We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential but in desperate need of an overhaul!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Potential but in desperate need of an overhaul!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are looking for a convenient and quiet escape from Singapore in a nice natural environment, Bintan is an option. However, if you book Nirwana Beach Club, expect the barest of bare essentials. The bungalows are VERY rundown, dusty and quite frankly filthy throughout. The walls were covered in squashed bug guts and splashes, the fridge was rusted out and the TV didn't work. There's basically no amenities in the room and if you want hot water you need to walk to the restaurant and pay SG $1.00. I paid SG $130 a night to stay here and this type of stinginess is just laughable. I don't mind paying a reasonable price for a reasonable room. I reasonably price these bungalows at no more than SG $60 per night.
If your rate includes breakfast, it's not served in the restaurant and you need to walk to Nirwana Gardens next door. This is not a bad walk, except when it's raining and there's no umbrella's available.
The ocean looks nice, but it's plagued with drops of filthy black oil/tar. After you swim you need to take a filthy rag that they leave on the ground, douse it in gasoline and clean the black oil off your feet and body.
On the positive, it's a rustic, quiet and very natural setting with a lot of wildlife. Furthermore, the staff are very pleasant, relaxed and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    75
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
29
43
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
HK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I won't run down the resort amities. The issue and reason I have to give such a terrible review relative to my more than a dozen vacation trips to SE Asia is simple. You cannot leave the resort! It seems the whole north section of the island is controlled by one company. It's road access is gated off from the rest of Indonesia. If you want to spend 120 SGD for a cab you can get out. Barring this, you are stuck in their resort with with their stores with their prices all in SGD all at at least a 10x mark up over Indonesia. So don't come her thinking you have an inexpensive holiday. Though you are technically in Indonesia all prices are in SGD. A beer, 7-8 SGD. Simple dinner of curry and rice for a family of 4, $100 USD. Think you can rent a scooter and sight see? think again. Pop out to a local store to pick up water and supplies? Can't be done. It ruined what was to have been a very special trip. I strongly recommend if you want to visit Indonesia do it anywhere but her. If budget is not an issue just stay at a 4-5 star hotel in Singapore and save yourself the frustation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Although this was a school trip back in Oct 2007, it was a good retreat for us Tourism Students. The management gave us a tour around the premise, explaining to us what specific functions do and how the management work. It was a learning journey for us, which is not something you get everyday.

The rooms were good, no trouble at all, we were busy enjoying ourselves, and we enjoyed the hospitality by the hotel, and the locals. (There's a shuttle bus that'll bring you to town for a little shopping).

This resort is a good getaway for all types of travels, be it for family, relax & unwind, budget etc. Good job to the staffs there! =D

Room Tip: Tip of the journey: Speak their language to get great bargains in town, or you'll be hacked to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beach Club at Nirvana Gardens has single story Huts set in a Tropical Forest Like Surroundings, has a pond with beautiful lotus flowers and golden Fish. Has just Basic Amenities in a small one room & a tiny attached Toilet with just a shower and an old Wash Basin with a loose hanging wall mirror . There is no telephone in the room , for any requirement , one has to walk down to the office hut .
La Luna Continental Restaurant & Bar is just 2 minutes walk from the Huts . Other Restaurants like Spice Kitchen , catering Indian Cuisine & more than one restaurants in the main Nirvana Resort Hotel are just 7 to 10 minutes walking distance . Facilities like Swimming Pool , water sports and other facilities are all easily accessible.In room massage services are available at no extra cost

