We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort suited to all ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off Published Rates
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lagoi
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great resort suited to all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed at Nirwana Gardens Resort for 2 nights in a Deluxe Premier Room which was great. The room itself is spacious, clean with fresh decor and a modern bathroom. The highlight of the stay would definitely be the friendliness of staff and level of service provided. Nirwana Gardens staff truly care about their guest and it shows in their approach. The Resort has so many options, from pools, beach, zoo, water sports, recreational activities and plenty of food and beverage options. I also was able to check out the meeting facilities which are pretty impressive. Bintan Island as a whole is a great untouched island destination, safe for families and great for business travelers. I would highly recommend to family and friends to visit Bintan and Nirwana. The downfall would have to be the wifi coverage, I barely had reception in my room, and across the resort but it is an island getaway so it comes with the territory! Saturday night buffet BBQ at the beach club was really fun also, great live performances and of course the food was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi MSyd88,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your overall experience at our resort, save for the lapse in WiFi coverage. We will forward your feedback to our Head of IT and Resort Manager to rectify and improve on immediately (But we do encourage our guests to "switch off" and relax on our little slice of paradise!)

It's great that you had managed to experience the various recreational activities, our Saturday night BBQ buffet, even had a visit to our meeting facilities. Thank you for all your kind comments especially on our staff's service - we are committed to providing our guests with an enjoyable experience at Nirwana Gardens and are glad that you did.

Please feel free to share your holiday photos and experience with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan and drop us at an email at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to Nirwana Gardens - for business or leisure.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    283
    177
    43
    27
See reviews for
195
211
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We booked a standard room for a short getaway of two days one night. We took the morning ferry and arrive at 10.30am in the morning. They provided an option to upgrade at a cost of $60 to check in immediately. We declined the offer. Afterwhich then they reduce the price to $50. The upgrade includes a sea view room. Upgraded room was much better than the standard ones. We tried to look around for food however all the prices of the food are exorbitant. More of a beach resort. Not much other activities as everything is overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi Joc34yn,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read that you had enjoyed our newly upgraded Deluxe Premier Rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel; we are currently going through phases of refurbishment to upgrade our other room categories as well and hope you may have the chance to experience them on your next visit.

Our standard check-in time is at 3pm Bintan time however requests for early check-in may be accommodated to, subject to room availability and applicable charges. We will share your concerns on the food prices with our Resort Manager and F&B Director to review and improve on accordingly.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback as it aids us in our ongoing efforts to serve our guests better. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens again, please feel free to email us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After reading some reviews prior to my trip I went into this hotel with an open mind as there had been so many mixed reviews but I was amazed! Upon arrival we were greeted by staff who were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel pool was astonishing! Very well kept, clean and with a perfect view out over the ocean. The staff at the pool bar where very friendly and skilled and always up for a good laugh. Many other reviews mentioned black tar on the beach, but during our stay there was none.

There are many restaurants connected to the resort, our favourite being the Dino Bistro. The food there is amazing. A great selection of western and asian foods. The kitchen is sunken with glass surrounding it, so you can watch the chefs making your meal - very cool.

There are also many activities around the resort in which you can participate, including archery, riffle shooting, paint ball, bowling and there is also an elephant park. These are located just outside the resort-hotel but they provide a free shuttle bus to get you around.

Overall, an excellent resort-hotel. Will definitely be coming back in the future for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Megan G,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and excellent rating on our resort. We are committed to providing our guests with warm Indonesian hospitality and an enjoyable stay, and we were delighted to read that you had a great experience over-all - arrival, your time at the pool, our beach (our Mayang Sari beach front is a highlight, do check that out the next time!), our various recreational activities and the food at Dino Bistro.

Please feel free to share your holiday photos and experience with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of paradise. Do email us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to Nirwana Gardens.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our family of five stayed at Nirwana Gardens over New Year's for six nights. We were disappointed on arrival to find no welcoming dance or drink as we entered the main foyer like we were expecting. Had the camera ready too! During our stay we witnessed the routine often when new guests arrived, so not sure why our group missed out? No chance of early check-in either, but that was ok. We understood it was a busy time of year. After reading online reviews prior to arriving, we knew not to expect clean, rubbish free beaches during monsoon season. It was still a bit of a shock as to how bad it actually was. We ended up leaving with less luggage thanks to tar stained clothes and shoes that had to be thrown away. The rooms were very clean and spacious. As for the restaurants, service was slow and meals overpriced but were enjoyable. Only ever had one cocktail with each meal as we were never approached or offered additional drinks. The Nirwana New Year's Eve Gala was amazing. It was certainly one of the best New Year's our family has ever had thank you. The kids loved the various activities around the resort and we enjoyed swimming in the huge pool every day. The elephant show and ride is a must do as well as the buggy hire. Special thanks to the kid's club ladies. My youngest would always beg me to take him back to the nice ladies. The kids still have the kid's club artwork they created as a reminder of the fond memories there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi Karen d,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us over the New Year's celebrations earlier this year.

