We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
batam
1 review
“Great beach line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very good for a short relaxing getaway. Convenience within reach in 2 hrs by ferry from Tanah Merah Ferry terminal. You can immediately feel at different world once you reach this wonderful sandy beach.

Room Tip: Chalet type of rooms. Chalet next to the sea front is the BEST ; My prefered chalet Octopus or Dolph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    148
    79
    17
    14
See reviews for
88
152
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

An amazing trip. Room was alittle rundown and old but everything was still working. Cozy spacious room with a tall ceiling. Clean spacious bathroom. The beach was definitely a highlight. Very clean and well maintained. I basically was lulled to sleep by the waves. Food on the otherhand depended on the place. I found the Kelong Restaurant very delightful. Food and service was top notch as was location. Shuttle bus services made the whole resort very convienient to travel around. Not much to do in the resort but awesome for a 2 day getaway from the city. Prices were quite overpriced. I highly recommend the hotel over the main Nirwana Gardens beach resort, the extra price is worth the quietness and tranquility and the top notch service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel
This is a place to relax. The hotel good, staff good and everything for a break with nothing to do. Check in was quick and had booked for a seaview chalet so the beach view was good. We got the Sea Turtle and sea was quite close. In the morning, the water was at high tide and got up just to have a walk on the beach. Hotel Spices was average for Indian food but overall acceptable. Buffet breakfast had sufficient varieties.
Room Facilities
As many mentioned the place looks old but it is acceptable as a part of beach living. The aircon is a bit slow, you need to know to operate. Just leave it ON for sometime to let the room cool. Fan isnt really helpful.
Activities
In Jan. the beach was full of sea weeds & corrals. The North East Monsoon period is really bad and had some ship oil tan stuck to my shirt for ever. That said... this is a good place to travel in Jun. I had to travel again in Jun. In Jun, the beach was clean with almost zero sea weeds. The water was clear and depth was not much so you can safely enter a good distance into the water. Most of the time we had ended up in the beach or in the Resort center trying out some of their games. We also took the mangrove tour. It is less pricey on a weekday vs weekend. It was so.. so.. Snorkeling tour is not worth it as water is turbid and depth of water was very low that you keep getting stuck in the corals but are not allowed to touch it :) It was difficult as some of them did not know swimming and we had to spend most of time keeping them away from getting close to the low water area. Maybe first time snorkelers can have some try but would suggest to go to Tioman for such activities. Jetski was also pricey but using it for first time gave us a good feel. Take a in-room massage and go to sleep.
Overall
Take a break and relax by the beach. The place is good for taking photos. Pricey but forget it as it is your vacation.

Room Tip: Seaview chalet towards the left end of the resort have beach closer and better view. Towards the rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to Bintan Island in February this year and stayed at this property for one night. The resort has got connectivity to ferry terminal which is good and makes the transfer easier. The resort is a part of Nirwana resort and has easy accessiblity to all the other restaurants and rides within Nirwana. The rooms are spacious, nice and clean. The beach is very good. Only thing is the time, as our ferry reached by afternoon and then we had very less time left to enjoy beach activity. Most of the rides also get over by 5, or either stay here for 2 nights or come early to enjoy all the rides. They also have Javan spa facility neaby, which is very good!!

Room Tip: Go in the right season and reach lil early to enjoy all the rides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Mayang Sari. Yes, it was so good we went back again, and for five days at that.

Then again, it really depends on what you are looking for. If you are looking for a place to chill, soak up the sun and sea, and not do very much at all, this is the place to be at. If you are the type of person who measures the worth of a vacation by the number of activities involved, you may be better off at one of the other more mainstream resorts, although there is a free shuttle that takes you around to the other Nirwana-owned places. We took it once to check out the pool at Nirwana Gardens.

We had a lovely seaview chalet. What better way than to be lulled to sleep by the crashing waves. And to take five steps and get onto a beach that we didn’t have to share with more than four people at any one time (this was July) was pretty amazing. What we also appreciated was the little deck attached to each chalet. We spent lots of time on it reading and chilling while waiting for our sunblock to properly adhere to our skin. The beach itself was clean, and the water was clear enough. Watch closely and you will see fish, and if you aren’t so lucky, jellies. You would hardly believe that Singapore is but 40 minutes away. Regarding the chalets themselves however- they have obviously seen better times. They do need some sprucing-up in the form of a paint-job and new sheets. It would be such a waste otherwise. There were occasional times when we felt that our almost perfect experience had been let down by stained sheets, flakey walls, and the mould that collected in the bathroom along the ledge where the tiles ended and the yellow walls began.