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lotus Pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Nirwana Beach Club is good for budget travellers who aimed to stay out at the beach as long as possible or read a book outside at the patio in serene surroundings. Small chalet-like rooms at SGD128 a night is bare mininum - just two beds (comfy enough), one sofa, 2 shelves for cloths and a mini bar with two bottles of water. No phone, no mirror (only in bathroom), no dryer, no hot flask or free coffee/tea. The reception is not close to the chalets as well so make sure you have everything you need - there's no shop at venue either. Opted to stay here as I was just attending a beach wedding for a night. if I were to stay longer, would have opted for the fancier Mayang Sari or the Nirwana Resort Hotel which flanked the beach club and have more and better facilities. But then again, you can easier walk to the other two properties (if there's no rain) - all are under the Nirwana Gardens umbrella - via the beach or cement walkways. There are also resort buses every half hour or you can try your luck with any of staff on their buggys. Good thing about the beach club is that it shared the nice sandy beach housed in a cosy bay inlet with the Mayang Sari and you are allowed to use the pool at Nirwana Resort as well, not to mention dining at their restaurants (which some friends claimed are better as well). So you could opt to pay less and have the best of three worlds. In a nutshell, if you like roughing it out and hang out at a nice beach a lot, this place for you, If you like luxury and comforts, then it's not. For instance, the chalets are definitely not sound-proof, the lizards chucking didn't keep us up but our neighbours who spoke up to 5am at their next door patio did...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in a cabana (44) that was further inside and was a 5 minute walk from the lobby. Initially, it might seem inconvenient, but it really isn't all bad. In fact, our cabana which was practically the last row furthest from the main road, was next to a small route that led to the resort centre with activities like bowling and table-tennis, as well as a foodcourt-style dining place called Makan-Makan. The food in Nirwana Gardens is very good. Free breakfast at the Coffee-Shop at the resort hotel was a good buffet! I would recommend the Spices Restaurant at Mayang Sari for its vegetarian Indian food. Wide selection of both vegetarian and non-vegetarian food, great flavours and extremely lovely service. We were just chilling out on the beach chairs at Mayang Sari, and decided to get a drink from the Spices Restaurant because the beach hut was closed. The service crew was nice enough to offer to send the drink over to the beach. Really really commendable service there!

Wherever you walk, you will meet staff who will be smiling and greeting. I admit it came as a shock for us Singaporeans who are misers with smiles. Being there made us friendlier, happier, and most importantly, more thankful for the genuine service. Thumbs up for the service crew! There was an instance when we exited our cabana and saw a cleaning staff driving his buggy past our place. We did not even dare to ask, but he offered us a ride right after seeing us. It was a great morning. He sent us right to our destination! These little acts of kindness really made our Bintan getaway a truly enjoyable one.

All charges there are in SGD, so no need to bring rupiah over. Food costs about SGD20 per meal per person. The cabana only has a small fridge, so dont bother with your cup noodles. Room amenities in the cabanas are as basic as it can get, but it is cosy and quaint. Not a single mosquito bite on me. Aircon was good, shower could be better, bed was comfy, nothing I would complain about.

Swimming pool at the resort hotel was a short walk/ a shuttle bus away. Free usage, shower facilities available there. Beach activities at the beach club include kayaking, banana boat, snorkelling, jetski, and bodyboarding. Kayaking was $14 for a double kayak for an hour. It got boring after 20 minutes so I would say, try something else. Maybe the banana boat ($10/pax for 15 minutes, I think). We did not go to Happy Valley though we passed by on a shuttle bus, and saw elephants, archery, and some other activities suited for a family with kids. There was flying fox too. A 3D2N stay there is a perfect duration.

All in all, great great getaway in Bintan. Would have been wonderful if they served Avocado Milkshake there. But oh wells, this is as close to perfect as it could get.

Room Tip: Small numbers are closer to the lobby. 50 is the furthest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed on 21.11.12 and really was quite amazed at how terrible the service is. It was raining heavily and we had no umbrella, we wanted to go for breakfast at nirwana gardens. We screamed and shout out to buggies who passed by our chalet but they just completely ignored us. Finally my husband had to walk in the heavy rain to the reception and begged for a buggy!! Last i recalled i paid for the accomodation but the staff has a way of making it like it was given free.
The rooms came with no phone, no kettle and there is no safe either.
The rooms are like a 2 star hotel standard.
The only good part is the beach is not crowded but be prepared to pay alot for the watersports.
One advise is to bring your own food as the food here are CRAZYYY expensive.
Never returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of Indonesia's Bintan island, Nirwana Beach Club welcomes you to the ultimate rustic beachfront hideaway. Indulge in a variety of water sports, nature and the timeless traditions of a village-style living. Feel your spirits lifted amidst the spacious thatched-roof chalets, sunny beaches and a blue ocean, savouring relaxation and a boundless choice of tropical activities. Nirwana Beach Club has 50 air-conditioned Cabana rooms which are nestled on a tropical beachfront of fine white sand, washed by clear turquoise waters. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with an attached bathroom with shower and a mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Beach Hotel
Nirwana Beach Club
Nirwana Beach Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.