We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for budget travellers / beach lovers, great beach” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good for budget travellers / beach lovers, great beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Nirwana Beach Club is good for budget travellers who aimed to stay out at the beach as long as possible or read a book outside at the patio in serene surroundings. Small chalet-like rooms at SGD128 a night is bare mininum - just two beds (comfy enough), one sofa, 2 shelves for cloths and a mini bar with two bottles of water. No phone, no mirror (only in bathroom), no dryer, no hot flask or free coffee/tea. The reception is not close to the chalets as well so make sure you have everything you need - there's no shop at venue either. Opted to stay here as I was just attending a beach wedding for a night. if I were to stay longer, would have opted for the fancier Mayang Sari or the Nirwana Resort Hotel which flanked the beach club and have more and better facilities. But then again, you can easier walk to the other two properties (if there's no rain) - all are under the Nirwana Gardens umbrella - via the beach or cement walkways. There are also resort buses every half hour or you can try your luck with any of staff on their buggys. Good thing about the beach club is that it shared the nice sandy beach housed in a cosy bay inlet with the Mayang Sari and you are allowed to use the pool at Nirwana Resort as well, not to mention dining at their restaurants (which some friends claimed are better as well). So you could opt to pay less and have the best of three worlds. In a nutshell, if you like roughing it out and hang out at a nice beach a lot, this place for you, If you like luxury and comforts, then it's not. For instance, the chalets are definitely not sound-proof, the lizards chucking didn't keep us up but our neighbours who spoke up to 5am at their next door patio did...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    78
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
29
43
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in a cabana (44) that was further inside and was a 5 minute walk from the lobby. Initially, it might seem inconvenient, but it really isn't all bad. In fact, our cabana which was practically the last row furthest from the main road, was next to a small route that led to the resort centre with activities like bowling and table-tennis, as well as a foodcourt-style dining place called Makan-Makan. The food in Nirwana Gardens is very good. Free breakfast at the Coffee-Shop at the resort hotel was a good buffet! I would recommend the Spices Restaurant at Mayang Sari for its vegetarian Indian food. Wide selection of both vegetarian and non-vegetarian food, great flavours and extremely lovely service. We were just chilling out on the beach chairs at Mayang Sari, and decided to get a drink from the Spices Restaurant because the beach hut was closed. The service crew was nice enough to offer to send the drink over to the beach. Really really commendable service there!

Wherever you walk, you will meet staff who will be smiling and greeting. I admit it came as a shock for us Singaporeans who are misers with smiles. Being there made us friendlier, happier, and most importantly, more thankful for the genuine service. Thumbs up for the service crew! There was an instance when we exited our cabana and saw a cleaning staff driving his buggy past our place. We did not even dare to ask, but he offered us a ride right after seeing us. It was a great morning. He sent us right to our destination! These little acts of kindness really made our Bintan getaway a truly enjoyable one.

All charges there are in SGD, so no need to bring rupiah over. Food costs about SGD20 per meal per person. The cabana only has a small fridge, so dont bother with your cup noodles. Room amenities in the cabanas are as basic as it can get, but it is cosy and quaint. Not a single mosquito bite on me. Aircon was good, shower could be better, bed was comfy, nothing I would complain about.

Swimming pool at the resort hotel was a short walk/ a shuttle bus away. Free usage, shower facilities available there. Beach activities at the beach club include kayaking, banana boat, snorkelling, jetski, and bodyboarding. Kayaking was $14 for a double kayak for an hour. It got boring after 20 minutes so I would say, try something else. Maybe the banana boat ($10/pax for 15 minutes, I think). We did not go to Happy Valley though we passed by on a shuttle bus, and saw elephants, archery, and some other activities suited for a family with kids. There was flying fox too. A 3D2N stay there is a perfect duration.

All in all, great great getaway in Bintan. Would have been wonderful if they served Avocado Milkshake there. But oh wells, this is as close to perfect as it could get.

Room Tip: Small numbers are closer to the lobby. 50 is the furthest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed on 21.11.12 and really was quite amazed at how terrible the service is. It was raining heavily and we had no umbrella, we wanted to go for breakfast at nirwana gardens. We screamed and shout out to buggies who passed by our chalet but they just completely ignored us. Finally my husband had to walk in the heavy rain to the reception and begged for a buggy!! Last i recalled i paid for the accomodation but the staff has a way of making it like it was given free.
The rooms came with no phone, no kettle and there is no safe either.
The rooms are like a 2 star hotel standard.
The only good part is the beach is not crowded but be prepared to pay alot for the watersports.
One advise is to bring your own food as the food here are CRAZYYY expensive.
Never returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We payed 98 SGD for a night at the nirwana beach resort. For those 98 SGD we got:
- welcome servise right at the ferry who helped us with the customs and the luggage
- shuttle bus directly to the hotel
- a welcome drink (rather simple refreshment)
- nice breakfast for 2 persons
- a very basic room
- pool & restaurants within a few min walking distance
- free internet
- outstanding helpful and friendly service

For this price we got more than expected. Obviously this hotel doesnt compete in the 5 star league. I hope nobody paying that little money expects that. So be prepared that there's no champaign in the minibar, but just two bottles of water :)
The service was absolutely outstanding. Really nice and helpful staff.

