We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off Published Rates
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lagoi
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel made it very easy - from having someone meet guests as soon as they get off the ferry to explain the immigration procedures, to the return transfers to the hotel from the ferry terminal. The hotel was incredibly quiet when I arrived mid-week, a bit more lively on Friday, and manic by Sunday. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but to echo other comments, a bit dated. Breakfast was great - plentiful, tasty and lots of variety. Staff were great - if you're lucky enough to have Suyut as your room attendant, he may make animal "sculptures" with towels to entertain and keep you company - I got a peacock one day and an elephant another...an absolute touch of magic.

There is plenty of outdoor space for children, and the pool has a designated kids area. The Resort Centre is just up the road for the more adventurous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    274
    166
    38
    24
See reviews for
180
202
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Brilliant resort, super pool, walk to other beaches which have less tar on them. Room large and bit dated but many are being refurbished. Breakfast is superb and all restaurants and eating places are good albeit a bit expensive as are drinks. However, great food court by the bowling alley and you can eat outside. Caters for people who come from Singapore who will pay the price! No way of getting around the island other than chauffeured car, can't hire one which was disappointing as there is no way out of resort and seeing true Indonesia. Went to Oleh Oleh which claims to be a village but is a contrived village of shops, spas and restaurants but cheap place to stock up on beers! Lots of activities on site which no one seems to do. Staff lovely and thoroughly enjoyed a week of enforced relaxation by the pool. Beware of the huge lizard who lives in the pool!!!

Room Tip: Room in east wing of main resort was perfect. Don't pay extra for sea view as garden views were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We went on 14 -16 March, chose Nirwana for the sake of our children as it's close to sg and the hotel has many activities and anemities for the kids. Yes they enjoyed it so much and so do we. We visited the mini zoo every morning although i dunt quite like the clever white parrot being chained with such a short chain making it too diff to move around. Pls if the management see this, pls make the chain longer!!
Resort ctre is just 5 mins away where there are many activities like horse/elephant riding, archery, rifle shooting. Lots of fun.

Coffee shop is slightly cheaper but still expensive compared to sg. I can buy fried rice at $4 in sg but hotel price is $14 and coffee shop is $8. And trust me the food are quite tasteless. We went to Dino's Bistro for our first dinner.. food are quite nice n ofcourse very expensive too and not to forget the staff named Juang who went the extra mile and served us pretty well and always making sure that everything is ok.
Thumbs up to him!

In room Massage is cheap and good

Staff at reception are ok but i do noticed that the male staff service are way excellent than the ladies. Overall i would say it's a family friendly hotel. We do enjoyed ourself but wont be coming back perhaps as its just too expensive. We do feel cheated but we have no choice we still need to buy loads of expensive drinks to quench our thirst. We still prefer phuket and Bali. For the price we could have gotten a luxury hotel in bali

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we stayed for 3D2N. 2nd week of March.
fetched by bus at the ferry terminal.
the waiter at the COFFEE SHOP restaurant made an adhoc crib using 2 chairs and some tablecloths for my 3months old daughter. did it with a smile.
Breakfast spread is good and various choices.
So many things to do at the resort- elephant riding, archery etc- internal shuttle
Place is stroller friendly.

CONS:
my minibar isn't working.
prices are quite steep.
next door aircon isn't cold.

Room Tip: dont choose 2237 or 2239
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

