when it was raining, we could just sit on the deck in front of the room to watch rain and enjoy its natural sound, read book, etc. WiFi was available in the main building (lobby, restaurant and on the beach close to the building). Staying away from Internet is one important element to relax. I think this hotel would be my regular place to visit.

Meanwhile, not only in this hotel, I didn't need to have Indonesian Rupiah but just need Singapore dollar in Bintan island. For people from Singapore, you will need insect repellant. Mosquitoes and ants will bite you otherwise.

Room Tip: The rooms facing beach should be much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Over the past 10 years i have stayed at Mayang Sari Beach Resort numerous times with my wife, kids, friends, and extended family. Generally we spend a weekend relaxing on the beach or having drinks on the patio. While the resort is showing its age (though they have been renovating the beach huts), the staff have proven themselves time and again to be some of the best i have encountered. From preparing special meals for my kids, to the friendliness extended by everyone, from the security staff to the waiters at both Nirwarna and Mayang Sari. IF you are looking for a relaxing weekend away from Singapore, and do not want the hustle and bustle of the many resorts dotting the region. Go to Mayang Sari. I freely admit i wish you do not go so i can enjoy the peace of the place all to myself!

Mardm26-- its common sense to advise the wait staff when you make your order of your allergies, as well as when they serve the food. If in doubt ask to speak to the chef.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are lovely especially if you have kids as you can watch them on the beach. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#8 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#5 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
25.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
3.7 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#7 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.