The only thing I was not so happy with, was the fact that they could keep the rooms in better shape. The cupboard was almost falling apart and there was mold on the bathroom curtain. If they did occasional rennovation, this could be an even better place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, The Management at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Daniel B,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens and thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We were pleased to read on the positive experiences you had enjoyed during your stay at Nirwana Beach Club and hope that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Nirwana Beach Club is one of our 5 resort properties within Nirwana Gardens, which we target largely to sea sports' lovers (as it is located directly opposite the Sea Sports Centre) as well as to travelers who may be budget conscious. Despite that, we continuously strive to provide our guests with the best service and experience possible during their vacation with us, to ensure that they have an enjoyable and worthwhile stay.

We have taken note of your comments on the conditions of the Cabanas, and rest assured that these will be brought directly to our Housekeeping & Engineering Departments and Department Heads to review and to improve on. It is comments like yours that we very much appreciate, as they bring to our attention the details which matter most to our guests and which we should work to rectify, to better serve our guests in the future.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed outstanding service, and will convey the commendations to our staff. Indeed, our service motto at Nirwana Gardens is to "Serve with extra (S)miles" ! :)

It's a pity we're unable to provide champagne in the mini fridge - we're sure most of our guests would love that! However we do have some great drink promotions at our dining / bar outlets, especially during our weekly beach party on Saturday nights at La Luna. Again, that is also just opposite the Nirwana Beach Club cabanas, so if you are coming back anytime soon, do drop by on a weekend for a party!

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable comments. We do hope to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens and the beautiful island of Bintan very soon.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

it's located in the middle of a shuttle service route. v near to all locations.. e kelong restaurant tat serves fresh seafood.. e sports activities area called happy valley where u can do flying fox, pony riding.. bowling.. massage.. etc.. sea sports such as banana boat.. kayaking etc.. btw everyting is in sgd..

lodging wise.. very simple. initially there were 3 of us.. 1 of mi friend cldnt make it.. but nevertheless.. e cabin-like lodging is very spacious.. we're situated at e top of the hill so it really feels very exclusive.. of cuz since it's a resort n rooms r made of wood.. u can't really expect soundproofing.. its near the beach.. short walk.. so u're away frm e bar at nite.. wich opens till 2am.. still we can hear e singing.. imagine e cabins just beside the beach -_-" towels r provided.. basic amenities nt included.. so bring ya toothbrushes n shower foam/shampoo.

beach scenery wise.. avg. there r much betta beaches but definitely a place i recommend if u wan a short moment away frm the city n juz relax on an almost empty beach. feels like a pte beach when i woke up earlier to catch the sunrise... not a single soul in sight.. at least on e sat i went. sun was kinda crowded.

uber frendly n helpful staff. i didn't gt his name but tis chap is very cheerful.. always eager to serve u..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here on a trip to bintan and chose nirwana beach club (out of the other nirwana resorts) as it proved to be more cost effective. The rooms are rustic with wooden flooring and a lil patio on the outside. It is set in a village/forest theme which got annoying at nights as we would hear the noises of crickets and other night insects (turn off!). Its average in all sense - service, rooms etc. The proximity to beach and La Luna club are the plus points. There is also a good cafe/restaurant which is open all niight. there was a band and DJ played good house music on a sat night we were there. Sat night party was fun - so a pretty good deal in all.

Room Tip: Rooms in the interior are slightly spooky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

each bungalow with 2 separate room inside designed by local touch. we can feel the nature and the modern taste in the same time. this hotel have access to enjoy the beach privately. the beach remind me so much about bali, where i still dreaming of to be back. many water activities available with reasonable price. nice place to be back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of Indonesia's Bintan island, Nirwana Beach Club welcomes you to the ultimate rustic beachfront hideaway. Indulge in a variety of water sports, nature and the timeless traditions of a village-style living. Feel your spirits lifted amidst the spacious thatched-roof chalets, sunny beaches and a blue ocean, savouring relaxation and a boundless choice of tropical activities. Guestrooms at Nirwana Beach Club come with modern Thai interiors and wooden flooring. Each well-appointed room is equipped with a refrigerator and TV. Hot shower facilities are in the private bathroom. *Nirwana Beach Club guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Beach Hotel
Nirwana Beach Club
Nirwana Beach Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.