We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice swimming pool, good for relax” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice swimming pool, good for relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are a group of 4, this is our second time staying at Nirwana Resort.

Good thing:
1. Great swimming pool with swim up bar and Jacuzzi, they have kids pool too.
2. Breakfast with lots of variety (6am - 10am)
3. We have the BBQ dinner buffet at Pool restaurant, food was ok, but we enjoy the live band and local performance..
4. Pub with live band which start at 9:30pm is great, we enjoy the live band performance ... great job.
5. ATV ride is fun with the great Guide

Things need to improved:
1. Late check-in time - 3pm instead of 2pm like other hotel/ resort.
2. there is no safe box in room.
3. Bed and towel have stain on it...
4. Ask for non-smoking room but one of our room smell like cigarette (Rm3105), housekeeping do come and help us to open the window and spray but the smell still there... sad... (first we call the operator to check is our room a non-smoking room, the operator ask "do you wan to smoke?" I think next sentence she might want to say "you are allow to smoke in your room".. hahaaa)
5. Poolside towel Policy: When we ask are we allow to bring the towel to our room after swimming and return later (we want to wrap ourself on the way from pool to hotel room there are some distance and cold), the staff say "No, Please return now". But when I pointed the two European girl who was infront of us wrap the towel and walk to their hotel room, the staff then ask us "are you from China?" I told him we are from Singapore, then he say you may bring it to your room and please return before 8pm... I am like.... what kind of policy is this... we are all paying the same amount, a guest of your resort, but there are difference treatment between European, Singapore and Chinese?? I feel pity for the Chinese... who definitely will be ask to return the towel immediately and not allow to cover themselves with pool towel on their way back to hotel room (there are some distance for some of room - you will get cold) I hope Management can do something about this, this is not nice by treated unequally....
6. After check-out we leave our bags with bells service. When we comeback to collect our bags after lunch, the bell boys (Mr. Sidiono) told us our bags have already sent to ferry terminal (he don't even check our bell tickets). but then we saw our bags is actually still seating at the luggage area. So we tell him we prefer to hand carry our bag. we only manage to find 5 of our bags and there is 1 bags we cannot locate. Then he told us the other bag should be at ferry terminal... without call to the terminal office to confirm. (firstly they never ask our permission or tell us our bags will be transfer to ferry terminal which we actually prefer to hand carry. secondly, if we never notice our 5 bags is actually still seating at the luggage area which is not like what he told us "is already at the terminal", I doubt we can have our bags received at the terminal on time to board the ferry.)

overall the hotel is still nice to stay... if we didn't encounter the unequal treatment at the pool towel counter and get a non-smoking room the trip will be perfect...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Liahwt,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you very much for taking time to write your detailed review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay, such as the communication with our staff. Your negative experiences are indeed unacceptable and the points you had raised regarding our housekeeping and poolside towel policy has been shared with the respective Department Heads to investigate further, take the appropriate actions and ensure such lapses in service do not reoccur. Our Management continuously takes measures to improve our team’s service standards through ongoing training, as part of our ongoing efforts to serve our guests better.

We are pleased to read that you had the chance to experience the ATV and that you had still enjoyed your overall stay with us. We will also happy to know that you enjoyed the entertainment by our Zoom Band, and we’ll share your kind comments with them.

We hope that the unpleasant incidents will not put us in your permanent disfavour as we would like to have the second opportunity to welcome you back and serve you better. Please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg, should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    325
    205
    51
    31
See reviews for
225
246
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dungog
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Nirwana after a change of plan on leaving Singapore during a month long Asian trip. The property is large and there are plenty of dining options throughout. The pool is good and we found the beach and water to be great even though we had been warned about oil and tar from Singapore Strait.
Meals were nice and varied in price from restaurant to restaurant but were a bit overpriced for Indonesia. This resort would be great for anyone who was after a relaxing break and wanted to stay in the one place without a care.
My wife and I like to explore and enjoy driving and riding around the countryside. We went on a short trip in a shuttle to the local "village". The village is more like an extension of the resort. We inquired about renting a car or scooter to do our own touring and were told that this is not allowed. A rental car meant having a driver. Further, a trip to the main centre on the island was $90 in a taxi and we were told that you would be taken to selected spots on the island. This experience made my wife and I very apprehensive about the whole scenario and we felt trapped. We asked about getting to Batan, the neighbouring island and were told that it would mean chartering a speedboat at considerable cost.
My advice to anyone considering an adventure holiday with a lot of freedom to explore is check out your options before booking. Oh and I forgot to mention that the customs at the ferry terminal x ray bags coming in and alcohol rules seem to be the only things enforced. We lost wine that we had taken to celebrate an anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Dave R,

Warm greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking time to write your review and feedback on your stay in Nirwana Gardens.

We were glad to read that you had enjoyed your stay overall, especially our pool and our beaches. We hope you managed to catch the sunset, not only along our beaches, but also at The Kelong Seafood Restaurant!

There are tours available to explore the hidden gems of Bintan island, and these are operated by local tour operators. Our official Tour partner is BRC Tours, which you can enquire more info on at our Guest Information Centre at the Nirwana Resort Hotel lobby or by visiting the Bintan Resorts’ website. Rental of vehicles and/or taxi services can also be done by IndoRent, the preferred local operator.

We have noted your feedback regarding our food & beverage values, and these will be shared with our Management to review and improve on accordingly.

