We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach short getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beach short getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Bintan island is just 45 minutes away from Singapore. The resort is next to the beach, it is a bit run-down, however pretty rustic with its natural beauty. It is part of a bigger Nirwana Garden hotel, which has several facilities like swimming pool, water sports facilities, elephant, horse attraction, as well as bowling alley. There are several restaurants within vicinity, the one we always go to is the kelong (seafood). However everything is priced with Singapore Dollar even though the island is part of Indonesia, which makes it expensive holiday .. Nevertheless the service is good, they are pretty flexible when i booked through Agoda, even though it has no change date policy, but they allow me to change due to important need. My family love the mini zoo, restaurants and swimming pool. The food in kelong is great ..

Room Tip: Beach view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    140
    73
    15
    14
See reviews for
83
142
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Pros: Close to the airport, cordial staff, clean beach,
Cons: No swimming pool, expensive, aged rooms, bathrooms from the 80's

This property does not have a pool of its own and shares it with another Nirwana hotel nearby, a 5 min ride ( by shuttle) or 15 mins walk. Even though there is a shuttle every 30 mins you don't ideally want a commute in the middle of your vacation. Not especially if you paid S$ 280/night as we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

For a Wednesday-Saturday hotel in the monsoon season, we had a fantastic experience. We knew in advance that the facilities were a little run down. Having a fancy room or bathroom was not as important to us as the quiet and being right on the beach. The experience was even better than we could have asked for. We had an extremely quiet room, right on the beach. There were other people around, but not many, and we never felt crowded. The buffet breakfast was a little peculiar, from an American perspective, and there was so much choice that it was always easy to construct a good meal. The service was attentive without being intrusive. The setting is gorgeous. We ate takeout from the Thai restaurant on the property and the food was very, very good and the service and caring from the staff impressive. They were very concerned that we were doing takeout, not eating in, and wanted us to have a good experience.

We were hit up for a bribe on the way into Indonesia for bringing wine with us. All pretty straightforward, and as we knew what to expect from reviews (give up your wine or give us cash in singapore dollars), and the price wasn't exorbitant (and far cheaper than buying inferior wine there), we just paid and went about our business. The ferry over was fine. Worth spending the extra for the service that got visas. The shuttle to the resort V E R Y slow to get going, and we were dripped upon because we sat under the skylight/sunroof.

Overall, a totally out-of-this-world, quiet, peaceful, beautiful, restful few days to ourselves in a beach paradise. We didn't leave the resort, as we weren't there to do anything but relax. Internet totally adequate (not blazing fast, and fine for our purposes; I even downloaded an episode from iTunes at one point).

Really fantastic retreat for us, at a totally reasonable, high value price.

Room Tip: We wanted quiet and paid a small supplement for being on the beach. I think the huts/lodging not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Came here for 5 days with my partner and felt it was a fantastic place. The beach is good and clean, service was good and the rooms were quite special. The only thing we thought could be better was the room service. When the food arrived, it was cold and didn't tasted good.

Other than that, would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We checked into Mayang Sari Beach Resort on a Friday, and were hoping for a short and sweet getaway weekend. Mayang Sari Beach Resort did not dissapoint us. Only one tiny bit of problem - STRICTLY check in at 2pm. Not even 10 min earlier. We were there waited for about 2 hours before we could get our room.
Quiet and nice resort. We stayed in garden view room but it is less than 1 min walking distance to the beach. So, don't think it should ever pay for extra money for the beach front room. In fact, garden view room will provide more privacy.
Had our lunch at Spice, very friendly staff. Give them a like. Had our dinner at Keelong Seafood Restaurant too. Food was ok. It is more like a Chinese restaurant to me though. So, please do not expect a fine dining kind of thing in Keelong. Restaurant link to a Jetty which you may consider to have a drink there after dinner from Keelong

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My first time to Bintan, and would not return to this beach. The staff were nice enough if a bit inefficient - over 40 mins to get a drink at the pool bar and we were the only ones trying to get served.....overpriced alcohol (60 s$ a bottle of wine at lowest) The rooms on the beach were spacious but a bit tired, and I have had better bathrooms in beachhuts in Thailand for a 10th of the price. The worst thing was the amount of tar on the beach - lumps and lumps of it. Not the resort's fault, but disgusting and hard to get off your feet - rendering the beautiful looking beach unusable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 days.The sea was lovely,very rough waters. I had oil slicks on my feet.They do warn you about it.The chalets are spacious but quite run down.Bathroom needs complete makeover.
Food and drinks,internet use are charged in Singapore Dollars at all the Nirwana hotels.
Strange as it is on Indonesian waters!!
Nothing much to see and do except read and relax.
Breakfast was not up to much.A local coconut costs me more then SD 7 plus taxes.
Since I did not take my laptop,had to take the free shuttle to Nirwana hotel to check mail.Quite an inconvenience.
Staff at hotel dont tell you other places of interest except the designated shopping area at Lagoi where the locals wait for tourists.
It was as if we were trapped in that community of hotels with Tanjong Pinang an hours drive away.The Kelong restaurant served excellent Black Pepper Crab-that was the best part of our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same except for sea view .Choose 'Turtles' block as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.