We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST PLACE TO STAY ON A HOLIDAY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas

Save Saved
You added Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“WORST PLACE TO STAY ON A HOLIDAY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

The villa was TERRIBLY run down. Air con in all 3 rooms were leaking when we arrived. The leak was so bad that the water soaked through the daybed that was under the aircon and dripped onto the wooden floorboard. A large area of the floor was damp and sticky as a result.

The rooms had a musty smell from all the dampness and were definately not conducive for staying. When we requested for a change in villa, the staff turned us down immediately and said they were fully booked, despite us seeing alot of EMPTY  villas throughout the time we were there.

The TV remote in the master room was missing and when we requested for a new remote the staff said it had been missing for 3 months and they won't be able to replace it within the 3 days we were there, which makes us wonder Why they didn't replace it during the 3 months in the first place.

It rained on the 2nd day and the roof  LEAKED! The master room bed frame was broken, room safe was spoilt and room door to the 2nd bedroom jammed and had to call the staff to get a locksmith.

Bintan have such nice sandy beaches but it's a pity the resort by Costa sands is so terribly maintained.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
27
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

There are plenty of better places to stay in Bintan than this hotel. Problems we encountered:
Leaking toilet in Ensuite meant that room was unusable for most of our stay.
Run down villa, very tired no where near the quality you'd expect for the price.
Every single sun bed by the villa pool was broken.
They charge extra for everything, even a game of table tennis on a rackety old table was $5.
Towels are treated like gold, every one is numbered and you have to bring the same number back or get charged $25 per towel. The towel would cost about $2 max.
Towels are collected earlier than the pool closes! if you don't hand it back- $25 per towel.
Over charged on checkout for room service I didn't have. When I proved it wasn't mine still no apology given.
When I wrote a letter of complaint post trip, they didn't even acknowledge it.

Do yourself a big favour and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked the 3 room Villa. We asked to be moved as the first Villa we were given was very unclean and had a bad smell to it. The second was much better. Overall the Villas are good. There is an en-suit in the main bedroom and another family bathroom, air-conditioning is only available in the bedrooms which makes the downstairs very hot during the day. The kitchen was well equipped with a fridge and microwave. You are able to use any of the facilities including the swimming pools within the Nirwana Gardens resort. The resort is very family oriented which was great as we were traveling in a group of 7 (5 Adults and 2 children [9 and 6 years]). The Management staff are a great help and are very friendly, as are all the domestic staff. My only complaint is that the pillows and bedding are very stained. I would have thrown them out years ago and replaced them. The pillows need pillow protectors on them so they can be removed and laundered after each guest. If I was to return to these villa, I would bring me own pillows with me as the ones they have on the beds, can only be described as disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We shared this villa with another family and had a wonderful time. The small (2 bedroom villa) is perfect for a weekend getaway. Each family had separate rooms, and we were able to put the toddlers to sleep upstairs and have our adult time hanging out in the living area downstairs. The open layout is great for entertaining and hanging out, and the villa is in pretty nice condition.

Some areas of improvement: the hotel seemed to be skimpy in villa necessities such as enough toilet paper (or extra toilet paper), kleenex boxes, salt pepper, and towels. We found ourselves having to call housekeeping all the time for all these extra necessities. Sometimes it would take a awhile to get what we needed.

The hotel grounds itself is beautiful. The beach is amazing, beautiful, and clean. The pool area is really nice, with a huge wading/kiddie pool for the little ones.

Area of improvement for a hotel: Please have conference events occur away from the shared/public area, such as the pool. The Sunday that we stayed there, relaxing by the pool was a little difficult as there was a a huge loudspeaker in the open grass area nearby, with very loud music playing, then a loud emcee leading groups in team-building games. I suggest moving those types of activities to a more remote area away from the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in the Villas over Chinese New Year. To be fair this is probably the busiest time of the year for the hotel (and therefore the highest priced) but the standard of the villas was still very disappointing. Everything is there (ish) but they're old and need refurbishing. Surprising lack of A/C downstairs in the villa. Service around the complex was OK but food choice and cost was disappointing, particularly for dinner. Prices clearly geared to the Singapore market.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Our 3 nights 2 day stay was pleasant. We purchase a family package thru holiday bagus. The staff was efficient and easy to communicate with.

Everything was good except that the food at the food court costly. SGD$5 for a kaya toasted kaya bread?! like SERIOUSLY?! The villa looks old and slightly rundown. They descent facilities perhaps due to low occupancy the resort looks like a ghost town. Good service from the hotel associates. We love the elephant ride and mangrove tour!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A quick getaway trip w my galfriends and I before our new semester started! We wanted a cheap holiday that was easy yet fun for us so Bintan was our top choice! All I can say is, it was worth the dollar, since each of us paid $30 for a 2-bedroom villa (there's 6 of us).

The room wasn't exactly the best of the best but for the price we paid, it was totally acceptable! The rooms was rather clean (altho the toilet on level 1 was dark). The pool was near our villa and there's a sauna for usage too.

Anyway, here's a few tips for you:
1) Avoid going during off-peak period because they use this period to do maintenance of their water sports activities. There was basically no watersports to do, except for jetskiing!

2) Never book spa sessions from the front desk area. It's expensive since they'll either send you to another resort or outside of the resort for the massage. Instead, do ask them to book a session for you at their recreation centre!

3) Use a credit card to make payments because e value of their currency is constantly fluctuating and I ended up paying lesser than I thought

4) Be very careful and remember to close your door! There's a resident monitor lizard living in the pond. And w e surroundings being dimly lit, its easy to trip and fall

5) Take time to look up into the sky. Its gorgeous, cos you getta see the sparklng stars shine so brightly!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Family VillasFor family get togethers or group gatherings, the Banyu Biru Villa is the ideal home away from home. Self-contained and fully furnished, this villa offers the comfort of a holiday home set against a tropical resort backdrop. Indulge yourself!For a different style of resort living, Banyu Biru offers 36 lovely self-contained villas suitable for families and groups. There are three attractive designs ranging from two-bedroom to three-bedroom villas, all fully furnished and equipped with kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.