We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort for a family...we booked a Villa!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice resort for a family...we booked a Villa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved the place. It was a perfect setting for a family. We were two families with 5 kids in all. Had a private pool with the Villa.

Kids had access to the beach and they spent more than 6 hours a day just in the water between the pool and the beach.

Food choices were very good we loved it.

We moved around in a golf cart(buggy) provided by the resort.

Areas of improvement:
They could improve the old looking structures in the main lobby.
With a Villa they should offer 2 buggys to move around. We landed up making numerous trips between places and had to make them twice since we could only fit 4 in the buggy.
Late check-out with villas should be offered. We really had to run out due to the check out time.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the villas for a great experience. We looked at the hotel side and that was just like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi PD_Travel12,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor, on your recent stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

We were very pleased to read that you had loved your vacation with us, from your Villa accommodation to the food! Was it an Indra Maya Pool Villa which you had stayed in? Our Indra Maya guests are given a personal buggy per villa for the guests' personal use, and we are sorry to know that there was inconvenience for you in moving around due to the limited space in the buggy for your family. Usually a 2-bedroom Villa is given a 4-seater buggy and a 3-bedroom Villa a 6-seater buggy, however should you return to our Villas in future and require a bigger buggy, you are welcome to notify our Concierge or Front Desk staff and a buggy switch can be done, subject to buggy availability.

Our standard check-out time is at noon (Bintan time), however late check-out can be arranged for, subject to availability and additional charge, depending on the preferred time of check-out. We hope that this would not deter you from returning in future - do notify our Front Desk staff or your Villa host should you wish to arrange for a late check-out.

Thank you for choosing Nirwana Gardens as your vacation destination, and we hope you and your family had enjoyed your beach getaway with us. Your review is much appreciated as it will help us in our efforts to continuously improve on our standards to serve our guests better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Cheers,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    360
    217
    54
    34
See reviews for
254
273
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Bintan Gardens Resorts is a fully integrated resort hotel equipped with guestrooms all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available with an ensemble of restaurants and bars to satisfy the most discerning taste buds.

The resort has a unique blend of service with a smile and warm Indonesian hospitality will make you feel more than welcomed here to assure you of a great time in this sunny, cheery paradise! Do check out the infinity pool when you relax in the pool and look out into the endless ocean.

I was impressed by the attentive service, right down to the finer details. When we checked in, we were given complimentary tickets to flying fox, horse ride and even bowling games. The room was furnished with minimalist design combining the elements of the tropical region with the use of natural materials, soothing warm colours, beautiful dark wood furnishings and Indonesian architecture.

For more photos and comments, do check out my review at
http://leftfood.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/bintan-nirwana-resorts-service-with-a-smile/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi geoz88,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for your review on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens recently. We were pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and the infinity pool is definitely a highlight for our guests to feel like they're in paradise. We believe the room you had stayed in was our Deluxe Premier Room, our new room category which is targeted to be completed by end 2013. We hope that you had enjoyed the Flying Fox, horse ride and bowling as well!

Our service motto is to serve with extra (s)miles, and we are glad to read that you had indeed experienced our warm hospitality. We continuously strive to improve on our service standards and it is such comments from guests like yourself who motivate us to keep improving.

Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Cheers,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this resort for our wedding anniversary getaway. I asked for rose petal and they said SGD70 !! And I said forget it. I ordered a bouquet instead which is still SGD80.
The room is decent and bed is clean but you can't help but notice it has started to deteriorate over the years. The bath tub was dirty with stain that cannot be washed off. Sofa and chair are stained and the furniture in the room looks like they will fall apart anytime.

Luckily the pool and beaches are awesome ! We chose to stay from Monday to Wednesday to avoid the weekend family crowd with screaming children. This proved to be a very wise choice as we get to spend romantic time around the resort,strolling on the beach, swim and relax at the infinity pool, star gazing at night on the deck etc.

Dinner at the Kelong restaurant is seriously over-price compare to Singapore seafood restaurant. The choice of live seafood is also very limited for example there were no crab or live prawn when we were there.

Dinner at the Rin Japanese fine dinning is excellence though a bit pricey but worth it as the sashimi was awesomely fresh. Service is also fantastic and the ambiance is very romantic. We called in advance to book a sea view table outdoor and it was a wonderful experience.

