We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite run down and poorly maintained” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quite run down and poorly maintained”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Not value for money. for the money they charged, i would have expected a better quality ambiance. the price is equivalent to 5 star hotel in singapore, but offer 3 star hotel feel. the places looks dirty and not very well taken care of. the food is so so.
the beach is dirty too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    325
    205
    51
    31
See reviews for
225
246
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I'm an airline staff and made my reservations mths ago. Although they have a discounted price, seems like they chose not to chk me in early. I took the earliest ferry from Singapore 0910hrs n arrived @ Nirvana Resort abt 1030am Bintan time. They did not allow to chk me in and said I had to wait bcoz guest only chk out @ 12 noon. Fine enough, my son n myself hungout by the pool. Left the chk in cargo bag by the bag counter. Time was abt 1115am. Staff did not chk me in till 1445hrs and said I still had to wait till 3pm. Until I made some fuss.
By the side where I was, they were already Chking pple in. Was this discrimination or what?! I'm sure 5 hrs ago, they would have chk in @ least 3-4 couples including a Caucasian couple. the front desk lady finally chk us in. After spending abt 5hrs by the pool.
Last time I was here they had me a Deluxe room for corporate, but now seems like only a Superior room is reserved. Slightly disappointed. But on the whole pple. Are all friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

When I decided to go to this hotel,I expected a good service but what I got.Your staff understand and trying to help us.But it take to long just to fulfil our simple wishes.And last comment your spa is not worthy at all compare to your service.I dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Nirwana Resort Hotel for one night after a golf trip to Bintan. The place was big....a big time tourist operation but it must have been low season because it wasn't crowded at all. Overall a good experience with a nice pool, decent breakfast buffet and courteous staff. Couldn't understand why there were so may POLO clothing shops at this location and also at the ferry terminal. These people must be big on Ralph Lauren knockoffs. Had a nice massage and a swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Been to nirwana resort hotel 4 times and they never fail to impress me with their excellent customer service. The premier deluxe room is nicely renovated and bed is very comfy. The resort centre has many activities ( archery, rifle shooting and elephant riding) to offer and you will never get bored staying there. Highly recommended for families with kids , couples and even friends! Keep it up staff of nirwana gardens!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Close to beach,nice swimming pool and rooms are clean. Shuttle bus available move around within resort. Food, rides, games within resort are expensive. If weather is good you are lucky, otherwise not much thing to do.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nirwana Resort Hotel is one of the more affordable hotels in Bintan Resorts, but turned out to be much better than expected. It had a very relaxing resort atmosphere, the sort you expect from the places like Phuket or Langkawi. Being only 45 mins ferry ride away from Singapore, no wonder Bintan Resorts are popular among Singaporeans as a weekend getaway destination, although the quality of the beaches cannot match the more illustrious neighbors.

Normally, staff performance does not bother me, but staff in Nirwana Resort Hotel deserve a mention. They are quite friendly and helpful, best customer service experienced in Southeast Asia, personally.

As for downsides, WIFI connection was sluggish, and you expect Singapore prices in restaurants although you are technically in much cheaper Indonesia. Still, certainly deserves 4 star rating.

Room Tip: No need to bring Indonesian Rupiah as all the prices are shown in SGD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 245 guestrooms including 31 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.