We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the cheapest and reputable accomodation in bintan” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the cheapest and reputable accomodation in bintan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 2d1n in a group of 9 people. I booked 3 months in advance (early bird special) and requested for 3 rooms beside each other and early check in(before 2pm). When I reached, I managed to check in early and got 3 rooms beside each other up at the hill.
The rooms are not sound proof and rather aged. I stayed in Nirwana Beach club about 5 yrs ago and it still look the same with slight refurbish on the walls and ceiling.
You can use the pool facility at nirwana resort; just a few minutes walk away.
The beach in Nirwana resort is not as nice as the ones in the beach club or mayang sari.
Next, avoid pasar oleh, as the market is a waste of time. Only a few shops available. Got cheated to pay an extra S$10 for the bus from Nirwana Resort to there. The bus driver at Nirwana Resort collected S$10 but did not give us receipt. When we asked the assistant and bus driver for the receipt, he said we did not pay. We had so many witness seeing him taking the S$10 but he kept denying. In the end we have to pay S$10 again. The bus schedule is also crappy. We alighted at Pasar Oleh and walked around. In less than 10 min we finished walking and bought some crackers. As we saw that the same bus still have not left the place, we wanted to take the same bus back. However, we got rejected by the bus driver as he said we need to be in Pasar Oleh for 1 hr before we can go back. In short, it just means that we need to be touted to death by the people in Pasar Oleh before we can leave this place!
Overall I did not have a pleasant experience with Pasar Oleh.
So to sum it up, if you like nature and planning to spend your time on beach or sea activities, beach club is the place for you. If you are looking to enjoy the room with toothbrush, hair dryer, shampoo, shower foam, multi tv channels and dislike nature e.g. Squirrels, lizards etc, avoid this place.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    71
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
42
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went here as a part of my honeymoon. The resort was beautiful and clean, and the staff were friendly. The main point of contention was the price. You are somewhat locked in to the services on sight, which means eating at fairly mediocre restaurants in the resort. As a vegetarian the options were limited and of poor quality and very expensive. The prices are high and then ontop of all prices are 20% in service and tax, which means that the majority of the cost was not in the room, but the 'extras'.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Sammy M,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens and congratulations on your newly wedded bliss! Thank you very much for writing your review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

We were joyous to know that you celebrated your special occasion with Nirwana Gardens. We were also very delighted to know that you had an overall enjoyable experience with us.

We have taken note of your feedback on the food prices and quality. Your comments will be shared with our Management to review and improve on accordingly.

We would also like to share that we do have vegetarian menu options in some of our dining outlets, mostly at Spice Restaurant at Mayang Sari Beach Resort. A complimentary internal shuttle is available to take you within the Resort grounds. We would recommend for you to try our newly refurbished Mayang Sari chalets or even our Deluxe Premier Rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel, on your next visit.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

One TGIF in Singapore - Last minute decision to just spend the weekend in Bintan Island. My wife booked the ferry boat and a chalet in Nirwana Resort in a breeze. The rest was history, a truly unforgettable and highly exciting weekend island adventure trip...ATV ride in the jungle & on the beach, golf car driving around the resort and to the Kellong seafood restaurant, chilled at the beach, night club with the best all-around live band...in other words, its just a totally awesome weekend in Bintan Island.

Room Tip: The best chalet is the one right in front of the water lily pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Traventurista,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were most delighted to know that you had a totally awesome and highly exciting adventure weekend with us! The ATV route through the jungle is definitely a must-try for thrill-seekers. We hope you'd also managed to catch the beautiful sunset from The Kelong Seafood Restaurant while dining there! Our in-house Zoom Band will also be glad to know that you had enjoyed their entertainment.

Do feel free to share your holiday photos with us on our official Facebook page /nirwanabintan. We hope to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens for another weekend beach getaway!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

No hair dryer available there. However I still managed to get one from the check-in counter. In general everything is good. The staff there will help you get the ferry boarding pass for your return trip.