We were delighted to read that your family had enjoyed the New Year's Eve Gala, our various activities and facilities especially our infinity pool and Jumbo Park, and that your kids had a great time at our NABLEZ Kids Club.

That said, we were troubled to read your unpleasant experiences with the beach and your disappointment at not being greeted with a welcome dance upon arrival. We apologize for the lapses in service during this busy period and will be sure to forward your concerns with our Resort Manager and Management to review and ensure that such lapses do not reoccur.

We are humbled to know that it was "the best New Year's" for your family and that your kids have fond memories of Nirwana Gardens. Do feel free to share your holiday photos with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan. We hope to welcome you back here soon, perhaps for this coming New Year's Eve if you can join us in welcoming 2015 with a 'Super Heroes' theme - a fun evening of dress-up, games and food for families. Please feel free to email us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The resort is very nice located on Bintan Island in the secured touristic zone. has direct access to incredibly beautiful beach. place is very quiet and You can have a great rest there. But: food is really aweful - You have variety of food at breakfast time but in real nothing to eat. But the worst thing is that You have nothing to eat at the whole facility of the resorts: no good restaurant, no any bars, nothing. It could be great place for family vacation but beach is not secured and guarded. There are a lot of jelly fish so swimming is even dangereous. The situation is very starnge because there is nothing to do in this hotel and Bintan resorts but laying on the beaches.
I think that the food and the beach are big failure of management and what I can not understand why someone who put some tens of milions dollars in such investment can not invest in managemen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Jacek J,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read that you had found your stay to be a relaxing one and had enjoyed our beaches - the Mayang Sari beachfront is one of ours, and Bintan's, highlights.

That said, we were concerned to read your feedback on the food quality you had experienced and your difficulty of swimming at the beach. We do our best to ensure that our beachfronts and the nearby ocean vicinity are swept through for the safety of our guests. Additionally our staff are on hand should our guests require any medical assistance. The security of our guests is also our utmost priority and rest assured that entry to Nirwana Gardens required authorization from our security personnel, if they are not guests.

We will escalate your concerns to our Resort Manager and Department Heads to review and improve on accordingly where necessary. We appreciate your feedback as it aids us in our ongoing efforts to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay with us. Should you have any further concerns, please email to us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg. We hope that you will not be deterred from returning as we would love to have the second opportunity to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 4 days and i felt great. The staffs's attitude were excellent, the surrounding view were awesome. At day one i thought it was boring cos' there aren't anything around to see, and the local market is miles away from the resort but i found variety of things to keep myself occupied there. We hired a golf cart ( buggy ) to ride around the resort, and i tried almost everything: the ATVs, the flying fox, the battle skirmish ,... And the swing pool was great, with the jacuzzi and the nature rock there make swingmin' a whole different experience. And the surrounding restaurant were great too, we tried the poolside, the kelong restaurant and the calypso bar. All and all, it was a wonderful experience. But i just recommend this resort for the people who want to relax on the beach and enjoy light activity because there aren't anything around to see

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Crazymonkey20082001,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were glad to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and had managed to give our various activities a go. Nirwana Gardens is an integrated resort with over 50 land and sea activities for our guests' enjoyment. Hope you managed to catch the view of the sunset at The Kelong Seafood Restaurant and The Calypso Floating Bar as well!

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff's service, which we will share with our colleagues. We are committed to providing our guests with an enjoyable stay and to "serve with extra (s)miles". Please feel free to share your holiday photos and experience with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nirwana Gardens for another relaxing and peaceful holiday.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Basic resort looks like it was build in the 60's. Clean and lovely location on the beach.

Everything is priced in Singapore $ and expensive by Indonesia standards.

Helpful staff.

Wouldn't pay full price and certainly only grade it at 3* at best.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi urbandivaLondon,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We have taken note of your feedback on the prices at the resort and the overall exterior, and will share your concerns with our Management to review and improve on.

We are pleased to inform that we are going through phases of refurbishment and hope that you will have the chance to experience our newly upgraded Deluxe and Deluxe Premier Rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel or at Mayang Sari Beach Resort on your next return.

Apart from that, we hope you had enjoyed your time at the beach - the beachfront at Mayang Sari is one of our highlights - and thank you for your kind comments on the staff's service.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens in the near future, should your travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan. Please feel free to email us next time at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheery Family Hotel. Our unique blend of sunny Mediterranean spirit and warm Indonesian hospitality will make you feel more than welcomed here. In fact, with something to do for everyone in the family, you are assured of a great time in this sunny, cheery paradise! This family hotel offers 245 rooms & suites catering to every budget and need, offering breathtaking ocean, pool or garden views. The rooms are spacious and fully furnished with modern amenities for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.