We hope that the unpleasant experiences will not deter you from returning, as we would love to have the chance to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens. Please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great beach with no hint of pollution of any kind. Fantastic staff, clean basic rooms with good bathrooms. Go mid week to avoid weekenders if possible. Buffet for breakfast is good and should tide you over thru lunch! Snacks such as pizza available from the pool are good and ok value. Most things have a ++ added to the price which is GST and SERVICE TAX which adds aprox 20% to food and drink bills unless stated as NET on the menu which means inclusive of tax's. Drinks via the resort are not cheap. We took our duty free with us as well as bottles of coke, snacks, suntan lotion ect. Plenty for the kids to do Elephant rides, trampoline, water sports. Kids club for $5 a 2 hr session is well worth while. The pool is gigantic, clean and our kids spent most of every day there. OLLEH OLLEH is ok to stock up on some basics.
Meals at the resort are ok and other choices are available at other resorts via a shuttle bus. 5 days is enough here l would say. A visa is available when alighting of the ferry for $10 per passport for 6 days or shorter payed in Sing, American or Rupiah. Just go..you will love it!

Room Tip: Bring lots of duty free and snacks with you from Sing. You can eat and drink your own by the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi 2211mays904,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you very much for writing your review and feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay in Nirwana Gardens. Our beaches, especially the beachfront at Mayang Sari Beach Resort, are the highlight of our Resort and we do our very best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience. We hope your kid(s) had a ball of a time with the activities lined up at our NABLEZ Kids’ Club!

We have taken note of your feedback on the food prices. Your comments will be shared with our Management to review and improve on accordingly. With the good weather and scenic view, we hope you had managed to enjoy a picnic by our pool as well!

Please feel free to share your holiday photos with us on our Facebook page /nirwanabintan and we hope to welcome you back soon, should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place to relax, which was what we wanted. Food can be found at other resorts in the vicinity with a shuttle. One thing i do not understand, whenever i ask how much an item costs, the salesperson will 'assess' me and give a price. Rooms were ok, got a free upgrade when some issues cropped up. The bbq buffet was alright with variety and music. Friendly staff, always smiling.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi Abby013,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you very much for taking time to write your review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

We were elated to know that you had a relaxing vacation with us recently. We apologize for the hiccup upon check-in and hope that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade.

Your feedback on the staff has been shared with our Management to investigate further and rectify accordingly to ensure the quality of service provided to our guests is of standard. We apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for another relaxing vacation on our little slice of paradise on Bintan island.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Old beach hotel, must invest in maintaining their rooms and facilities. We had a bad experience with the reception especially the "Manager" we booked our room thru Agoda and requested for queen/king bed since we are a couple we understand that all requests are subject to availability but being in the hotel service industry you must exert all the efforts possible to provide the guest's request especially we were not really asking for early check-in or late check-out just a queen bed c'mon ofcourse two single bed will not be ok since we are a couple!

The reception said they don't have available room with queen bed only two single bed ofcourse we appeal but the worst was when they endorsed us to their "Manager" who has a poor customer service being a manager at that especially in dealing with guest's request. He even shouted at us and trying to explain in a very sarcastic way that we should understand agoda's note that all requests are subject to availability! Since we are already pissed off we even said that we'll just do refund and won't pursue with our booking anymore and the "Manager" even said no problem! Oh my such an attitude! Too bad I forgot to get his name, but he speaks poor english.

In the end we were pacified and continue with our booking, the other staff was able to find an available room (we travelled from singapore to bintan for about an hour ofcourse we wont really want to go back and spoil the rest of our vacation). Everything here was expensive, god thing they have a nice pool and lots of activities to do especially elephant trekking, atv etc that's why we still enjoyed our 5D4N stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Mrsadam0128,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you very much for taking time to write your review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay, such as the communication with our staff and the check-in process. Our Management continuously takes measures to improve our team's service standards through ongoing training. Your feedback will be shared with our Management to investigate further, take the appropriate action and ensure such lapses in service do not reoccur.

We are pleased to read that you had the chance to experience the elephant trail and that you had still enjoyed your overall stay with us. We hope that the unpleasant incidents will not put us in your permanent disfavour as we would like to have the second opportunity to welcome you back and serve you better.

Please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg, should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Too expensive overall! The staff is great and location is nice but you pay a lot for it. Food was pretty good but way more expensive than it should be. It's a quiet place ideal of you are escaping the city for a weekend. After walking on the beach you end up with a lot of tar spots under the feet, not appreciated! Overall an ok resort!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Hawk5d,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing your review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

We were glad to know that you had enjoyed your escape from the city with us over the weekend. Hope you had managed to experience most of what our Resort had to offer.

It is unfortunate that some tar may wash up on our beaches from the sea, and despite it being beyond our control, efforts and measures are continuously taken to ensure that our beaches are cleaned up daily. Our beaches, especially the beachfront at Mayang Sari Beach Resort, are the highlights of our Resort and we do our very best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience.

We have taken note of your feedback on the food prices. Your comments will be shared with our Management to review and improve on accordingly.

Feel free to reach us directly on our Facebook page and to share photos of your experience with us there. We hope to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens should the future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan, for another relaxing holiday.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This resort is located close to the ferry terminal. They provide a bus back and forth for free. Food was pretty expensive. Water provided free of charge. WiFi was quite bad. It was available in patches around the hotel but was pretty good at reception. There was nothing especially special about the place but it was definitely comfortable and relaxing. We didn't have any problems and the staff were friendly. I wouldn't return now that I've been.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Mitch G,
Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you very much for taking time to write your review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

We were delighted to know that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us but was a bit troubled to read that you are not thinking of returning soon. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens in the near future, perhaps you could experience our newly refurbished Deluxe Premier Rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel or Sea View chalets at Mayang Sari Beach Resort.

We will share your comments with our Resort Manager and Management to review and improve on accordingly. Please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 245 guestrooms including 31 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.