Room Tip: 1. bring your own hair dryer. 2. sometimes there may be some noise from other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi CharlieCYChen,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

Our Nirwana Beach Club cabanas are a no-frills and rustic yet still modern and comfortable for travellers. Certain amenities provided in our other properties may not be available here, however they may be provided upon request. We will forward your feedback to our Management to review on the amenities provided.

We were happy to read that you had an overall enjoyable experience with us. Perhaps in future you could try our newly refurbished Deluxe Premier rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel or the Sea View chalets at Mayang Sari Beach Resort; we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens soon.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Having read the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, I was prepared for the very worst - no water heater, noisy nights, bad airconditioning etc. But I was pleasantly surprised by what I got instead.

This is no 5 star hotel with butler services - this was a relaxing beach house, almost Kampong styled with a small deck. Yes there were lizards in and around the house that made their zkzkzk noises at night and even some lizard poop on the hard to reach ceilings, but nothing that grossed me out too much. The rooms were cleaned daily with new towels and free bottles of drinking water were provided in the fridge daily.

We opted for a triple room and they converted the sofa into the third bed for my friend - which basically meant they took the cushions off and gave her pillows, blanket, bolster etc + towel too. We were provided with 1 bar of soap as toiletries so please remember to bring your own toiletries if you are planning to stay here. The airconditioning is good, water heater good, but water pressure not so good (still good enough to wash my hair etc though). We loved how we could just sit outside the house and look out at the lily pond (we were in room 31)! Once we saw a monitor lizard run across too!

We could use the facilities throughout the resort so we definitely went around to have a look at the others! The pool at the resort hotel was good, with free beach towel provided and many beach chairs available for use. There's a pool bar too which serves cocktails in watermelons/pineapples if you're so inclined. NBC was conveniently located to the major attractions like the resort hotel, beach massage area, main lobby, resort centre (there's a shortcut through this NO ENTRY area) etc so it is quite easy to get around if you're ambulant. There's a free shuttle service every 30min too for days when you're feeling lazy!

Breakfast at the Coffeeshop was awesome. It was about a 5-10min walk from NBC along the beach with a breathtaking view. Breakfast finishes at 10.30am so we basically had brunch and saved on having to eat lunch there. Food was pretty pricey but we decided to just splurge and enjoy. Our meals averaged SGD40-50/pax. There are cheaper options around so don't worry. Cocktails/drinks were about SGD8-15. One can of coke ranged from SGD2.50 to 5 depending on where you look. The pub has activities almost every night with live band performances too. We were initially looking forward to the beach party on Sat night, only to find out there was no more. :( Ended up at the pub instead.

We bought the ALL-IN ACTIVITIES PASS from the activities counter at the resort hotel after reading a review on Tripadvisor. It was worth it! Only SGD 40++ and you get the following:

1. 1 bowling game excluding shoe rental (SGD1.50/pair)
2. 1h of table tennis (we swapped this to a game of bowling instead)
3. 15 arrows of archery
4. 15 rounds of air rifle
5. 1 round of elephant ride
6. 1 round of horse ride
7. 1 flying fox
8. 1h of kayaking
9. 1h of body boarding
10. Free use of kidz club (for kids only)

Not many people know of this pass (staff included). One of them asked us where we bought the pass from which amused my friends and I. So do make use of the pass if you're interested in activities!

All in all, a good experience with this place! Keep up the good services and keep smiling! :D

Room Tip: Lily pond is pretty! Rooms 31-35 are closer to the main resort so you don't have you walk too fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi banahnah,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us in our continuous efforts to improve our Resort.

We were thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your stay and the various activities and facilities we had to offer. Our Saturday night parties (previously at La Luna) have now been moved to The Pub but the awesome music & drink specials are still there!

