We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Room close to beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Basic Room close to beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The room is very basic but very close to beach and sea activities . Morning breakfast is great ,otherwise everything is pretty expensive . The resort is pretty big and close to ferry terminal . Good for a short break ..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    72
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
42
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nirwana Gardens beach club is ideal for people with a budget hotel in mind. technically it's not a hotel but rooms in huts. it's two rooms per hut actually. the room is ok though. we requested for a queen bed since we had a child with us. room is big enough to contain a double bed, a couch (which can double as an extra bed), a sort of coffee table, television (very small though it's ok, we almost didn't use it). The toilet and bath may be small for some, there's no partition between the two but for a weekend getaway, it should be fine. The water pressure from the shower was too weak, it was almost non-existent. the faucet pressure was better, but of course, we couldn't shower from the faucet.
We weren't able to try the restaurant at nirwana beach club, wasn't sure if it was open. had our meals in the coffee shop in nirwana resort (lunch and breakfast) and kellong (dinner) which can be reached through the resort's free shuttle.
Tip: stock up on your own water. Prices are in Singapore dollars but even for Singapore standards, it's expensive. a big bottle of water costs SGD5 which is equivalent to 12 bottles in singapore. Service is very good though

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We've been coming to this beach resort for years from Singapore and went again this weekend. It has everything you need and nothing you don't need - air con, fan, own bathroom, fridge in the room, old TV and some coathangers and wifi. The cabins are set back from the beach around a lily-filled pond which has birds and monitor lizards in it. Makes for a fun walk back in the dark if you think a sizeable monitor is sitting on the path...There are two outstanding things about the NBC (used to be called Mana Mana) - the staff are delightful, gentle, friendly and helpful, and the beach is palm-fringed, flat and very attractive. Better than any beach I've seen on Bali. The Beach Resort has a pretty good water sports centre with jet skis, banana boats, wake boarding, kite boarding etc.
The resort is, however, pretty scruffy and very basic. There is a simple beach restaurant menu with great pizzas and local and western cuisine. You have to have breakfast at the nearby Nirwana Gardens hotel which has more facilities but no zen ambiance. Its a short walk away round the corner of the bay and breakfast was fine, good omelette station and all the usual buffet stuff, fruit was a bit disappointing (tinned pineapple in Indonesia??)

The cabins at the resort have either three single beds or a double and a single in them, but they are looking pretty tired. The attached bathroom has a shower (warm water), loo and basin (cold only) and not much in the way of amenities (soap and mosquito cream!) but really, what else do you need for a weekend? Not sure I could stay for much longer.

The best bit is sitting by the restaurant overlooking the beach - its so peaceful and you can get through a lot of books with a not bad cappuccino. Whats not to like?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice Place with wonderful beach. Several good restaurants and different kind of activity to do Services are too expensive for Indonesia. Restaurants and bars are more expensive than Singapore. Impossible to have a local taxi. To visit the Island you have to pay a transportation more than 120$. If you look for a nice place to stay and enjoy relax and sea this is a good place. If you want to do activities and visit places this is probably not the right one

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went for Chinese New Year with my 20 something daughter who lives in Singapore. The chalets are fairly basic but have every thing you need and were clean. The air con works well and it is nice to have a varandah to sit out on. We played card games and scrabble! I loved the cosiness of the hut and it is comfortable.

The resort is very large and you can use the facilities of the main hotel....pools etc. There are several good restaurant's to use and if you dont want to walk you can get the free shuttle. The Indian was our favourite. The food in the buffet was great too.

The beach is close and is great. Considering it was chinese new year it was fairly quiet. You can rent various things eg body boards. There is some tar on the beach which can get on your shoes, take some tar remover and it soon comes off no problem. We paid an extremely good rate going through one of the companies listed on Trip Advisor.....I couldn't find it else where for near the cost.

We loved it and saw it as Glamping! If you are fun loving and don't expect perfection then this is for you. Otherwise pay more money and go and stay in one of the various different types of accommodation, of which there are many....the main hotel, luxury bungalows etc.

We were there for 4 days and I would go back. The staff are friendly and there is a free shuttle bus to and from the airport. Just make sure the driver knows you are in the beach huts so your luggage isn't dropped at the main resort, a minor problem that was soon sorted. :-) We hired electric bikes for an hour which was fun, although take care as not maintained to the highest standard. My daughters pedal fell off but it was so funny we couldn't stop laughing!

The band are very good in the club and can play most music. It was a shame not many people used it. It just seemed to be us in there most nights. However the same band every night can be a bit boring however good.

We didn't leave the resort which as you would expect is fairly expensive so I would imagine going to the town would be cheaper. We just wanted to relax which we certainly did. We had some big rainstorms but you must expect this as it was monsoon season. We enjoyed watching them.

Room Tip: We were in chalet No 2 which is at the bottom of the hill near the road, beach and reception. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

on a week long trip to Singapore I decided to do a one night stay at Nirwana Beach and was totally glad I did and this is a perfect place for such a short stop over. Transfer from the ferry terminal was swift, staff were friendly. Check in was a bit more robotic but efficient enough. The Beach Chalets were very very basic, a great size though in a wonderful location seconds from the most beautiful white sand beach with warm sea! shame they were a bit dusty and basic but for a one night stay totally adequate, air con and shower worked well, i even got towels and toiletries which for the price i paid was a bargain.
I wandered to Calypso bar to watch the sunset over the south china sea which was amazing, big shout out to Budi the ace barman who makes super cocktails! The buffet breakfast was great especially the omelette station and the infinity pool at the Hotel was the perfect place to spend a relaxing day before the ferry bk to Singapore the next day. all in all a brilliant bargain break, with recommended accommodation for budget travelers!

Room Tip: i think some may have been refurbished as photo on the website doesn't reflect the decor of mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had a fantastic relaxing time at this amazing place. Prior to going I had read mixed reviews but the beach huts really were great, a little old but comfortable and the air con worked really well. The beach was incredibly clean and the staff were all very helpful and accommodating. I very much hope to return one day as it really was a little slice or paradise!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of Indonesia's Bintan island, Nirwana Beach Club welcomes you to the ultimate rustic beachfront hideaway. Indulge in a variety of water sports, nature and the timeless traditions of a village-style living. Feel your spirits lifted amidst the spacious thatched-roof chalets, sunny beaches and a blue ocean, savouring relaxation and a boundless choice of tropical activities. Nirwana Beach Club has 50 air-conditioned Cabana rooms which are nestled on a tropical beachfront of fine white sand, washed by clear turquoise waters. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with an attached bathroom with shower and a mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Beach Hotel
Nirwana Beach Club
Nirwana Beach Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.