had a relaxing stay at this hotel. the hotel is a bit rundown and could do with a fresh coat of paint.there is a free and shuttle service that takes you to all the other nirwana group hotels. the beach is very quite during the weekdays, so if u are planning to relax and have the whole beach to yourself than go on a weekday. practically there nothing much to do there other than sea-sports and games that is organized by the hotel as well day activities have bowling in the shopping centre near the hotel which is walking distance or you could use the shuttle service..buffet breakfast had a good selection of food. practically u can go down to pasar oleh oleh as the food is cheaper there but is the same price as in singapore. fried rice or noodles cost 3.50. only downturn is that u have to wait a long time to wait for the shuttle service. nothing much to see or do in pasar oleh oleh.to get atround bintan you need to use the hotel taxi or find one yourself. the only disappointment is that the lady staff at the reception was not accomodating at all. asked for a room nearer to the lobby as my mum has difficulty walking all the way to the lobby as the room we were given was at the very end of the hotel. the staff said it was not possible as the hotel had no available rooms near the lobby, the hotel was not even full of capacity. if fact the standard room near the lobby was not occupied as was told by the room attendants. very unhappy as they did not even consider giving my mum was 78 years old. of age. would i go back to nirwana resort most likely no, but overall a relaxing trip, concierge was very helpful as well as the lady at the travel desk, very polite,exception to the front desk receptionist. did not get her name as i was too disappointed and not likely to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room that has a beach and swimming pool view. garden view has nothing much to offer as u ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend at the nirwana. I thought it would be a cheap and cheerful vacation but ended up costing more than a semi-luxury trip to Phuket (from singapore). The standard rooms were about 400sgd but before we were charged 60sgd for an extra bed per night (we have 2 kids 8,6). So total 520.

The negatives: The rooms were very tired and aircon smelled moldy. Lots of mold in the bathroom around tiles. Very pricy for quality of accommodation. The beach looked nice until you realized that you're swimming with tar that was difficult to get out. The hotel has plenty of gasoline to help with that (nasty). Don't bring expensive swimming suits! The food was average to below average and you're paying close to Singapore prices which makes no sense to me. Kids meals around 7 with no drink. Adult meals between 15-25 without drinks. The beer is relatively cheap at 7-8 sgd. finally the hotel does take advantage of the guests it seems in many ways. Two examples: we went golfing at the resort next door (8 minute drive) and the hotel charged 15 sgd for the trip. Secondly, the towels (which are old and tired) needed a 25sgd deposit if lost! The towels were worth 10 cents.

The positives: we went with a large group and the adults/kids had a great time. Lots of activities on beach and closeby at the Rec center including archery, air guns, zip line, boating, surfing, elephant riding, golf close by, trampoline jumping, playground etc.......but I think way overpriced for the quality. The staff were generally nice.
Room service was great, food arrived hot and fresh. Showers were hot. The seafood restaurant off premises.(Forgot name) was excellent. Pool was great with nice bar. They had basketball hoops for pool fun but they were broken.

Overall only reason I would go back is due to how close it is to Singapore and if a large group of friends are going. Otherwise I would never go there. . Actually for an hour more travel time, might actually be cheaper to go to Phuket and you'll get a nicer beach and hotel for maybe 10-20% more plus you'll save on the ferry cost.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my fifth time staying at the resort. I keep coming back because the pools are great and keep my kids occupied and happy the whole day. We've stayed at one of the villas and the suite but would recommend the suite in the main hotel. It's closer to breakfast, the main pool, and has no stairs, which is a plus if you're travelling with young kids. It's also a bit cleaner, I think. I'd only choose the villa for privacy and if you want to cook. (But do check out the Banyu Biru pool - it has a small slide which kids up to 8-9 years will love). One hotel wing was undergoing upgrading while we were there with occasional drilling and hammering so do check on that if you're travelling in the next month. We stayed in the other wing and had no noise issues. Food is ok, though a bit pricey. We tried the Thai restaurant in the other part of the resort (free transportation) and really liked the setting and the food as well. Staff are very friendly and helpful, no issues.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheery Family Hotel. Our unique blend of sunny Mediterranean spirit and warm Indonesian hospitality will make you feel more than welcomed here. In fact, with something to do for everyone in the family, you are assured of a great time in this sunny, cheery paradise! This family hotel offers 245 rooms & suites catering to every budget and need, offering breathtaking ocean, pool or garden views. The rooms are spacious and fully furnished with modern amenities for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.