F & B at the resort is ridiculously over priced. So we booked a spa at Pasar Oleh Oleh area which provide free transport and we had lunch there which is decent and cheaper. However, Pasar Oleh Oleh is also loosing its shine and looks very run-down since my last visit to Bintan several years back.

All in all it was a decent stay but the resort seriously is due for some upgrading. The resort management should seriously re-think their pricing strategy. I will rather go Bali which is also as good if not better with reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Spidy25,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens, and thank you very much for taking the time to write us on a review on your recent stay with us.

First and foremost, we would to apologize for the unpleasant experiences and inconvenience you had during your holiday. We have taken note on your comments on the room conditions, which will be relayed to our Resort Manager and Head of Housekeeping to take action. We are also checking in detail with our F&B department on why there was no crab nor live prawns served at The Kelong Seafood Restaurant during your visit, as these are highlights on our menu and should be available daily.

Our Resort is currently going through a gradual refurbishment phase, starting with the complete upgrading of our Deluxe Rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel to the new Deluxe Premier Rooms which is scheduled to be completed by end 2013. Following which, we will continue with phases of refurbishment throughout our Resort, both interior and exterior. In doing so, we hope to make our guests' experiences at Nirwana Gardens more enjoyable.

However we were also pleased to read that you had loved our pool, beaches and dinner at Rin Japanese Restaurant - recently named one of the 6 best dining options in Bintan by CEI Asia. Bintan is still largely unspoiled, and we are blessed to have beautiful natural beaches and scenery which we believe will add value to our guests' vacation with us. Having your vacation with us on a weekday was a smart choice indeed, and we are glad that you had a generally peaceful holiday.

We value and take your comments seriously as they help us in our efforts in striving to improve our service standards. We hope that the unpleasant parts of your stay with us would not deter you from returning; you are more than welcome to drop us an email at marketing[at]nirwanagardens[dot]com[dot]sg should you future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

1) The place is relatively nice and room is clean.
2) The pool and beach is very nice too.
3) The attendants there are very friendly and helpful. We are often greeted with smiles.
4) The food there is very expensive. As I have already made some research before going, we actually brought along cup noodles to settle at least 2 meals for our 3 days 2 nights.
5) The freak is that there are many lizards along the corridor walls and ceilings. I even found 1 inside my bathroom. But managed to drain it down into the floor trap.
6) The breakfast providing restaurant is always long queue around 9am. We have to go earlier to avoid the queue.
7) Overall, it's a nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Serene T,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read on your positive experiences during your vacation, from your kind comments on the rooms, pool, beach and the service provided by our staff. Our service motto is to "Serve with extra (s)miles" and we do our best to ensure that our guests are met and served with the warmest of hospitality at Nirwana Gardens.

We have taken note of your feedback on the F&B prices and the lizard incident in your bathroom. We apologize for the inconveniences caused and will forward your concerns to our Resort Manager to review and/or take action on.

Our breakfast buffet at The Coffee Shop serves guests from Nirwana Resort Hotel, Banyu Biru Villas and Nirwana Beach Club and on weekends or when there is a bigger crowd than expected, we will also open The Poolside to serve breakfast, to accommodate to our guests as best as possible.

We take all commends and feedback seriously, and share them with our Management and staff so as to resolve any and all issues. Your feedback is very much valued as they will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service and to serve our guests better.

Thank you again for your review, and we truly hope that you had an overall enjoyable vacation with us. We hope to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went to Bintan Lagoon for an office offsite this June. The place is quite nice - it is a well-maintained, 5-star resort. Property is super clean, rooms are cozy, food is about okay.

Outdoor activities like ATV are easily accessible. The beach (if it can be called that) is also a short walk away. The pool is quite big & is a lot of fun.
The resort is children friendly as well.

