We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

There are plenty of better places to stay in Bintan than this hotel. Problems we encountered:
Leaking toilet in Ensuite meant that room was unusable for most of our stay.
Run down villa, very tired no where near the quality you'd expect for the price.
Every single sun bed by the villa pool was broken.
They charge extra for everything, even a game of table tennis on a rackety old table was $5.
Towels are treated like gold, every one is numbered and you have to bring the same number back or get charged $25 per towel. The towel would cost about $2 max.
Towels are collected earlier than the pool closes! if you don't hand it back- $25 per towel.
Over charged on checkout for room service I didn't have. When I proved it wasn't mine still no apology given.
When I wrote a letter of complaint post trip, they didn't even acknowledge it.

Do yourself a big favour and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked the 3 room Villa. We asked to be moved as the first Villa we were given was very unclean and had a bad smell to it. The second was much better. Overall the Villas are good. There is an en-suit in the main bedroom and another family bathroom, air-conditioning is only available in the bedrooms which makes the downstairs very hot during the day. The kitchen was well equipped with a fridge and microwave. You are able to use any of the facilities including the swimming pools within the Nirwana Gardens resort. The resort is very family oriented which was great as we were traveling in a group of 7 (5 Adults and 2 children [9 and 6 years]). The Management staff are a great help and are very friendly, as are all the domestic staff. My only complaint is that the pillows and bedding are very stained. I would have thrown them out years ago and replaced them. The pillows need pillow protectors on them so they can be removed and laundered after each guest. If I was to return to these villa, I would bring me own pillows with me as the ones they have on the beds, can only be described as disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We shared this villa with another family and had a wonderful time. The small (2 bedroom villa) is perfect for a weekend getaway. Each family had separate rooms, and we were able to put the toddlers to sleep upstairs and have our adult time hanging out in the living area downstairs. The open layout is great for entertaining and hanging out, and the villa is in pretty nice condition.

Some areas of improvement: the hotel seemed to be skimpy in villa necessities such as enough toilet paper (or extra toilet paper), kleenex boxes, salt pepper, and towels. We found ourselves having to call housekeeping all the time for all these extra necessities. Sometimes it would take a awhile to get what we needed.

The hotel grounds itself is beautiful. The beach is amazing, beautiful, and clean. The pool area is really nice, with a huge wading/kiddie pool for the little ones.

Area of improvement for a hotel: Please have conference events occur away from the shared/public area, such as the pool. The Sunday that we stayed there, relaxing by the pool was a little difficult as there was a a huge loudspeaker in the open grass area nearby, with very loud music playing, then a loud emcee leading groups in team-building games. I suggest moving those types of activities to a more remote area away from the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in the Villas over Chinese New Year. To be fair this is probably the busiest time of the year for the hotel (and therefore the highest priced) but the standard of the villas was still very disappointing. Everything is there (ish) but they're old and need refurbishing. Surprising lack of A/C downstairs in the villa. Service around the complex was OK but food choice and cost was disappointing, particularly for dinner. Prices clearly geared to the Singapore market.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Our 3 nights 2 day stay was pleasant. We purchase a family package thru holiday bagus. The staff was efficient and easy to communicate with.

Everything was good except that the food at the food court costly. SGD$5 for a kaya toasted kaya bread?! like SERIOUSLY?! The villa looks old and slightly rundown. They descent facilities perhaps due to low occupancy the resort looks like a ghost town. Good service from the hotel associates. We love the elephant ride and mangrove tour!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A quick getaway trip w my galfriends and I before our new semester started! We wanted a cheap holiday that was easy yet fun for us so Bintan was our top choice! All I can say is, it was worth the dollar, since each of us paid $30 for a 2-bedroom villa (there's 6 of us).

The room wasn't exactly the best of the best but for the price we paid, it was totally acceptable! The rooms was rather clean (altho the toilet on level 1 was dark). The pool was near our villa and there's a sauna for usage too.