The real saving grace however was the top-notch service by the staff at Mayang Sari. They did everything with a smile, and it as cliche as this might sound, they always went that extra mile. A few instances here of how they made us feel at home.

(1) When we were checking in, we realised that our favourite chalet had been taken. We enquired if we could switch chalets some time during our stay, and the receptionist, Antonio, gladly informed us that our favourite chalet would become available the next day. And even though he wasn’t going to be around the next day, he left a message for his colleagues, and the room transfer was effortless. They even got someone down to help us transfer rooms.

2) We only brought one toothbrush by mistake, and were prepared to have to fork out an unreasonable amount of money for one, as is expected of resorts built far away from civilisation. But our fears were unfounded- the people at the reception provided us not one but two sets of toothbrushes complete with miniature toothpaste tubes.

3) We had no bottle openers and the people at the reception did not hesitate heading over to the cafe to help us open a couple of coolers that we had brought along.

4) And then there were those packets of mosquito repellant. Yes, beware the mozzies. Slather on some repellant in the evening, and you’ll be fine. Room service had initially left us two packets of repellant. I think they noticed that we had been using them- there was a half-used packet on one of the bedside stands- and the next day, they doubled the number of packets to four! How very thoughtful!

5) Last but not least, it was raining cats and dogs when it came time to check out. The people at the reception actually sent a buggy over to our chalet to get us and the driver was concerned when we said we could make our own way to the reception building.

It really is the little things that matter most.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Charming chalets with wooden floorboards and woody decor. Neat and clean and but not very well maintained (i.e. evidence of wear and tear over the years). However, I would still recommend it as the service staff are very polite and accommodating, and will go out of their way to help and address any queries or requests.

Gorgeous beach with fine sand and clear water.

I'd definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The resort is a quick 45 min ferry ride away. If budget permits, opt for Emerald class which allows for a separate check in lounge where you can wait in comfort with the coffee machine, biscuits, small playground for the children and generally a calmer boarding experience. On the Bintan side, Emerald Class passengers only need to show up at the counter with luggage, hand over their passports and wait confortably in the lounge while the staff clears immigration for them and checks in the luggage.

Mayang Sari itself consists of groups of wooden chalets that surround the beach. We stayed in 2 of the Dragonfly chalets and although we booked a garden view room, the chalets were built such that ours had a sea view too! The rooms are definitely old and basic. The floorboards have gaps and "retro" would be an apt description for the bathrooms. But both rooms and bathrooms were clean. We saw lines of black garden ants on one of our room walls but since we made sure not to leave any opened snacks in the room, they did not trouble us and disappeared once we turned on the lights and airconditioning in the room. We asked houskeeping to provide us with room slippers and once you slip these on, everything feels much better.

Do try the services at the Kedaton spa. Although prices at the hotel spa are double what may be available outside, the service and ambience make it worth the extra expense. We had lovely massages and there is a promotion in May for 2 people at $200 total. Our spa experience was 90 min long and included a footwash, tumeric scrub, yoghurt rub and aromatherapy massage. The manicure and pedicure experiences were equally enjoyable. Do note that mani/pedi services and the hair treatments are carried out at the Kedaton Spa Warung at Nirwana main hotel. This means that you need to take the Kedaton Spa car to Nirwana. The car will send your there and pick you up at the end of your spa treatment.

The food at the Kelong restaurant and Spice Restaurant were of a very good standard. Prices at the Kelong restaurant were not cheap but the seafood was very fresh. We had buffet dinner one night at the coffeeshop at Nirwana Gardens. That was the worst meal of the trip and one of the most expensive. At $34++ per person which isn't exactly peanuts, our table encountered a bad coconut, overcooked beef wellington, not-fresh scallops and mussels, sour vanilla for the crepe suzette and soured bananas in coconut milk. Skip this restaurant. We should have.

The food at the food court is decent as well. We ordered a few local dishes such as ayam kecap, ikan bakar and the bakso to share and these were freshly prepared and tasty.

Prices at the resort centre for souvenirs were the cheapest. The Mandaling shop at the resort centre also sells kopi lewak (civet cat coffee) in beautiful little boxes that make great gifts. The resort provided us with complimentary coupons for 2 free bowling games per room but sadly we didnt get a chance to use them. All the polo shops in the resort may carry different seasons clothing and hence discounts available may differ from shop to shop with the one at Nirwana Gardens being the most expensive and the one at mayang sari considerably cheaper. The only shop which carries childrens' polo clothes is the Nirwana Gardens gift shop.

Words such as rustic, quaint charm and simple describe mayang sari perfectly. The beach is suprisingly clean but there are jellyfish in the water. So if you do go to mayang sari, be prepared and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.