We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice getaway for a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice getaway for a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We checked into Mayang Sari Beach Resort on a Friday, and were hoping for a short and sweet getaway weekend. Mayang Sari Beach Resort did not dissapoint us. Only one tiny bit of problem - STRICTLY check in at 2pm. Not even 10 min earlier. We were there waited for about 2 hours before we could get our room.
Quiet and nice resort. We stayed in garden view room but it is less than 1 min walking distance to the beach. So, don't think it should ever pay for extra money for the beach front room. In fact, garden view room will provide more privacy.
Had our lunch at Spice, very friendly staff. Give them a like. Had our dinner at Keelong Seafood Restaurant too. Food was ok. It is more like a Chinese restaurant to me though. So, please do not expect a fine dining kind of thing in Keelong. Restaurant link to a Jetty which you may consider to have a drink there after dinner from Keelong

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    133
    71
    14
    14
See reviews for
81
132
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My first time to Bintan, and would not return to this beach. The staff were nice enough if a bit inefficient - over 40 mins to get a drink at the pool bar and we were the only ones trying to get served.....overpriced alcohol (60 s$ a bottle of wine at lowest) The rooms on the beach were spacious but a bit tired, and I have had better bathrooms in beachhuts in Thailand for a 10th of the price. The worst thing was the amount of tar on the beach - lumps and lumps of it. Not the resort's fault, but disgusting and hard to get off your feet - rendering the beautiful looking beach unusable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 days.The sea was lovely,very rough waters. I had oil slicks on my feet.They do warn you about it.The chalets are spacious but quite run down.Bathroom needs complete makeover.
Food and drinks,internet use are charged in Singapore Dollars at all the Nirwana hotels.
Strange as it is on Indonesian waters!!
Nothing much to see and do except read and relax.
Breakfast was not up to much.A local coconut costs me more then SD 7 plus taxes.
Since I did not take my laptop,had to take the free shuttle to Nirwana hotel to check mail.Quite an inconvenience.
Staff at hotel dont tell you other places of interest except the designated shopping area at Lagoi where the locals wait for tourists.
It was as if we were trapped in that community of hotels with Tanjong Pinang an hours drive away.The Kelong restaurant served excellent Black Pepper Crab-that was the best part of our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same except for sea view .Choose 'Turtles' block as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lovely time here. The beach was fab, it was very pretty. We stayed on a Friday to Sunday, but was quite quiet.

The drinks were extremely expensive. I can (small can 330ml) of beer was 7.00 to 9.00 Singapore dollars + 20% service. You cannot buy alcoholic drinks from the local shops. I had read previous reviews which suggest buying booze from the duty free in Singapore, I would recommend this, as it very over price for drinks.

The services was very good and the staff were very nice.

Like other reviews say, the rooms could do with a refurb, but they are basic and clean.

Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you love spending time on the beach and can ignore the fact that rooms have been ignored for years then this place is quite good. They want to create a rustic feeling and I get it but they can still maintain a decent flooring and furniture for the price charged. The restaurant is okay, buffet is decent as well. The rooms look good from the outside and open right into the sea which I absolutely loved and so did my 2 year old.

Beach is beautiful and not many people so you can just relax and have good time. There is a mini zoo near by which is not bad for small kids.

Room Tip: Go for sea turtle rooms, they are towards the end of the beach and quite close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A relaxing and quiet place to spend time together.
All the staff are really friendly & helpful. The service is excellent such as:
- the pickup staff already waiting at the ferry terminal when we arrived
- they're using their buggy car to drive us to our chalets when it rain
- frequent shuttle bus to travel inside the huge resort

The chalet is clean & spacious, although a little bit old.
The food is fresh & delicious, especially the seafood.

The beach is clean, the water is calm and the most important thing is it never crowded.
We saw a very beautiful double rainbow while swimming at the beach, lovely.

This place is rather expensive, but overall a nice place for relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The resort itself wasn't very new but it was well maintained. It had the old beach vibe with big, spacious rooms but well worn wood. The bathroom floor itself is stone which may not appeal to some, but it's all part of the beach-y feel.

Because we were there from a Wednesday to Friday on off-peak season, the resort was pretty empty (though there were a few others staying in the other Nirwana resorts) and the staff was very attentive and helpful. They always offered to help and give tips to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

Mayang Sari in particular is in the far off corner which keeps it secluded and quiet. The beach was great and there were a good number of beach chairs around for our use. Limiting our stay to Mayang Sari (with one occasional trip to the Chinese seafood restaurant nearby only once), the food in the resort was great at the Spice restaurant. Good Indonesian and Indian choices with a sufficient variety for breakfast. We definitely want to keep coming back!

Room Tip: Go during the off-peak season and get a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.