Anyway, here's a few tips for you:
1) Avoid going during off-peak period because they use this period to do maintenance of their water sports activities. There was basically no watersports to do, except for jetskiing!

2) Never book spa sessions from the front desk area. It's expensive since they'll either send you to another resort or outside of the resort for the massage. Instead, do ask them to book a session for you at their recreation centre!

3) Use a credit card to make payments because e value of their currency is constantly fluctuating and I ended up paying lesser than I thought

4) Be very careful and remember to close your door! There's a resident monitor lizard living in the pond. And w e surroundings being dimly lit, its easy to trip and fall

5) Take time to look up into the sky. Its gorgeous, cos you getta see the sparklng stars shine so brightly!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

In a nutshell - great service at Nirwana Gardens Resort, but our Banyu Biru villa (Suria 6) was quite old and run-down. It lacked many items that you would expect in a self-contained unit (eg., no washing machine or dryer or even clothes lines; no coffee maker; no rice cooker; the fridge was missing several shelves; there was only one small rubbish bin). But our a family of 5 adults and 3 young kids had a great time, partly due to the low occupancy rate mid-week and partly due to the good service provided.

We got an NTUC birthday deal to stay for 6 nights in one of the four Banyu Biru villas that NTUC owns (~SGD250 per night for a 3-BR villa). These villas are like two-storey townhouses. There seems to be about 15-20 of them and they are next to the main Nirwana Hotel so you can walk to the Hotel restaurants and facilties and use the same beach.

Actually, you don't need to walk very far at all, since it only takes one phone call to the Nirwana reception to summon a "buggy" to your villa. The buggies are like golf buggies and are a lot of fun (particularly for kids). We found the drivers were friendly and would always check that everyone was safely on the padded seat and holding onto the side rails; they would take us anywhere on the Nirwana Gardens complex. (This was how we discovered the mini zoo that's to the side of the main entrance into Nirwana. Our kids wanted to feed the deers, look at the crocodiles, snakes and eagles every day!)

Very few of the villas have an oceanview, but most are near an attractive system of ponds. In fact, the outlook in every direction from our villa was quite appealing.

Most appealing were the two good-sized swimming pools (the children's pool had a slide) that are only one or two minutes' walk from most of the villas. On weekdays, we had the pool mostly to ourselves and the pool attendant was quite liberal in allowing us to stay on after official closing time (6pm).

We found it very convenient to make phone calls to reception or housekeeping with any questions or requests. On our arrival and discovey of the missing items, they were quick to bring us the items (alas, no washing machine or dryer, though!). We also got extra towels every day (initially there were only 2 or 3 towels in the 3-BR villa!) Even more important for us, the housekeeping staff readily agreed to our request to clean the villa late morning (when were always out swimming) rather than in the afternoon when our kids were asleep.

So, what's wrong with the amenities? Old, run-down, cheap. The beds were very hard mattresses on wooden slats. The matress on one of the double beds almost fell through to the floor and we realised that the slats were out of alignment and some were broken. The maintenance people were quick to come and repair it when we rang. However, given the reasonable-sized bedrooms, we were amazed that the beds were small and uninspiring (when did you last sleep on an original "double bed" where your feet touch the end of the bed, rather than a Queen-sized bed or bigger)?

If the Management would just spend some money on decent beds, then we'd gladly recommend these villas. But if sleep is important to you, go elsewhere in Nirwana Gardens (or elsewhere in Bintan for that matter).

Room Tip: Decide if you want to pay extra for an oceanview villa or if you are happy to have a pond view only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyu Biru Villas is located on the north western coast of Bintan Island, less than 10 minutes from the ferry terminal and a mere 55 minutes ferry ride from Singapore's Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal. Banyu Biru Villas is surrounded by landscaped gardens and set within Nirwana Gardens. For cosy family reunions or group gatherings, stay at one of the Banyu Biru Villas which are fully furnished for a comfortable homestay away from home. Designed in four contemporary styles, 36 lovely villas are available for your short-term stay. *Banyu Biru Villa guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AsiaRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.