Net, is a decent place for a short weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived as a family of 5 for a nice relaxing resort holiday. Bus transport from ferry was a little dissapointing on a tired, run down bus...but hey, happy to overlook!
We booked through the website and stated we had 2 adults, 2 children aged 6 and 3 and would require a cot. After check in, we were very excited to get to our suite only to find 1 king bed! Assuming a mistake had occurred, I approached reception to alert them of their oversight, only to be informed that as my children were of a certain age that they would be sleeping with my wife and I in the king size bed as I had not paid for additional beds!?
I asked them to show me where in the booking it stated that I would be sharing my bed with my children only to be referred to a statement that read something like "Children will be sharing accommodation?" I quickly pointed out that yes that is true, but not sharing my bed!!
After much discussion, I was discounted 2 single beds at $50 Sing extra per night....each! I was also informed, politely, that this happens quite a lot with online bookings............well fix it!
At this point I was too tired to argue and accepted the discounted rate, but really thought they could have done better here with their customer experience. Please all be careful when booking for your family.
After a rough start we did enjoy the pool, beach and particularly enjoyed the zoo behind the complex which is not mentioned in any guide.
Unfortunately I found the staff overall quite unwelcoming and there did appear to be a 'drive' to milk every cent out of each guest which I found quite annoying. There really isn't any 'free' activities, even the trampoline requires booking and is charged!
On reflexion, if the staff had of been more accommodating and friendlier I would have happily handed over my hard earned!
The resort is currently being refurbished which is a great sign as the resort on the whole was a little rundown, but the location is absolutely wonderful.
My 3 children definitely enjoyed their time and 2 even managed to ride a horse for the first time.
Not sure I'll be back......maybe the whole booking issue and poor resolution just got the stay at Nirwana off to a very bad start.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Michael H,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens and thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us.

First and foremost, we would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant encounters you had experienced at our Resort.

Our maximum room occupancy is 2 Adults and 2 children (aged 3-11 years) or 3 Adults, the latter with a mandatory Extra Bed at S$50++ per bed per night inclusive of buffet breakfast the following morning. The Sales Terms and Conditions which was emailed to you with your booking confirmation does state this, however thank you for highlighting this incident to us and we will amend our conditions accordingly to better clarify to our guests. Additionally, baby cots can be arranged for at no additional cost, and the arrangements can be done via email to our Reservations team prior to our guests' arrival.

We regret to read that the service you had experienced was unwelcoming, as our service motto is to "serve with extra (s)miles". This concern will be escalated directly to our Resort Management to take action on immediately, as a warm and hospitable environment is of utmost importance to us.

We are also currently going through gradual refurbishment phases, the first of which is the complete upgrade of our Deluxe rooms to the new Deluxe Premier rooms, which is targeted to be completed by end 2013. Following this, we will continue with refurbishment phases for our other accommodation types, both interior and exterior.

We truly hope that your negative experiences would not deter you from returning. Should your future travel plans bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan, please feel free to drop us an email at marketing[at]nirwanagardens[dot]com[dot]sg as we would love to have the opportunity to serve you again and ensure that your next stay with us is an enjoyable one.

Your review is very much appreciated and valued as we take all feedback seriously, in our ongoing efforts to improve our standards and to serve our guests better. Thank you very much once again for writing on us.


Warm Regards,
Management team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The beach exceeded my expectations and the infinity pool provides for a very charming backdrop.My family enjoyed the beach and pool so much. As an avid snorkler though, can't help but notice the dead sea corals which led me to wonder whether is it due to man-made or natural decline. The other disappointment is the rip-off pricing of the food. If one is able to overlook the pricing of the food then this is the resort for families in Bintan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear sunoffabeach,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for your time in writing us a review on your recent stay with us.

We were very pleased to read that you had enjoyed our beaches and infinity pool - these are, indeed, the highlight of our Resort as a beach vacation destination. We are blessed to have beautiful, unspoiled beaches in Bintan, especially on days with favourable weather.

We have taken note of your comments on the pricing of our food, and these will be forwarded to our Resort Manager and Head of F&B to review and take action on. Thank you for the comments as they help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service and standards, and to ensure that value is added to our guests' experiences at Nirwana Gardens.

Thank you once again for writing a review on us, we truly appreciate and value your feedback. Should your future travel plans bring you back to Bintan, we hope to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens!


Warm Regards,
Management team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
1.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#5 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 950 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#8 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
22.3 mi away
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
#13 of 29 in Bintan Island
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 245 guestrooms including 31 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.