The All-in Activities Pass is also a relatively new promotion which we’re glad you had the time to try. We will inform our Sports & Recreation Department to ensure that all staff are well-briefed in advance.

We have also noted your feedback regarding the cleanliness of our Cabanas and also the food & beverages prices. We will forward these to our Resort Manager and respective Department Heads to review and improve on accordingly.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to have the chance to welcome you and your friends back for another getaway at Nirwana Gardens. In the meantime, we will definitely keep smiling and continue to “Serve with Extra (S)miles” !

Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel service is very good, although we have went to the wrong receptionist that we thought there is only in Nirwana Resort but instead they sent us to the Nirwana Beach Club receptionist. Receptionist and their staff is very friendly and always with smilling face, check-in is fast. Hotel room is not really a hotel style room but a beach wooden house. The room is moderate, not very spacious with old fashion furniture that i think might have to refurbish soon. TV, toilet and hot shower is kinda old and ages.
The beach was breathtaking with white and powder fines sand but there is a lot of black oil stain along the beach that you cannot avoid and step on it. Once you step on it, it is hard to clean from your leg which is very bad in experience. There is lot lot of seaweed along the beach and make the beach look very dirty, they might have to think a way or clean it more frequently. The time i go to the beach was in low tide, we try to walk and swim in the sea water but too much of rocks and stone at the shallow side so end up we gave up.
The facilities, restaurant and beach was shared with Nirwana Resort in walking distance included the breakfast, the breakfast in Nirwana Resort is good in term of taste and variety, swimming pool look very nice although we do not swim, and the beach at Nirwana Resort is much much better.
We love the view with blue green seawater, definitely will come back for the view but not the black oil stain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Desmond_Tai,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We have taken note of your feedback on the condition of our Cabanas, and will share them with our Management to review and improve on accordingly. Our Nirwana Beach Club cabanas are a popular choice for travellers seeking a no-frills and rustic yet still comfortable getaway. Perhaps on your next trip you could consider trying our Nirwana Resort Hotel or Mayang Sari Beach Resort – both of which are going through phases of refurbishment as part of our ongoing efforts to serve our guests better.

We apologize for the inconvenience you’d experienced at the beach. It is unfortunate that some tar from the sea may wash up on our beaches especially during and after monsoon season, however efforts and measures are continuously taken on our party to clean up the beaches daily and to inform our guests on the situation.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back, especially in favourable weather so you could enjoy your beach escape more. We hope that your recent experience does not put us in your permanent disfavour, and please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The resort is just heavenly. We didnt stay at the hotel but at the cabanas at the beach club. It was not bad for the price we paid (less than S$60 per pax which includes the ferry from sg). As a guest at the resort you can enjoy the same facilities as the hotel guests even if you paid a fraction of the price they are paying.
Its very private with lots of peace and quiet since we went on a weekday. Breakfast spread was superb.
Wifi is free on the whole resort grounds. They have a zoo and activities center which was fun. They have buses that take you around the resort for those who dont want to walk.
I will definitely come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi arahbaby,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were happy to know that your experience in Nirwana Gardens was fun and enjoyable. Your kind comments will be shared with our Management and colleagues, whom we are sure will be glad to hear them. Do check out our All-In Activities Pass on your next trip, for more fun at attractive prices.

We’re already looking forward welcoming you back to Nirwana Gardens. See you soon!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of Indonesia's Bintan island, Nirwana Beach Club welcomes you to the ultimate rustic beachfront hideaway. Indulge in a variety of water sports, nature and the timeless traditions of a village-style living. Feel your spirits lifted amidst the spacious thatched-roof chalets, sunny beaches and a blue ocean, savouring relaxation and a boundless choice of tropical activities. Nirwana Beach Club has 50 air-conditioned Cabana rooms which are nestled on a tropical beachfront of fine white sand, washed by clear turquoise waters. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with an attached bathroom with shower and a mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Beach Hotel
Nirwana Beach Club
Nirwana Beach Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.