We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple.. good range of activities for a short weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simple.. good range of activities for a short weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

it's located in the middle of a shuttle service route. v near to all locations.. e kelong restaurant tat serves fresh seafood.. e sports activities area called happy valley where u can do flying fox, pony riding.. bowling.. massage.. etc.. sea sports such as banana boat.. kayaking etc.. btw everyting is in sgd..

lodging wise.. very simple. initially there were 3 of us.. 1 of mi friend cldnt make it.. but nevertheless.. e cabin-like lodging is very spacious.. we're situated at e top of the hill so it really feels very exclusive.. of cuz since it's a resort n rooms r made of wood.. u can't really expect soundproofing.. its near the beach.. short walk.. so u're away frm e bar at nite.. wich opens till 2am.. still we can hear e singing.. imagine e cabins just beside the beach -_-" towels r provided.. basic amenities nt included.. so bring ya toothbrushes n shower foam/shampoo.

beach scenery wise.. avg. there r much betta beaches but definitely a place i recommend if u wan a short moment away frm the city n juz relax on an almost empty beach. feels like a pte beach when i woke up earlier to catch the sunrise... not a single soul in sight.. at least on e sat i went. sun was kinda crowded.

uber frendly n helpful staff. i didn't gt his name but tis chap is very cheerful.. always eager to serve u..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    71
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
42
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here on a trip to bintan and chose nirwana beach club (out of the other nirwana resorts) as it proved to be more cost effective. The rooms are rustic with wooden flooring and a lil patio on the outside. It is set in a village/forest theme which got annoying at nights as we would hear the noises of crickets and other night insects (turn off!). Its average in all sense - service, rooms etc. The proximity to beach and La Luna club are the plus points. There is also a good cafe/restaurant which is open all niight. there was a band and DJ played good house music on a sat night we were there. Sat night party was fun - so a pretty good deal in all.

Room Tip: Rooms in the interior are slightly spooky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

each bungalow with 2 separate room inside designed by local touch. we can feel the nature and the modern taste in the same time. this hotel have access to enjoy the beach privately. the beach remind me so much about bali, where i still dreaming of to be back. many water activities available with reasonable price. nice place to be back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in a cabana at Nirwana Beach Club on Bintan for 2D1N under a discount package. I'm not sure how much it would have cost normally, but in reality the property is a collection of rather old but serviceable chalets, there are little to no amenities in each room, no towels (although when we asked for them nicely they did give us some... the next day :P), no shampoo etc in the bathroom, very basic bedsheets and the TV had channels that were warbly. However, if you are mentally prepared (we weren't but we adapt easily), this is easily one of the cheapest but still reasonable places to stay on Bintan. And is great if you just want a relaxing stay.

Points to note: Beach Club is part of the bigger group Nirwana Gardens, which means that you can use most of the facilities in any of the other hotels under Nirwana Gardens, the most important point is that the Nirwana Resort Hotel is about a 5 minute leisurely walk away, and the quite nice swimming pool (with free towel rental), beachfront, various food outlets (I highly recommend the japanese restaurant Rin, Dino Bistro is also pretty good, skip the Poolside cafe) are all available even though you're technically staying in a chalet. The shuttle bus services that go around each of the Nirwana Gardens properties is also convenient, and honestly? The service is pretty great. All the staff we encountered were nice and warm, one of them even remembered my name throughout the stay, and they are truly helpful. They aren't Club Med-esque enthusiastic, but they will bring a smile to your face.

Room-wise, we got a cabana which means it's a wooden one-story house where you have half of it as your room, a sofa (comfy!), two wooden armchairs, a double bed (the covering blanket had some dirty spots but the underlying sheets and pillows were clean and crisp, so we just slid underneath them and ignored the blanket), a tiny TV (with mostly Singaporean, Malaysian and Indonesian channels though we did get to watch English football on it), not much of a wardrobe (just some hangers and a rack), a small mini-bar sized empty fridge with two complimentary bottles of mineral water per day, and a bathroom with toilet, shower with water heater, sink, all clean, serviceable, slightly old but no musty smell. There's a deck outside with a table and two stools (which is sort of a veranda), and because the road leading up to the cabana is sandy, there are convenient taps on short pillars near each cabana for you to wash your feet before you go in.

All in all, quaint and quiet, good for relaxation but bring your own towels and amenities, and if you don't pay too much for it, it's still a pretty good deal. If not, try Club Med because the food there is included in the price. :P

Room Tip: We saw a few cabanas with bigger decks but not too sure whether they were any different on the insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our family spent 5 nights and 4 days at the Beach Club for the MetaMan Race.
Pick up from Ferry Terminal was fast and efficient. Hotel Check in was quick.
The room was clean. We had a king size bed and a roll away bed brought in, pushed the 2 together and had plenty of sleeping space.
The property is beautiful. The Beach and water were clean and free of debris. The dining options were ok, some nights the Coffee Bar had the International Buffett and would not allow ala cart menu ordering, not good when traveling with children. The Poolside dining option did not have ice cream due to refrigeration issues and would not get ice cream from the coffee bar.
My kids loved the pool. The cabanas could use a good cleaning but then again it is hot and humid and it does not take long for the cabanas to look old. The kids playground by the beach club was not in usable condition.Some of the recreation vehicles not available for use. Friendly attentive staff. Would go back.

Room Tip: Beach Club at the pool, villas too far from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place didn’t quite cut it for us. Had the cost been about a third less, I might have been satisfied with the “rustic” conditions but for what we paid, I want more. The cabanas are not charming, they are old and the interior is run-down and ramshackle.

Guests can enjoy all the amenities of nearby Nirwana Gardens, including the pool and restaurants and shops, but there is just something that doesn’t work for me for the whole complex. The pool is nice, the breakfast was good and the staff/employees were nothing short of delightful...... but the entire place is a little weird, something is off. The location is wonderful but I would definitely pay a little more and stay at one of Bintan’s other more upscale hotels next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and our two kids (2 and 4) spent two days at the Nirwana Beach Club in June. We went mid week and it was a very relaxing and quiet break - just what we needed for a break from life in Singapore. Everything was very organized from the shuttle bus from the ferry terminal to check-in at the resort. The staff were very helpful and friendly and provided us with a baby cot and extra pillow as requested.

The Beach Club is the low end one of the Nirwana hotels and the room was a bit small and run down. But we loved the kampong style look and kids loved running around the different pathways. It was very quiet and most of the time we had the beach to ourselves. We could share the facilities of the other resorts so we spent our two days using the pool, activities club, kids club and time went by very fast. They had elephant ride, horse ride (which the kids loved), archery and rifle shooting (which the parents enjoyed while kids were happy playing in the kids club).

The only downside is the breakfast area is really crowded as it's shared by all the hotels - so get there early to avoid waiting in line to be seated. There was a choice of restaurants for meals (we tried 4) but found them all to be very expensive (to be expected as they catered to the singapore crowd).

We would definitely go back again, but might try another Nirwana hotel for a change. This place is ideal for fuss free travellers who wants a peaceful and relaxing holiday on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of Indonesia's Bintan island, Nirwana Beach Club welcomes you to the ultimate rustic beachfront hideaway. Indulge in a variety of water sports, nature and the timeless traditions of a village-style living. Feel your spirits lifted amidst the spacious thatched-roof chalets, sunny beaches and a blue ocean, savouring relaxation and a boundless choice of tropical activities. Nirwana Beach Club has 50 air-conditioned Cabana rooms which are nestled on a tropical beachfront of fine white sand, washed by clear turquoise waters. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with an attached bathroom with shower and a mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Beach Hotel
Nirwana Beach Club
Nirwana Beach Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.